Chevron Left
Volver a Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Predictive Modeling and Analytics por parte de Universidad de Colorado en Boulder

3.8
estrellas
320 calificaciones
99 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Principales revisiones

TM

Apr 15, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

AD

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

Filtrar por:

76 - 99 de 99 revisiones para Predictive Modeling and Analytics

por Emiljo J

May 14, 2020

I found the course content to be good and explanations to be concise but sometimes rushed through. The choice of software to use, however well aimed as it did not require manual programming, it proved a more frustrating experience than actually writing it in Python. I also hardly believe that I would be using Analytic Solver in the future.

por Thu

Mar 24, 2020

A good course overall; however, I expected some further reading recommendations by the lecturer to help develop a deeper understanding of predictive models.

The last peer assignment was boring and too simple relative to the course knowledge level. Plus, one of the tasks was replicated from another one that I previously did.

por Matthew G

May 15, 2020

Covers a lot of essential topics around analytics and predictive modeling. However, the delivery in the lectures lacks enthusiasm and seems very scripted. Also, the final project, despite being primarily a predictive analytics courses is simple a re-hash of the Week 1 project, and is not cumulative of all topics covered.

por Keith

Apr 13, 2020

Many of the concepts felt "glossed over" as the subject matter was rich but it was hard to get a complete understanding of it in the videos. I found myself having to do a lot of additional supplemental research not even mentioned in the videos to accurately answer some of the quiz questions.

por Varun G

Apr 09, 2020

The Course is good, it covers lot of topics but there are certain drawbacks like the accent is not clear, have to read the transcript and other issue is the contents are very briefly explained, need to read it separately on google, if you are not from science background.

por Martin C

Jun 02, 2020

EL profesor no es muy didáctico y su dicción no es fácil de seguir.

Preferentemente mayor uso de las herramientas de predicicon de excel

por Kanishka P

May 16, 2020

Using XLminer in the course created a problem for a while. Otherwise, the course is good.

por Richard F

Mar 31, 2018

instruct

por mark w

Apr 29, 2017

T

por jaiyant

Dec 24, 2019

Very Poor experience, the instructor was very bad, could not understand anything which he said , this can be seen by the number of [INAUDIBLE] present in the subtitles text. The number of application assignments and the questions were very good , with practice I understood all the concepts and I really think that was very helpful.If the instructor is changed and course content increased , this would be a very good course

por Renée S

Apr 29, 2020

This course requires advanced pre-existing knowledge of statistics to really be of any use. New concepts, formulas and techniques are barely explained but are presented as a 'given'. The course does give you good working knowledge of the Solver tool.

por Eduardo R O S

Apr 01, 2020

The instructor speak to fast and it's hard to understand what he said too many times. The material in the course in not well done. I believe that the course needs to be remake.

por Manas K

Apr 17, 2020

Much below my expectation or the level and quality the other courses bring. There are so many areas within this course that could be improved.

por tan l d

Jan 06, 2020

The accent of instructor is too strong to understand, it's an unpleasant experience to have listen through the class.

por Vedad K

May 20, 2020

Assignments are interesting but the explanations and presentations are awful.

por Connor C

Mar 26, 2020

Could not understand the instructor and the information was not useful

por Dham S

Apr 24, 2020

poor content structure

por Kevin J

Jun 03, 2020

I don't usually rate applications, let alone courses, but this is the one course I was extremely frustrated at, and I saw that I was not alone in this.

First, assignment 3 is buggy, very likely because the version of xlminer is different (I ended up downloading xlminer from other available sources because the version this course gave did not work!!). Different versions including the partition result presentation and logistic regression step 1 appearance.

Second, xlminer is COMPULSORY and NOT FREE (free trial does not count). You can not even use other tools such as Python or R because some of the values asked in questions specifically require excel to get. I still don't get why xlminer can not be a free open source add-ins. Python and R's basic machine libraries are free, why isn't xlminer?

Third, this course is the PREREQUISITE to Advance Business Analytics, which I am more interested in. Combine with my second point, it's like locking a character in a game behind a paywall as a DLC, of course people would not like it.

If you are aiming for a certificate for this course, just forget it, it's not worth it. If you are aiming for learning the subject, you can still take the course. Overall, absolutely not going to recommend it.

To developer of this course, please REVISE THE ASSIGNMENT ASAP.

por Aman G

May 11, 2020

This class doesn't even deserve that one star.It is easily the worst class I've ever taken on Coursera. The data in the final does not match the description. There are mistakes in the lessons and on the quiz. There is no feedback to forum.I was very disappointed by this course. The professor was knowledgeable, but was difficult to understand and spoke quickly. Even the transcript had the words [INAUDIBLE] listed multiple times because he was so difficult to understand. There were no slides, so note taking was difficult. The course also requires paying $25 for an Excel Add-In, which was not mentioned before enrolling in the course. The Excel Add-In is a different version from the version used in the video, so it was very difficult to follow along because the screens and outputs were different. I also had an issue with the Excel Add-In that made some of my work late because the issue could not be resolved quickly. The Analytic Solver (the Add-Inrepresentative said the problem was on their end, and had to fix the issue himself. Overall I was extremely disappointed and would not recommend this course to anyone. If this had been the first course in the specialization, I would not have continued. In my opinion UC-B needs to rethink if they should even offer this course.

por Lauri S

Apr 27, 2020

I learned close to nothing (I want to say it was absolutely nothing because I think that's accurate), from this course. In my opinion, it was just a plug for the university's data miner plug-in. The instructor was so hard to understand and the videos didn't instruct on how to implement the practices they "taught". Finally, I don't know anyone in data analytics who uses these methods of predictive modeling. They're outdated and school-level insights used by professors. I do not recommend this course to anyone.

por Piero A T

May 11, 2020

I do not like this course. The lecturer's accent is really difficult to follow and there are no notes for this course. I do not understand why it keeps online. University should consider changing the lecturer.

por Kellie R

May 15, 2020

I was unable to successfully install the required excel add-in and could not proceed with the course though I had already paid.

por SARTHAK M

May 01, 2020

Course content and assignment content don't match.

por Viktoriia D

Mar 14, 2020

Like a hell