Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Power Electronics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Power Electronics por parte de Universidad de Colorado en Boulder

4.8
estrellas
2,222 calificaciones
571 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Principales reseñas

SA

Aug 01, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH

Sep 23, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 559 revisiones para Introduction to Power Electronics

por shubham m

Oct 04, 2018

The course has been completely amazing. The knowledge provided in the lectures is perfect and the assignment questions complement the lectures very well and tests the understanding effectively.

por Gysbertus v R E

Aug 08, 2019

When struggling there was no online support. No response from Instructor or Teaching assistants.

por Nand N A

Jul 04, 2018

If one gets stuck in an assignment, then one cant get the required help or support.

por Abhishek V

Apr 29, 2019

It is a nice course. For a change, the quizzes were challenging, which was nice, but inadequate support provided by the mentors and the course forum are disappointing.

por Amin F

Nov 27, 2016

This wan an excellent course especially for electrical engineering students.

I suggest this course to every electrical engineering student and anyone interested in Power Electronics.

por Omar H

Nov 10, 2017

Exceptionally bad assessment. Lecturer dry and boring. Did I mention how terrible the quizes were?

por Monika V P

May 22, 2020

i want to unenroll the course

por Beili L

May 12, 2016

I thought this course was an informative introduction to an important class of electronics. The lecturer was easy to follow, except during certain topics. That, however, is more due to the difficult nature of the subject than a fault of the professor. I found myself pausing and rewatching some portions so I could gain a better understanding but I don't have any problems with that. There is a good balance between more generalized overviews of key circuit concepts and more detailed analyses of specific circuit topologies. You may have to do some outside research to fully understand all details and I know some people may be turned off by that. I believe it is fine, and it is a good way to learn how to find information on your own. I did not have to do this more than a few times (that would actually be annoying). Lastly, the assignments were just challenging enough to force me to actually grasp the material, without making it seem like it was impossible to complete.

por Yun W

Mar 11, 2017

The whole specialization series is definitely a 5 star Coursera course. As a electrical engineer designing lab and industrial use power supplies, I found the material in this class review and enhance my knowledge, and more importantly, a systematic view of DC-DC converter concepts, which is a good reference of my future career.

The book those professors wrote is called "bible" in the power electronic industry, and most of the interviewers will ask questions related to the material in that book when you take a job interview in this industry, especially for an entry level or junior position. Watching the videos and doing the homework and final project help me understand those material more efficiently.

I appreciate the great work from all three professors!

por Hamood U R

Feb 09, 2019

The course is indeed source of motivation for beginner to delve deeper into the field of Power Electronics. From the course content to the quizzes, and the instructor's excellent way of teaching to the Coursera help and support, everything is commendable, flawless, and captivating to research. After successfully finishing the course, I intend to enroll in its specialization program. Coursera owns means a lot to me, being an intermediate level researcher, grown up in an environment lagging far behind in research in Power Electronics. Thanks Coursera for all such support, and thanks to Prof. Erickson for his untiring efforts he put in arranging and delivering this course. Stay blessed!

por Sebastian G

Jun 22, 2020

Phenomenal Course.

With a background in mechanical engineering and physics, I worried that this course would either assume to much and be too technical or be too easy and superficial. Neither is true; the course introduces topics only assuming basic electronics knowledge but still manages to cover a lot of material and be quite challenging. Dr. Erickson's lectures are clear and focused.

The homeworks are hard but fair (there is a glitch in the first homework that almost convinced me to drop the course, but I'm glad I didn't; the glitch does not appear again and I am hoping they fix the glitch in the future). I encourage anyone interested in power electronics to go through the course.

por Parker M

Nov 05, 2019

Good course overall. I thought the homework was actually pretty challenging, but the lecture effectively prepared you to complete them. The estimated complete time for them is horribly incorrect though. I found they took way longer. I wish there was a bit more discussion of theory regarding some of the "small ripple approximation" as it doesn't feel like there is enough justification behind our ability to simplify the math so readily. I also wish there was a more detailed steps shown during circuit analysis and derivation in the lectures. It would certainly help give me more confidence while working through the homework.

por Sandra C

Mar 29, 2019

Phenomenal course. Very well structured and easy to follow. I have gained a deeper understanding of the basics of power electronics converters that have helped me understand these concepts much better at work, so an overall win for me. :-)

I was lucky enough that my mentor was able to lend me the book "Fundamentals of Power Electronics" by Robert Erickson and Dragan Maksimovic. This course follows the first three chapters of the book and vice versa, and so having that book handy proved tremendously useful (but not necessary to finish this course).

Overall, thank you for the lovely course and I'm looking forward to the next one!

por Simon A

Aug 01, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

por Shafquat H

Sep 23, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

por Pradyumna J

Jun 27, 2020

This course has been very helpful in understanding the principles of dc-dc converters and introduced me to LTspice. I enjoyed every part of the course especially the quizzes and chapter problems.

por Jayraj M P

Apr 22, 2020

not satisfied as it needs a specific software

por John G

Jul 12, 2016

Teaches the basics of buck and boost converters (switching voltage regulators). Basics like how the switching duty-cycle determines the output voltage, and how the essential components affect ripple in the voltage and current.

The homework assignments are challenging and meaningful without being enormous undertakings.

Assumes freshman or sophomore-level electronics engineering knowledge (or maybe the first chapter of The Art of Electronics). Assumes familiarity with the basic concepts of calculus (what derivatives and integrals are). Homework requires some algebra (algebraic manipulation) but no difficult calculus sort of algebra. Homework does require thinking outside of the box a bit; the solutions to some problems are not completely obvious from the lectures.

por Matej K

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent introductory course. The material is presented simply with just the right amount of complexity. Prof. Erickson is an excellent instructor who covers the relevant concepts clearly, concisely, but comprehensively.

My main criticism is how Coursera handles the homework assignments. The homework answers are not saved between consecutive tries; if one makes some mistakes on the first try, then on a new try one has to write all the answers all over again which is cumbersome since there are usually around 15-20 questions where a good amount of answers are algebraic expressions. It would be better if all the answers are saved between tries so one can easily edit wrong answers while not having to write the right answers from the previous try all over again.

por zeeshan H

Sep 25, 2017

This was one of the best course that I came across online. I have studied this course during my undergraduate program but the way this course was handled and taught here was amazing. I learnt about many new methods of analysis of a converter. Moreover I learnt about the converters concepts in a way that I had never learnt before. Overall It was one of the best experience and I would recommend to every person interested in this subject to take this course. Thank you very much for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this community.

por Aquiles P

Feb 14, 2016

Fantastic introductory course to a long awaited specialization. I'm an electrical engineer and I was related to most of the theory prof. Erickson discussed with us in the lectures, but assignments, quick questions and facts were beyond my expectations. I can actually say I learnt things in these few weeks. And is just the beginning. Can't wait until we get to the control loop design for active filtering techniques. Great job by prof. Erickson and his team for the resources and the knowledge.

por SARVESH T

Aug 11, 2020

GREAT TEACHER WITH BRILLIANT TEACHING STYLE EXPLAIN TOUGH TOPICS IN VERY LUCID MANNER AND MAKE ME LOVE POWER ELECTRONICS

AGAIN THANK YOU PROF. DR ROBERT ERICKSON

por Byron A C V

Aug 20, 2020

Excelente curso, buen contenido, el desarrollo del instructor es muy didáctico y se fomenta el auto aprendizaje con las tareas propuestas

por Matthew J

Aug 14, 2020

Overall a good introduction course.

I think the requirement that you be 0.1% accurate in your answers is a bit ridiculous and it would probably be better to expand the accuracy slightly so that you do not have to make multiple submissions just to determine if 0.123 or 0.1234 is the correct answer. This is especially true given that actual implementation is going to be much more hands on once you actually start developing the circuit.

por Philipp M

Jun 08, 2017

I liked the course and the lectures. Real good examples and explanations!

But for the exams, I would like t have some more hints sometimes if one is on the wrong way.