Chevron Left
Volver a Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Predictive Modeling and Analytics por parte de Universidad de Colorado en Boulder

3.9
236 calificaciones
68 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Principales revisiones

HA

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

AA

Aug 12, 2019

Got to many techniques like boosting, bagging, Neural networks, regression tress etc.. Useful and informative course

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 66 revisiones para Predictive Modeling and Analytics

por William C

Jul 03, 2018

I was very disappointed by this course. The professor was knowledgeable, but was difficult to understand and spoke quickly. Even the transcript had the words [INAUDIBLE] listed multiple times because he was so difficult to understand. There were no slides, so note taking was difficult. The course also requires paying $25 for an Excel Add-In, which was not mentioned before enrolling in the course. The Excel Add-In is a different version from the version used in the video, so it was very difficult to follow along because the screens and outputs were different. I also had an issue with the Excel Add-In that made some of my work late because the issue could not be resolved quickly. The Analytic Solver (the Add-Inrepresentative said the problem was on their end, and had to fix the issue himself. Overall I was extremely disappointed and would not recommend this course to anyone. If this had been the first course in the specialization, I would not have continued. In my opinion UC-B needs to rethink if they should even offer this course.

por Rohan G L

Jan 29, 2018

This class doesn't even deserve that one star.

It is easily the worst class I've ever taken on Coursera. The data in the final does not match the description. There are mistakes in the lessons and on the quiz. There is no feedback to forum. The instructor's English is of a very low level and he speaks entirely too quickly.

Coursera, please delete this class. Look at the comments below.

por Yvonne G Q T

Sep 16, 2018

This module is badly organised and taught. The lecturer goes through the concepts with no explanation or illustration. As a result, it was hard to understand the significance and applicability of the concepts taught. It was also very hard to catch what he was saying as his voice was not clear and no slides were provided. Further, no answer key was provided for the assignments and quizzes - we wont even know why we got the question(s) wrong and what should be the correct step(s). The final assignment/quiz was kind of a repeat of the first four quizzes/assignments using a different set of data. While I appreciate that this is to give us more practice, it wasn't very useful as the lack of answer key for the first four assignments/quizzes meant that we couldn't quite know the reason for getting certain question(s) wrong earlier on.

por Pooja

Jan 02, 2018

The instructor's accent is difficultto understand. The subtitles are also not helpful as sometimes it also misintreprets what the instructor is saying or writes(incoherent). The instructor is too fast and has explained concept too briefly. Many times I had to google to understand the concept and pass the quiz.

Being a part of the specialisation, it is necessary to pass this course. However, the answers of the quiz are also sometimes not correct.

I wish this course is thoroughly revised with some other instructor as it is very hard to understand with the present Instructor.

The forum is also completely unresponsive.

Please update this course.

por Abhishek U

Aug 03, 2017

I liked the course information but it moves too fast. Week 4 module is too complicated to be covered in a 5 minute video. Many concepts should be explained in detail with examples. The teacher doesn't have a very easy accent to understand and there are many occasions when some really difficult concepts are covered in less than a minute.

This course is fine to get basic understanding of predictive modelling but you need to study a lot on your own to truly understand the statistics behind them and concepts described in this course.

por Chinmaya M

Nov 20, 2017

Its my individual perception about this course, reason of poor review

1) The instructor is very quick, not sure what is intended to present

2) The whole concept is based on XLMINER tool, which is free for 2 weeks. The tool is upgraded but the course material didn't.

3) Quiz questions and answers, not sure if those are ever verified. Its very specific to older version of XLMiner tool.

4) Not much support from moderator.

por Yihan W

Mar 10, 2017

Week 3 application assignment is buggy. If you input correct answers they will be marked as incorrect. You must use trial and error to find the wrong answers the quiz is looking for. It's a badly designed assignment that wastes students' time and creates a lot of frustration. Would not recommend the course because of it.

por Jennifer Z

Jun 05, 2018

Lots of info in 4 short weeks... the instructor did a good job of getting through it. I had issues with neural networks in XLMiner -- particularly, boosting and bagging; my in-Excel XLMiner wouldn't run models without terminating with an error. Using the in-the-cloud version of XLMiner was better because the menus matched what the instructor was showing in the videos (my desktop version did not). However, I never was able to get the right answer on any neural network boosting or bagging questions on any quiz, though I got all the other questions right - creating decision trees or logistic regression models through XLMiner, even boosting/bagging decision tree models, both Classify and Predict. There was zero traffic in the discussion forums (people were begging people to grade their peer assignments so they could get a grade) so there was zero response to my pleas for assistance. It was pretty frustrating. I finally got through the class because getting everything right except neural network boosting/bagging questions enabled me to squeak through with a passing score. I hate not knowing what I was doing wrong though. Perhaps the instructor's version had different default values than the version I was using. Oh well. It's in the past :)

por John T

Mar 30, 2017

This course has great content and I believe the professor is very knowledgeable about this subject matter. However, at times, it can be very difficult to understand what he is saying. I believe he knows the English language very well but, between his deep accent and speaking very quickly, there are a number of times I cannot understand what he is saying. This is reflected at times when reading the transcript below each video. I found it better to slow the video down to 0.75X the regular speed to hear him but that did not remove all of the difficulty.

por Mark S

Jan 02, 2017

The instructor speaks too quickly and I think this will make it difficult for non-native English speakers to understand the material. This material will also be more understandable to individuals with a statistical analysis background, not enough time is spent on explanation and it will be necessary to supplement the class if you don't have the proper background. Passing the class by rote following of the examples will not give you the proper proficiency.

por Rachel S

May 16, 2019

There are a lot better courses for the time. This course mostly teaches you how to use XLMiner which is a paid Excel add on that I am 99% certain I will never use again.

por roshni r

Jul 09, 2018

I don't mean to criticize and I believe the content your courses offer is always great but I had difficulty with the instructor's speech delivery and his accent.

por Lance R

Jan 02, 2018

This course gave me a good understanding of the typical analytic tools used when doing predictive study. It has helped set the direction for my future business analytics study (don't expect to master all the topics in one short course!). If you don't already have a background in basic statistics you will probably struggle to understand much of the material. By basic I'm speaking of things such as basic hypothesis testing, error types, z scores, measures of variation and central tendency, confidence intervals, basic probability, basic understanding of logarithms and exponents.

por Arushi

Aug 12, 2019

Got to many techniques like boosting, bagging, Neural networks, regression tress etc.. Useful and informative course

por Shivam S

May 16, 2019

Really good course, The videos are very precise and short, lot of learning, Loved this course

por mark w

Apr 29, 2017

T

por Tracy C

Jun 20, 2018

The material is fine, a bit rushed at the end. My biggest issue with this course is the lack of support when it comes to addressing system-related issues. I've had to resolve these on my own, because neither forums, Coursera, or Frontline Solvers customer care could help.

por Federico G V

Aug 15, 2019

The course is very stimulating, unfortunately (at least for a non native english speaker) the understanding of the professor's words is tough

por Sejal C

Jul 12, 2019

The instructor runs very fast. He is in a hurry to catch his train. Does not explain the topics properly.

por Sandeep K

Nov 07, 2016

There was some amount of confusion in the Quizzes and we didnt get moderation. Some more discussion in forums should be encouraged.

por Dario A

Feb 13, 2018

The instructor's poor English makes it difficult to follow the lectures and it takes twice the time to study the transcript, which is also wrong at times. The homework was a rehash of the same basic teaching with no practical application. What good is to know the coefficient or the slope of a regression when no prediction exercises are done to find a data point that is not close to the existing data points?

XLMiner does not work online and for Mac users this was very cumbersome.

por Kevin S

May 24, 2018

Hard to follow seamlessly with poor pronunciation.

por Wallace O

Jul 11, 2017

Terms weren't very clear, and many videos had not txt file.

por Fabio F

Mar 09, 2018

content is fine. but light on BUSINESS applications. Professor's english very hard to follow.

por Naveed T

Nov 11, 2016

While the content (common predictive regression and classification algorithms and tools like XLMiner) was useful, little to no support was provided in the forums. The assignments in Week 3 and Week 4 in particular were either vague or had errors that nobody double checked and course-takers had to use trial and error approach to get answers right.