Chevron Left
Volver a Practical Time Series Analysis

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Practical Time Series Analysis por parte de Universidad Estatal de Nueva York

4.6
584 calificaciones
153 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Practical Time Series Analysis! Many of us are "accidental" data analysts. We trained in the sciences, business, or engineering and then found ourselves confronted with data for which we have no formal analytic training. This course is designed for people with some technical competencies who would like more than a "cookbook" approach, but who still need to concentrate on the routine sorts of presentation and analysis that deepen the understanding of our professional topics. In practical Time Series Analysis we look at data sets that represent sequential information, such as stock prices, annual rainfall, sunspot activity, the price of agricultural products, and more. We look at several mathematical models that might be used to describe the processes which generate these types of data. We also look at graphical representations that provide insights into our data. Finally, we also learn how to make forecasts that say intelligent things about what we might expect in the future. Please take a few minutes to explore the course site. You will find video lectures with supporting written materials as well as quizzes to help emphasize important points. The language for the course is R, a free implementation of the S language. It is a professional environment and fairly easy to learn. You can discuss material from the course with your fellow learners. Please take a moment to introduce yourself! Time Series Analysis can take effort to learn- we have tried to present those ideas that are "mission critical" in a way where you understand enough of the math to fell satisfied while also being immediately productive. We hope you enjoy the class!...

Principales revisiones

JM

Mar 21, 2019

This was a very good and detailed course. I liked this course for two reasons mainly:\n\nIt started from the basics of timeseries analysis, covering theory and secondly it took me gradually to r.

LY

Aug 03, 2019

A nice course which is practical as the name said, it balanced the portion of theories and practices. I used to not familiar with this topic, but now I consider myself much more familiar.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 153 revisiones para Practical Time Series Analysis

por Wim

Jun 02, 2018

a

n

i

n

por Denis K

Aug 15, 2018

This is a good course, but it is too focused on R routines and leaves some practically important questions unanswered. Specifically, no algorithm is provided for fitting parameters of MA models.

por kirran

Aug 31, 2018

Answers to assignments could be more elaborate

por Angelo A d M F

Aug 31, 2018

A very good introduction to time series analysis. Provides some theoretical fundamentals and explains how to implement it in R.

por Dheeraj T

Jan 16, 2018

Course is good and intuitive and people not from non-mathematical/non-engineering backgroung may take more time in week 2

por Dennis P

Apr 22, 2018

I think I need support on the very last week, namely, week 6, on the very first quiz. I don't understand the answers on how they were derived but I was able to get the answers by repeating the quiz.

por Gabriel D B

May 21, 2018

Chapter 3 needs work. Everything else is great! Good course overall.

por Scott S

Apr 29, 2018

Overall, this was a really great class. I have a good grasp now for the basics of modelling time-series and producing forecasts (using ARIMA, SARIMA, Smoothing with Holt-Winters). I also have an understanding of the tools used for analysing time-series (autocorrelation, partial-autocorrelation).

The course is a good mix of theory and practice. I haven't taken a stats class for a long time; however, the first week was more than enough to refresh my memory. Really, only some basic stats knowledge is needed (mean, covariance, correlation). There is also quite a lot of usage of the geometric series. However, a lot of time is spent reviewing this topic later (week 3, I think). The course is done in R, but the usage is so small that anyone with any experience in programming will have no trouble. I actually had no experience with R before this course, and I finished the course with only a little additional experience.

My only complaint is that the course could use some minor maintenance. One of the weeks (maybe 3?) has a section of duplicated notes, but I'm pretty sure that the section with duplicated notes could be deleted. Most of the pdfs have the wrong week in the header (likely a new week was added after the course was released). There are also several quiz questions with incorrect values (before taking a quiz, I recommend scanning through the forum to find known problems). The instructors do occasionally post in the forums, so that gives me hope that the course will not be abandoned.

por Amir P

Nov 05, 2018

Great course for info about time series.

Some parts (especially week 3 and 4) could be less mathematical.

Should emphaise more on identifying the ranks of the models, for example - keep those questions in the quizes.

Some quiz questions felt too easy :)

por Anisha S

May 06, 2019

After coming towards the end of the course, I have changes my perception about the course. It is a great course to learn Time Series Analysis. Though it has some advanced theory and derivations in certain lectures, it has lots of practical exercises as well to perform hands-on. It gives good understanding of time series concepts and different models associated with it. I would recommend this course. I would recommend the instructors to add ARIMAX and multivariate time series analysis in the course as well.

por Alex L

May 06, 2019

maybe useful, but this course worth listening

por Yash G

Mar 25, 2019

Amazing course

por Hany N

Apr 11, 2019

Great course, good balance between theory & practical applications.

For some lectures, the slides are not provided (pdf notes are provided instead). I would preferred to have the PDF sliders of the Power Point as well.

por Siddharth M

May 28, 2019

A very thorough course covering almost all the topics related to time series along with the math involved. However, the explanation for the math involved was not very elaborate and easy to understand. A lot of parts were skipped in the explanation. Moreover, the examples taken to explain were simpler, rather than taking a tough example and covering all the corners. Overall, a great course but not for a layman.

por David S

Jul 01, 2019

Little fast and some place in the middle when they started talking about inside the unit circle. May need a little refresher on that. Otherwise I really appreciate this type of material being available.

por Supakrit N

Jul 09, 2019

Great course with clear description but the sound of mentor is almost monotone making me feel some sleepy

por Luiz C

Jul 15, 2019

Exercises and Quizzes could be more complex

por Miguel L

Sep 05, 2018

Overall, it is a pretty good course: in just a few weeks you are introduced to a satisfactory level of time series analysis with R even if your background in R and/or statistics is not that high. I have personally missed some more depth (even if optional: for example, providing additional optional readings, or creating an honours track with extra difficult assignments for motivated students). Instructors are pretty good but they should make an extra effort to be clearer and not to speed up too much: some more additional videos or just more time for each video covering the same content would be better.

por Pablo C T

Oct 14, 2018

Overall, this is a good course for beginners in time series analysis.

However, I wish they had go beyond the basics. I missed more advanced content, discussions between different forecasting techniques, multivariate forecasting...It is pretty basic.

por Maria B

Oct 19, 2018

The content was great, but I'd have liked to see more practical exercises.

por Juan M G H

Sep 26, 2018

On other courses I received feedback on the forums in a prompt manner from the instructors, here none of my questions have been answered.

por Mark H

Jun 27, 2018

Would have loved more work with the ready made packages, I feel like I still can't master using them in R, although I did understand the material.

por Artem M

May 18, 2018

Contents of the course are very good. It provides a compact introduction to the most important statistical methods for time series estimation. Nevertheless, there are many mistakes in slides/exercises, necessity to download datasets instead of using predefined ones, and a great number of time series libraries to download when we could just use 2 of those, which is ok, but I took 1 star for it. The other star taken was because I think the course could still include more information on the theory of time series (yes, I understand that the name is PRACTICAL time series, but still), and more meaningful exercises. Most of those were pretty trivial.

por Martin H A

Mar 30, 2018

I found one of the instructors (Thistleton) much clearer and didactic than the other. I would have liked a deeper formal insight into the models that were discussed: limitations, assumptions, what kind of physical models they can represent? what to do with systems that don't behave "nicely"?, etc.

por Heberto S

Apr 01, 2019

There was not a good intuitive and more visual explanations of the principles behind the techniques.

Given the proposed 'practical' nature of the course, it would be better to explain any concept by using concrete every-day examples than preceding them with a elaborated mathematical reasoning of the equations used.