Chevron Left
Volver a Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.7
821 calificaciones
210 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Principales revisiones

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauv?-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 203 revisiones para Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

por Greg G

Aug 11, 2016

Dr. Meyer is a systematic and thorough presenter, and does an excellent job of making the material accessible, without oversimplifying.

por Leonidas T

Mar 11, 2016

Very interesting and well structure course.

por Almis P S

Jun 14, 2016

Interesting material well presented.

por Ping Z

Sep 27, 2016

Very interesting and challenging. I need to spend a lot of time on the reading assignment, but I enjoyed the reading very much.

por Alina S

Jun 02, 2016

everything is fine but the music before each lecture is so loud and annoying

por Jackson H

Mar 18, 2018

This course is pretty good. I'm not a fan of peer reviewing, I'd rather have TA's do it, but I realize that is logistically impossible. Other than that the professor is pretty good and makes phil

por Axel L

Aug 10, 2016

...excellent course for beginners but also for advanced - you will get always a new point of view.

por antonio S

Jul 21, 2016

very knowledgeable professor. only recommendation for the course is to make single quizzes not two per week. either way you can do them at your own pace. It is an introduction course, but very well presented and it goes through many important texts

por Joseph G

Jun 08, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and learned so much from it. However the professor's monotone voice is reminiscent of too many professors I have had over the years that put me to sleep. I found it difficult to pay attention at times because of this even though I was very interested in the subject matter. She seems very knowledgeable about the subject, so perhaps taking a public speaking course would prove beneficial. Other than that I loved the course and am excited to take part two starting in a few days!

por David M

Jun 05, 2016

A good introduction to Ancient Greek Philosophy, though not as in depth as it could be

por Pinkie

Mar 08, 2016

Before this course the topic of philosophy had never appealed to me, while from now on it turns out to be an interesting subject. A wonderful introduction to ancient philosophy of Greece !

por Marie P

Mar 12, 2018

Ordered, Structural and a good set of information to cover in 4 weeks! The only thing I missed every now and then was enthusiasm, but furthermore an awesome course!

por Josef P

Mar 10, 2016

Clear and insightful explanation.

por Kurt S

Feb 13, 2017

Liked it a lot: pretty straight forward, nice introduction, although I missed a bit of a timeline (or figure of a timeline - I actually had this image from wikipedia always available:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pre-Socratic_philosophy#/media/File:Presocratic_graph.svg)

por Thomas H

Nov 26, 2016

The course was good and informative. I did find it somewhat simple and not very challenging (until the final project), but with going to work and with a busy schedule it was perfect and left little excuse for not completing it. Thank you for providing a free opportunity to learn.

por Chatziiosifidis A

Sep 16, 2017

Very interesting , well designed and presented, introductory course

por Warren C

Apr 18, 2019

Good background for further exploration.

por Tamer D

May 05, 2019

I like the course. I thank the professor for simplifying abstract concepts to students with no special knowledge in philosophy like myself. It would have been great if there were slides associated with the course. I hope there would be more courses discussing more recent philosophers like Nietzsche and Kant.

por Yingyi Z

Apr 22, 2019

Very straightforward course. The professor explains things well, and I found this a very good intro to ancient philosophy.

por Francisco L

Jun 26, 2019

Very interesting but some parts too solid.

Many Thanks.

por Mrigank G

Jan 13, 2019

Content is interesting but the teaching style could be more engaging

por Mick H

Aug 30, 2016

Heavy going! Informative though - and an engaging teacher.

por GiGi H

Aug 30, 2016

It's ok; worth your time if you are trying to get into philosophy and want part of the proper foundation. Overall I enjoyed it and it was good as a hand-hold through the pre-Socratics and some of the most essential Platonic writings.

Pros: the videos are pretty easy to understand, and the material chosen/covered is good to know.

Cons: the video quiz questions are really...dull...and there are too many. A downside of the ease of the videos/lectures is that they don't really go that in depth, and they're nowhere near the quality I've seen in other Coursera courses (like the Kierkegaard course from UCopenhagen).

por Nick d U

May 09, 2016

The course material is OK; the lectures are fun and interesting, but to pass the course you need to submit an assignment that is subjected to peer review and you will need to get approval by all of your peers. However the act of subscribing to a MOOC alone does not make people suited to review other peoples work...

por Julie C

Apr 12, 2016

The professor is animated and clearly loves her subject. I don't think we need to stop so frequently to ask a quiz question though. It's best to keep going on one subject without interruption.