Chevron Left
Volver a Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
1,222 calificaciones
362 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Principales reseñas

AA
18 de abr. de 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

MD
16 de ene. de 2021

This was my first online course. In a crazy year, the flexibiilty to reset deadlines was much appreciated. I enjoyed the grading system, especially when your peers are from all around the world.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 356 revisiones para Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

por Steven B

23 de may. de 2020

Dr. Meyer is excellent. If you take this course, you will begin at the beginning of philosophy/science. This course is a must for those studying the history of philosophy/science. I'm especially grateful to Dr. Meyer for helping me to approach the Timaeus for the first time.

por Nelly S

26 de may. de 2016

this course it's exactly what I needed. The teacher has a Great Talent to simplify otherwise difficult topics and you can see she knows what she's talking about and gives you perfectly coherent arguments to justify her interpretation of the Ancient Greeks' philosophy.

por Ed C

21 de nov. de 2017

This course has broadened my knowledge in Philosophy and I have enjoyed studying it. It was interesting, intriguing and kept me motivated throughout. For my Cambridge application, this course has broadened my philosophical knowledge which shows my super curricular p

por Daniel S

28 de sep. de 2016

Curse was clear, and well presented via Coursera. Certain lecturers do great over the net, some not so ... this proessor was very well prepared for the course content, givne in shorter lectures with intermittant questions to keep you enageged. SImple, effective.

por Paul L

16 de feb. de 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this course and also Plato and his Predecessors! They have inspired me to try & attain funding to study Philosophy at a higher academic level! Many thanks to the Professor whose teaching was both concise and enjoyable. Cheers, Paul

por Faiz A

28 de abr. de 2017

This course was not only incredibly educational, but immensely fascinating at the same time. If you wish to know the origins of western philosophy, and also understand the idealogy behind a lot of the assumptions we take for granted today, this course is for you.

por Fran R

28 de ago. de 2016

Although I'm very nervous about writing, I do intend to finish the course fully during a later session. I love this course! I like the emphasis on the readings compared to other courses offered on Coursera, and the lectures build off of the readings marvelously.

por Val S

10 de feb. de 2020

The course is wonderful. It brought me previously imperceptible visions. I recognized understandings that were previously intuitive and compilation, but now there is logic, learning and knowledg.

Philosophy is the path of my soul and the reason of my existence

por Antonia T B

15 de abr. de 2019

This course is fascinating. The professor's lectures are very clear and the course is very well structured. It could be longer and it could go deeper, but still is a great course. Compulsory for all philosophy lovers. Thanks & greetings from Spain / Antonia

por Priscilla C

5 de may. de 2018

Professor Meyer explained the ideas of the ancient philosophers very clearly. I particularly enjoyed how she made their thoughts seem very relevant to today's preoccupations. I intend to read more about these philosophers... she made them come to life

por Edi d

28 de ago. de 2016

I found this course to be both informative and interesting. It is extremely relevant to the issues that we are dealing with today. The issues today are complex and the lack of critical thinking that is evident make this a class that everyone should take.

por David M

5 de ago. de 2019

This course provided an excellent introduction to the world of ancient philosophy. Not only has it taught me specific philosophical ideas, but it has also helped me develop crucial critical thinking skills that will greatly benefit my career.

por Alexandra T

25 de nov. de 2020

An excellent course. The readings are well-chosen, and the lecturer presents the material in a very clear and engaging way. I've learnt a great deal from it, and have very much enjoyed thinking about the philosophical questions it explores.

por Gabriel G

25 de may. de 2020

Great course. Not to demanding so it allows you to learn without stress. However, you need to pay attention to the reading materials in order to pass the quizzes and final report. Overall I’m happy I took this course, philosophy is amazing!

por David F

23 de oct. de 2017

Excellent introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato. My only regret is that Part 2 is not a further study of the Pre-Socratics and Plato, rather than an introduction to Aristotle. But thank you for this finely articulated introduction.

por gurpreet b

24 de ago. de 2020

Susan Sauvé Meyer is an excellent instructor. I am so grateful to her that she created this course. She is so poised in her lectures and she knowledge spans so many varied subjects . I am thankful to her from the bottom of my heart.

por fernanda g c g

29 de abr. de 2018

I am really enjoying this course, the short and concise lessons make it very pleasant and even though the reading material can be a bit heavy at some points, the way they are explained by Susan helps understanding them much better.

por Gonçalo S

28 de dic. de 2016

The teaching is excellent, if you want to learn about ancient greek philosophy, look no further.

The problems I found are small technical issues: the very loud music at the start of every video, the mistakes in the transcipts, etc.

por Ferrie S

9 de may. de 2016

A very informative and high content course. Good tutor and explained very well.

Questions could be a bit more difficult, but I liked the last exercise with peer reviews. Very educational and would like some more of these exercises.

por ANDRES R P D

8 de may. de 2018

Excellence in presentation and content of the theme. Indispensable step for further comprehension of evolution of philosophical ideas until our times. Discovering the hidden details laying in the crib of science and philosophy.

por Aida T

24 de may. de 2020

A great introductory course and I loved the lectures. Prof. Meyer is an eloquent speaker and an excellent teacher on dissecting abstract topics into practical examples. Greatly enjoyed it and I will be taking the next course.

por Rafa M

6 de abr. de 2017

The course is simply amazing! I have learned so much about the real philosophy and how to put it to use! I surely recommend it. The professor is very knowledgable that makes it easy for us to see philosophy as a real subject.

por Ricardo S C

25 de may. de 2020

It's my first time with this kind of knowledgement topics. And if somebody wants to learn about this, it's a good way to start, because you would like to know what happened then and how this helped developing the philosophy.

por pooyan

1 de ene. de 2018

I'm listened to this course with minimal background in philosophy. Susan is a very organized lecturer. Super cohesive material, all parts of the speech connect together at the end and create the big picture for the audience.

por FRANCISCO D

2 de jun. de 2020

An excellent course taught by and extraordinary professor. I´m happy and proud of have taken this course and very excited to keep learning on Ancient Philosophy with Professor Meyer in the next course. Thank you very much.