Chevron Left
Volver a Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.7
821 calificaciones
210 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Principales revisiones

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 203 revisiones para Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

por Georgina M G

Jun 19, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable. Great course! Thank you.

por Gonçalo S

Dec 29, 2016

The teaching is excellent, if you want to learn about ancient greek philosophy, look no further.

The problems I found are small technical issues: the very loud music at the start of every video, the mistakes in the transcipts, etc.

por JCarlos P

Nov 20, 2017

What an elegant and valuable introduction to the subject matter ! Prof Meyer speech's flow is naturally captivating which helps to deliver the content a lot more effectively. I appreciated it ! Thx to all.

best rgds,

por Maksim O

Mar 15, 2016

An excellent introduction for beginners!

por Paul C

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent. Clear and accessible explanation of the Plato's forms and shadows.

por Crys L

Jul 29, 2017

I enjoyed everything about this class. It was well organized, the instructor was easy to understand and explained things clearly, and the discussion questions helped nudge students to talk about some of the main ideas in each section. I would definitely take more classes with this instructor.

por Nguyen T T K

Jan 19, 2017

This course sucessfully introduced me to acient philosophy. I love it!

por Ferlin P

Feb 19, 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

por Sergey A

May 13, 2018

Short but well thought and coincide class for Plato and presocratics philosophy.

por Nelly S

May 26, 2016

this course it's exactly what I needed. The teacher has a Great Talent to simplify otherwise difficult topics and you can see she knows what she's talking about and gives you perfectly coherent arguments to justify her interpretation of the Ancient Greeks' philosophy.

por Edi d

Aug 29, 2016

I found this course to be both informative and interesting. It is extremely relevant to the issues that we are dealing with today. The issues today are complex and the lack of critical thinking that is evident make this a class that everyone should take.

por fernanda g c g

Apr 29, 2018

I am really enjoying this course, the short and concise lessons make it very pleasant and even though the reading material can be a bit heavy at some points, the way they are explained by Susan helps understanding them much better.

por Anthony T

Mar 12, 2016

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. I cannot thank Professor Susan Meyer enough. This course has made classics accessible to those who do not have the good fortune of receiving an education in Latin and classical Greek during their school years. She has also demystified Philosophy and sparked my interest in the subject. In truth, I have never thought I am able to do philosophy. I have found this course so good that I have decided to do the sequel. What is more, I might even go on to read for a combined degree in English and Philosophy with the University of London International Programme.

por leslie l

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

por Charlotta S R

Jun 10, 2016

Loved it!

por Rose S

Mar 14, 2016

This course is truly splendid. I don't know how I've ever called myself educated before encountering the work of Plato. So much of what I think I know has been informed by these ancient Greek philosophers.

I love that the course is also really hard - it has not been dumbed down for us. I feel I really need to do it a few times to grasp all that is being offered. That is a good thing.

por Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.

por Marc G

Mar 11, 2016

Brilliant! I loved it. Every statement is very clear.

Just a remark: the contrast between the level of the sound of the music at the beginning and that of the voice of the lecturer is too big, actually the voice level is not sufficient, I think.

I'm looking forward to attempting part 2 of the course.

por Nazire C

Apr 06, 2017

I LOVED THIS COURSE!

I've always been interested in philosophy and took a few courses in college. That's was over 10 years and I needed a lot of review and refreshers.

I am so glad I took this course. The reading material is easy to access and could be easily read on the monitor or by print.

The videos were phenomenal. Well organized, the presentation of the videos were excellent and short. Most of the videos are about 7-10 minutes with the exception of the last unit. The instructor has a clear voice and she talks slowly, so it's a lot like being in a class. The videos are short so I was constantly motivated to get through one more video, but you will be doing a lot of pausing, thinking, reviewing and writing important information down. The info is given in bite sizes, so it is easy to absorb.

Quizzes were a bit tough, so they require a review of the material before taking them. But overall, I learned so much, and filled in so many gaps that I had forgotten along the way. I would recommend this course to everyone.

por Yuval S

Oct 22, 2016

Great.

por christophe v d

Apr 02, 2016

excellent !

por Paccelli J M Z

May 04, 2017

Excellent!

por Diane N

Mar 06, 2016

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

por cecilia l

Jan 18, 2017

Great course. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks.

por Jaffar H

May 17, 2016

Excellent Course