Chevron Left
Volver a Seeing Through Photographs

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Seeing Through Photographs por parte de Museo de Arte Moderno

4.8
estrellas
4,191 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Principales reseñas

AQ

8 de mar. de 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD

25 de dic. de 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

Filtrar por:

1051 - 1075 de 1,090 revisiones para Seeing Through Photographs

por Paola M

26 de mar. de 2016

very interesting materials!

por Didier S

9 de nov. de 2017

Well documented modules.

por Alain M

8 de feb. de 2021

Interesting course.

por Bianca S D

1 de ene. de 2019

Very good course!!

por Huascar A T B

28 de jun. de 2021

Very good course!

por Iliana A C N

17 de may. de 2018

es muy chevere

por Natasha R R

13 de abr. de 2016

I love it!

por Tiago C

27 de mar. de 2016

Very nice.

por NANCY R S

22 de abr. de 2016

MUY BUENO

por catalina c

12 de dic. de 2016

AWESOME

por Aarul V

16 de oct. de 2020

Good

por Martin F

24 de jun. de 2021

por Melinda G

20 de jun. de 2020

I received only one peer review and that merely ticked the boxes on the required questions with no feedback. If this review is the only assessment we get beyond the quiz scores, my experience with it was not useful.

I also would have appreciated knowing why Heinecken is considered "legendary" and why so much of the required reading in that lesson was devoted to his essays. I found his style to be overly academic (plowing through many, many words to try to find a point) and I almost gave up. I'm sure he must have done something beyond the clever "Are You Rea"; some biographical information and other examples of his work would have given me a better understanding of his importance.

I have been working full time during the weeks of the course so was not able to take part in most of the online lectures, office hours and other daytime activities. I understand that this restricted my ability to fully participate and I'm sure I would have benefited from more involvement.

I did appreciate the first few weeks, especially the documentary and people modules. I'm glad I took the course and am going to pursue a number of the readings on my own. I also was motivated to buy Berenice Abbott's "Changing New York," which is inspiring.

por roxanne w

9 de ene. de 2017

I found the course interesting, however I had trouble finding all of the written materials to read. Some were available online, but none were in our library system. I think it would be better if more of the reading was available to people. I also thought that the final assignment instructions were a bit confusing. As it is I never did get to upload the photographs for the final prompt. I asked for help on the forum, but no one responded.

por Jeanette F

30 de may. de 2016

It was short and interesting... and that is good. In the first week the readings were overwhelming and I was disappointed - but the other 5 weeks had short videos of interviews with photographers to go along with the concepts presented. Some of the quiz questions were looking for details that I felt were not important for the learner. Final assignment was good.

por Sara J

27 de feb. de 2021

Claims to be beginner friendly and expects people to not know what an eclipse is, yet know how non-digital photographs are developed. Does however contain interesting topics and insights.

por Troy M

8 de jun. de 2020

An interesting topic and materials covered but sadly an unresolved technical glitch prevented the completion of the final task and thus lower rating for a good course.

por Konstantinos X

11 de mar. de 2020

The course is interesting but beware ! It has peer reviewed assignments which means you will never get your grade !

por michael m

14 de dic. de 2016

i enjoyed the interviews -- hearing and seeing many different artists using the same medium in very different ways

por bao l

14 de may. de 2020

The course is helpful to learn the stories behind photographs, but kind of monotonous.

por B S

22 de abr. de 2020

Some of the teaching materials could have been chosen with a little more taste.

por César C

27 de feb. de 2016

falta opciones en español, los textos por ejemplo o los videos subtitulados.

por Amaya T

16 de oct. de 2020

I liked the course but was not a fan of the final assignment

por Sheila m

19 de ago. de 2020

TODO ES EN INGLES, Y NO TENGO CONOCIMIENTO DEL INGLES

por Priscila C d O

2 de sep. de 2016

Nice, but I expected more (or something else).