Chevron Left
Volver a Photovoltaic solar energy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Photovoltaic solar energy por parte de École Polytechnique

4.3
111 calificaciones
26 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The course is an introduction to the photovoltaic (PV) applications in the general mix energetic context dominated by climate warming mitigation. The various uses of solar energy are firstly presented before a short description of the principle of the direct solar photon conversion into electricity (PV). The various PV technologies are reviewed in the current context dominated by crystalline silicon cells. The perspectives of the various technologies are then analysed in terms of R&D investments. From a more scientific point of view the basis of the solar cell operation is presented from the solar spectrum characteristics. The fundamentals of PV conversion are summarized. In particular the various sources of the conversion efficiency limitations are reviewed. The solar PV systems, from cells to grids, are also addressed, with a particular emphasis on the challenges of grid-integration of PV and the development of storage technologies. The environmental and social impacts of PV are compared to the competing energy sources. Generally PV is at advantage as referred to other fossil or renewable sources. Finally the fast evolution of economics and financing of PV is presented together with the current key players, mostly Asian companies....

Principales revisiones

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 28 revisiones para Photovoltaic solar energy

por Débora J G

Mar 04, 2019

The quizzes does not correspond to what is enphasized in the videos, so one can not know what to pay attention for and may be forced to retake a test. In addition, the tests have errors when not telling how many decimal cases we should use, something that could be easily corrected.

The teacher seems like reading notes all the time, since sometimes he looks like not knowing when it's the end of the sentence, what made me lost several times. The legends to the videos does not correspond to what he's saying. The transitions between slides that have important information are also too sudden. We have to make a great effort to understand and pay attention to what's important, with stopping the videos or coming back several times.

por Mohammad R

Mar 10, 2018

Hard to understand the pronunciation. I suggest this course for English speaker.

por Rabdeau B

Jun 19, 2019

A MOOC that is really technical and scientifical and that gives a lot of notions about solar energy and renewables energies in general. Every topic is covered as far as I am concerned. The courses are brief and interesting. The graphs are clear and detailed. The worked problems are really important in order to better understand the formulas and solve problems. The quiz are also interesting but they are quite frustrating because of the lack of flexibility in the answers possible and the lack of detailed instructions (units, errors, significative numbers, etc.). A huge thanks to the comments in the forum that allowed me to overcome these problems.

I learned a lot during this MOOC and I hope you will do as well.

por Waqas A

Jun 11, 2019

Nice course with interesting information regarding photovoltaic solar energy. The course provides me a good knowledge on PV from global perspective.

por MD I A

May 14, 2019

Very Nice course. Assignment and tests are very good.

por MD. R A

May 07, 2019

5*

por laurence d

Apr 24, 2019

The course is of great quality. I guess we need a minimum of electricity understanding to well understand or get the information fast, but ono the side studies can help reach the required level. Despite the great support of videos, I however found that there is no improvement or staff suppport and some exercices still have some typing mistakes which is quite confusing, I would have hoped to get more support from the mediators.

por Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent theoretical information!

por Shrihari J

Apr 04, 2019

good course

por sewar

Mar 05, 2019

very useful course

por Inna O Y

Mar 03, 2019

I find this course as inroducting, for one to receive genera lknoveledge about PV splar panels. For me the 3rd week of the course as most informative. Also some information is already old and refreshing.

por Greg E

Mar 01, 2019

good info. bad quizzes

por ALVARO M

Jan 25, 2019

Too much graphs but really interesting. I would like to see an example to creat an autonomous

por Javaid A R

Jan 22, 2019

The course was good

por TEP P

Jan 18, 2019

This course provides me a practical knowledge on photovoltaic system. Global perspective on energy production is briefly introduced. Participant should have a basic to pass this course. To sum up, i like this course.

por Aayush T

Nov 13, 2018

Amazing

por Gibran D d M L

Oct 24, 2018

every good

por Tiago M

Oct 16, 2018

Course has great content and many historical information regarding PV solar energy, providing a great kick-off for people who are starting to study this field. On the other hand, there are too many graphs/info and few examples considering the course overall duration, becoming distant or confusing when we try to imagine real applications. Negative point is the lack of staff support at Discussion Foruns, in addition to errors in questions that were never corrected.

por Daniel H N D

Oct 12, 2018

Some questions have problems and it needs more exercises

por ANKIT K

Jun 21, 2018

More support to the students would have been appreciated

por Richard K

Jun 03, 2018

interesting content

por Adrian H

May 14, 2018

The course was good but the quizzes I felt were incomplete. Overall, I recommend the course.

por Sylvain B

Apr 16, 2018

Le contenu vidéo est bien. Cependant les exercices manquent cruellement de détails sur les réponses attendues {ex : format de la réponse, nombre de décimales} et certaines questions aux QCM sont imprécises et induisent en erreur.

por RAGHAV R

Apr 15, 2018

Online course on "Photovoltaic Solar Energy" is a good introductory course on Solar PV systems. This course does not go into much details or intricacies of the topic, giving just a sound overview of the World energy scenario, components of solar tech, PV cells and modules and future trends. A great number of facts, figures and charts relating to the discussion topic are presented in lectures. However, there are times when the instructor is not very clear in his lecture (French-English tone), and here English subtitles come to the rescue. The course lacks involvement of moderators/instructors beyond the pre-recorded lectures. There could be a few docs containing crucial factual and theoretical aspects that could be downloaded by those enrolled in the course. A great scope for improvement in this course.

por JACQUET ­ G

Apr 04, 2018

Hi

I am a founder of a solar boat club in the French Riviera.

www.seazen.fr

I was looking for information regarding the environment impact of the PV installation and production. I found it. Thank you for the quality of your documentation.