Chevron Left
Volver a Planet Earth...and You!

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Planet Earth...and You! por parte de Universidad de Illinois en Urbana-Champaign

4.9
estrellas
409 calificaciones
72 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Earthquakes, volcanoes, mountain building, ice ages, landslides, floods, life evolution, plate motions—all of these phenomena have interacted over the vast expanses of deep time to sculpt the dynamic planet that we live on today. Planet Earth presents an overview of several aspects of our home, from a geological perspective. We begin with earthquakes—what they are, what causes them, what effects they have, and what we can do about them. We will emphasize that plate tectonics—the grand unifying theory of geology—explains how the map of our planet's surface has changed radically over geologic time, and why present-day geologic activity—including a variety of devastating natural disasters such as earthquakes—occur where they do. We consider volcanoes, types of eruptions, and typical rocks found there. Finally, we will delve into the processes that produce the energy and mineral resources that modern society depends on, to help understand the context of the environment and sustainability challenges that we will face in the future....

Principales reseñas

PS
20 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course. The content was well delivered. If you are not a geology student and don't intend to be one but wish to find out more about the planet you lived on, this is the course for you.

SR
21 de jul. de 2020

Best course I have taken out of all the courses. It is presented really well, easy to understand and there is a lot of thought put in the creation of the materials and assignments

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 71 revisiones para Planet Earth...and You!

por Sebastian P

23 de jul. de 2017

Very good information - I loved the Google Earth Labs you guys set up for us. Really useful and a fun way to connect knowledge with real life.

por Megan C S Y

24 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed Planet Earth... and You! very much. The content of all five modules flowed naturally with the next, and it was thus easy to understand and take in all the material. The use of Google Earth Pro for the Lab assignments was also very interesting - in no other course can you travel around the world from the comfort of your home to identify the various features learnt in the lectures.

por Ibrahim K

11 de ago. de 2020

Excellent Course for Geoscience students! Lab parts are so challenging and informative. I really enjoy this course. The explanations are clear. The forum parts a bit tiring.

por Suzan H

11 de sep. de 2017

This is the second time that I took this course. It was more in depth in topics than the original course, and I enjoyed it. Good presentation. Thank you.

por Leonardo M

6 de may. de 2020

The course is very useful, the teacher explains clearly and provides a solid foundation. I am fully satisfied.

por Mariusz K

11 de oct. de 2017

Nice entry to geology.

por Amber L B

13 de ago. de 2017

You have to purchase (50 dollars!) the entire course in order to do the quizzes and assignments....that ruined the entire course for me.

por Chua W Q

27 de jul. de 2020

Q: Where is it always 90 degrees, but never hot?

It has been a great course, and I especially like the case studies that come with it. The most unforgettable one was the earthquake case study of Pompeii in 79 A.D. (which allowed me to finally understand why Bastille named his song Pompeii!). The lessons on mining were also interesting as I got to understand the changes in the mining industry throughout history. I especially enjoyed the lab lessons and getting to see geographic landmarks, allowing me to apply knowledge into real-life applications. Thank you for this well thought out module!

A: The North and South Poles

;)

por Felipe N

23 de may. de 2019

An incredible course with incredible teachers and full of new and complex information. It was a dream to study this subject and now I'm trained and certified. Thank you for this opportunity to share and acquire more knowledge on this subject that is increasingly important to know, after all, the world needs to be studied and known so that our decisions are rational and not harmful to the environment. Finally, I hope that someday I will be able to study at the University of Illinois.

por Vincent T T A

5 de jul. de 2020

I'm astounded at how in depth the course's resources is, the weekly quizzes, assignments and lab sessions really opened my eyes to the geology of our planet earth. I now see the connection between mankind's action and the earth's impact, as well as understood the role I play in taking better care of our planet. Special thanks for Dr Marshak and Dr Herrstrom, I'm humbled to have been their student for these past 5 weeks!

por Jolanta F

7 de jun. de 2019

I love this course, though I have only audited it - I am going to do the whole course when I have more time! Professor Marshak teaches with ease, engages students and makes geology a passionate subject matter. I would love to see more courses by Him covering the other chapters of his book Essentials of geology. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to understand science in action.

por Hong Y L

24 de jun. de 2020

The Course itself brought me plenty of knowledges on Planet Earth by knowing the 5 different topics that have been taught. In this course i do not only just learn online lectures and quizzes but also given the opportunity to use Google Earth Pro and understanding the different features on Earth. This is a course that gives you plenty of knowledge on Planet Earth.

por Aw Z Y

23 de may. de 2020

The team put in a lot of effort to design this course regardless of the lectures, quizzes, lab assignments, peer-review assignments etc. Personally, I had a great time doing the lab assignments as several of them requires me to use the Google Earth app to do. I recommend everyone to take this course as it uses a novel approach to teach the course content.

por Dhanashree S C

17 de nov. de 2020

Its the best course for geology lovers. The content is so well delivered even the lab assignments were very interesting and one can get good knowledge about google earth in this course. Students pursuing Civil engineering should absolutely do this course for basic knowledge.

por MUHAMMAD R

30 de jul. de 2020

I've enjoyed the course. I do not have much knowledge and information regarding certain aspects of this course. However, through the detailed lecture video, it helps me open up my perspective and knowledge. Importantly, I can better appreciate 'Earth', our home. Thank you.

por Teng W K

23 de may. de 2020

Material was extremely engaging and the use of Google Earth Pro was incredible! Lesson was well-designed and structured, extremely interactive and immersive. Assignments were short and sweet, allowed me to apply my learnings in a succinct manner. Highly recommend!

por Eileen H S Y

30 de may. de 2020

I enjoyed the course! While it was somewhat challenging as it was unrelated to my major, the content remained largely interesting! I found the assignments quite interesting (I took it fairly seriously) as I researched and read up on.

por Koh Y S M

14 de ago. de 2020

Really good course overall, learnt a lot of intersting facts about geography. And had fruitful discussions in the forums when discussing with peers about our perspectives regarding the different scenarios listed in the course.

por Farhan A B

28 de may. de 2020

It was an excellent course ! Anyone from any field of study can learn a lot of things about geology and earth science. I just love the course and the the lab of the course too. Waiting for more courses like this in future.

por Jessica T

10 de ago. de 2020

Lecturers could explain the topics very succinctly and clearly, to a geographic newbie like myself, and I've actually learnt a fair bit more about the state of our physical world around us! Highly recommended!

por Chan G L S

13 de jun. de 2020

The instructors are very clear in their teaching and this course gave me a greater insight into Planet Earth and the phenomena that come along with it. The labs are very interesting and fun to do as well.

por Peh Y S

21 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course. The content was well delivered. If you are not a geology student and don't intend to be one but wish to find out more about the planet you lived on, this is the course for you.

por Stanley W Q R

22 de jul. de 2020

Best course I have taken out of all the courses. It is presented really well, easy to understand and there is a lot of thought put in the creation of the materials and assignments

por Ng Y Z S

23 de may. de 2020

The professors make learning fun and fruitful. This course is interesting and provides great insights into Mother Nature and why we should protect the one and only home we have.

por Muhammad N

8 de oct. de 2020

Highly appreciate his course. Well explain different topics related to Earth Sciences and design tough assignments which are very effective in learning.