Chevron Left
Volver a Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion por parte de Universidad Duke

4.5
estrellas
159 calificaciones
39 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The third course in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C introduces the programming constructs pointers, arrays, and recursion. Pointers provide control and flexibility when programming in C by giving you a way to refer to the location of other data. Arrays provide a way to bundle data by guaranteeing sequences of data are grouped together. Finally, recursive functions—functions that call themselves—provide an alternative to iteration that are very useful for implementing certain algorithms....

Principales revisiones

DH

Aug 13, 2018

End of course project was challenging and fun. Lots of opportunity to learn how to debug memory issues with valgrind.

CF

Dec 21, 2019

Teaches you how to use GDB and debug code effectively. Challenging and engaging homework.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 40 revisiones para Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

por Andrew Z

Jul 19, 2018

Wow! I took my first course that was heavy in C in college and I remember it being challenging. Eight years later, I have to say that C is still a challenging topic! I very much enjoying refreshing knowledge that I learned a very long time ago and had forgotten. I'm also pretty pleased with how much better I am at emacs :) I especially liked the clear introduction of how a program is actually organized in memory. Tail recursion explanation was very interesting as well. One thing that I would love to see improved is some of the testing exercises -- it is easy to get stuck and have several days of progress ruined without really learning anything new. This is small but extremely frustrating. Overall I really appreciate this course and think it was immensely helpful for me in my continuing studies. Very well organized and found the pace of the lectures excellent. Very happy and excited, thanks!

por Sehyun P

Aug 30, 2018

difficult project but it was worth it

por Will O

Mar 07, 2019

The course requires 100% perfection in order to move on from one assignment to the next in the course as well as from one course to the next within the specialization. This expectation becomes incredibly challenging based upon 1) the minimal teaching videos, 2) lack of programming examples and practice exercises, 3) requiring students to learn and implement tools not addressed in the lessons (e.g. qsort() and void * variables), and 4) heavily relying upon reading out-of-context selections from a textbook co-written by one of the instructors.

The structure of this course consistently poses a problem (see the discussions) when a student struggles to understand the material or cannot figure out how to fix their program, even when submitting screenshots of bugs within the course grader. Too often, the instructors and/or their staff ignore questions and do not always provide feedback to assist the student in understanding why their code does not work (once again see the discussions).

These flaws could be overlooked if auditing these courses were an option, but at $49 per month these courses should be designed to enable students to learn foundational concepts without demanding absolute perfection. For students who want to learn C Programming, a much better option would be cs50x and/or C Programming with Linux through edX. Both of these courses can be audited for free and do not possess any of the issues mentioned above.

por Stephen L

Apr 30, 2018

The content of this course was informative and very challenging. I definitely learned a few things about pointers in C that I didn't know before. If this course were on another platform I would give it 5 stars.

However, this course isn't on another platform. It's on Coursera. I have never had such a frustrating time with any MOOC before this and I've completed several of them. The built-in terminal that we used to complete our assignments would often kick me out without any notice. I received no credit for most of my completed assignments due to some bug on Coursera's end. This bug was first reported months before I started the class and it persisted up until my final week of the course. I think that I completed the course but I'm not sure. It's tough to be certain when you click the link to view your certificate and it raises an error.

por Kristen P

Feb 27, 2020

Excellent course with valuable testing and debugging lessons! My only constructive feedback is for Duke to add more clarity to the assignments and their README's and for Coursera to adjust the time commitment. It took me well 30+ additional hours beyond the time commitment estimate.

por Antonio B B A

Nov 01, 2018

I'm at the beginning, but I can assure that is really better than the programming courses in the university. The teachers here are very didactic people as long as allow students to have a complete course. Thanks you all.

por Jessica S

Nov 07, 2019

Some concepts a bit complex, but with the exercises, especially with the latest project, everything is clear. It was a challenge and I feel very happy to have finished it. I recommend it.

por Gastón M

Mar 06, 2019

Great course. They did a great job in explaining key concepts like pointers and arrays, which are usual subjects with which students struggle.

por Douglas H

Aug 13, 2018

End of course project was challenging and fun. Lots of opportunity to learn how to debug memory issues with valgrind.

por Charulaxmi F

Dec 21, 2019

Teaches you how to use GDB and debug code effectively. Challenging and engaging homework.

por Rameshwar S

Jan 24, 2019

Very well designed hands-on training course for developing a real software program in C.

por Guo F

Dec 22, 2019

Very good material arrangement and assignment settings!

por Brandon G

Jun 03, 2019

Great course that taught important programming topics.

por Jimmy K A

Apr 02, 2019

Really nice and the project is really challenging.

por Neel P

Feb 16, 2020

awesome .please give more example

por Dhiego S d S

Nov 18, 2018

Very challenging course.

por Hien D Q

Mar 23, 2020

very useful for me

por kedar h

Nov 08, 2018

amazing awesome

por Akhil P

Nov 17, 2018

Great course!!

por Егор О С

May 17, 2019

Great course

por Thang D D

Feb 06, 2020

Great

por HITESH G

Jun 16, 2019

great

por leekibeom

Jan 17, 2019

good

por Alan-Frank V

Jan 03, 2019

.

por J K

Jul 13, 2019

I think this is one of the best courses I've taken (and that's including the famous deeplearning.ai trajectory), because it is finally quite difficult, and covers even more advanced topics like function pointers. The best part is the fact that there is also some explanation on the hardware and memory, which make understanding the "why" of choices made more intuitive.

The order in which new information is added is spot on, and the assignment are relatively difficult and you really have to focus; tinkering your way through doesn't work (I was reminded of the saying: "Reading for half an hour, will save you two weeks of trying"

As a downside: I HATE emacs in this PPE environment; I'm used to sublime text, and all short-cuts/hotkeys are different. In addition, the ctrl-w, which is for copying (I think) closes the PPE tab, have resulted in lost code, and some cursing from my side.

However, all in all: great and I would recommend it to anyone interested in C programming (... or learning Emacs ;))