Chevron Left
Volver a Privacy Law and Data Protection

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Privacy Law and Data Protection por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
531 calificaciones
96 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What does it take to comply with privacy laws? In this course, we’ll look at the practical aspects of navigating the complex landscape of privacy requirements. Better understanding privacy laws and data protection will enable you to protect your organization and the constituents that depend on your organization to safeguard their personal information. First, we will examine the historical context that drove the creation of laws, best practices, and other standards for protecting personal information. We will also consider where in the U.S. privacy laws exist and which sectors remain unregulated. Next, we will focus on the federal health privacy law, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) – and what it takes to comply with it. How do you know the scope of the requirements? And once you know HIPAA applies, how do you actually put measures in place to ensure compliance? We’ll explore the notion that one cannot have privacy without strong security and examine various models that promote the security of personal information. We’ll look closely at breach notification laws – one of the most significant drivers of change in organizations – and discuss strategies for the improvement of data protection overall. Lastly, we will look at international law, state law, the unique and important role of the Federal Trade Commission in protecting privacy. Most importantly, we get practical – we will discuss real-world, practical approaches to how compliance professionals can navigate the complex landscape of privacy requirements to best protect their organizations....

Principales reseñas

GP
11 de abr. de 2021

Interesting and usefull course on the topic. However I would have appreciated it even more if the focus was more international with deeper analysis of the GDPR. Too much focus on the HIPPA.

PJ
10 de oct. de 2021

It was an amazing experience, since this is my first course. It was nice to learn about the privacy laws of different countries and the difference they hold from the native country.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 97 revisiones para Privacy Law and Data Protection

por Aidan O D

24 de ene. de 2020

I know the course is by an American college, but there is an over-focus on American information. As this course is a MOOC, you would expect that the content covered would be more general and only use specific examples to help support ideas.

An entire section was dedicated to the American health insurance system, which was just incredibly repetitive and uninteresting. As many of your students are from outside the US you should consider this.

por Sultan A H

30 de jun. de 2020

Great overview of privacy and data protection. Heavy emphasis on HIPAA given Lecturer background and expertise. Would recommend to any beginners or curious individuals.

por ‘Toni N

14 de nov. de 2019

I found this course to be very interesting. Lauren Steinfeld of the University of Pennsylvania was an amazing teacher and always found a way to summarise vital concepts and points in a succinct manner. The course was also exposed me to multi-jurisdictional aspects of privacy law in the US and Europe and this helped me to appreciate the way privacy and data protection are treated in different parts of the world.

por Fuad T A Q A

22 de nov. de 2019

Thank you very much for this effort in the work of this training course, which is one of the most important courses in the field of data privacy protection

por Agnaldo H d R

26 de oct. de 2021

Thank you to Coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for the excellent course. God bless! ♥

por Mehmet B K

15 de jul. de 2019

Its a great cours for those who does not have a clue about USA privacy law. If you want to make your first step, this is a great opportunity.

por Lena E

11 de nov. de 2019

Good overview of general principles of privacy law and data protection.

por manish k j

20 de feb. de 2021

The course gave me insights into Fair Information Principles, HIPPA guidelines, GDPR, and FTC enforcement. In a single course, one can learn the fundamentals of Data Privacy Principles and why it is of utmost importance for compliance officers in any company dealing with customer data or information. The course is optimum even for someone who wants to know about the importance of data privacy in this age and time and how one should protect consumer data information and avoid law enforcement actions. Great course!

por Robert O

4 de mar. de 2021

Professor Steinfeld was clear and to the point. She provided background to the material. The organizing principles and sources of the rules, regulations and laws governing the current practice. She provided exercises that highlighted real-world examples of concerns and solutions. In the end, I believe myself to be more prepared to address management and oversight of Privacy and Data protection at my company going forward.

por William R O S

29 de mar. de 2021

Excellent theme and always current. Discuss the importance of data security and personal information privacy is part of the nowadays scenario where the concern with how our personal information are used and for what purpose, always having in mind mechanisms to protect that information from theft, misuse, violation and breach.

por Alex H

3 de nov. de 2019

Good overview of privacy law, both US FIP and EU GDPR. Would have preferred if the example privacy law explored in Week 2 were something finance-related like FDCPA or FACTA/FCRA, rather than HIPPA, but the discussions were good (including a quick dive into data security and cyber threat protection).

por Andres P d L

31 de oct. de 2019

This course covering legal Issues, HIPPA and privacy topics proved to be the most challenging of the 4 courses. I need to go back and review this section and take it a bit slower next time. However everything in there was broken down nicely and supplied great supplemental examples.

por Sally V C

20 de ago. de 2019

Professor Steinfeld is extremely knowledgeable, responsive and she provides an engaging learning experience. I really enjoyed learning through the useful combination of video and content. A tremendous help to anyone interested in learning more about the privacy landscape.

por Zuleymi V

9 de nov. de 2020

Data protection is one of the most important new skills to learn about this decade, it is growing and demanding new job positions. Which is great for Compliance Professionals who whishes to learn new things and make minimun changes in their professional carrier.

por Grace C

29 de mar. de 2020

I thought this course was well organized and thought out. I appreciated that it included a brief segment on the CCPA. I actually would love if in the future they built out the CCPA section a bit more since that seems particularly relevant in today's landscape.

por Zhiyao L

14 de jul. de 2019

This is a very good course. It gave me an overview knowledge of the data privacy protections both in the US (HIPAA, FERMA, COPPA) and Europe (GDPR). I would highly recommend for anyone trying to learn about the basic regimes of data privacy.

por Muzzil Q K

22 de abr. de 2019

I am quite familiar with the privacy regime in the EU and other individual States such as Malaysia and Australia but this course gave me an important perspective on privacy and information security particularly from a US perspective.

por Amah A

27 de mar. de 2020

This Course is very instructive and interactive. It helped me understand and do a comparative analysis between the US data protection regulatory framework and the Nigerian NDPR which is quite similar to the EU-GDPR framework.

por Casimiro V

27 de dic. de 2020

Very easy to understand, but at the same time provides a very good introduction to the subject. After this Course is a lot easier to understand these areas of knowledge and know what other courses we must look for.

por Aniuska R

17 de ago. de 2020

Lecture are easy to follow and most of the articles included great examples on the topics. For the instructors: I would recommend using different articles, as some were not accessible unless you had a subscription.

por Kungwang H

5 de may. de 2020

A very good overview of privacy law and data protection. My only complaint is that it is a tad too easy and the final paper writing assignment, which is graded by peer, can have a higher grading standard.

por Emmanuel V

14 de feb. de 2021

Great overview of Privacy Law and Data Protection. Format can be slightly improved to ease future reference to course material. But content is very well tuned to the scope. Thanks a lot for the learning!

por Gonzalo R P

12 de abr. de 2021

Interesting and usefull course on the topic. However I would have appreciated it even more if the focus was more international with deeper analysis of the GDPR. Too much focus on the HIPPA.

por Priyamvada J

11 de oct. de 2021

It was an amazing experience, since this is my first course. It was nice to learn about the privacy laws of different countries and the difference they hold from the native country.

por Jorge G C

30 de ene. de 2021

The professor is excellent. She exposes in a very clear and convincing way aspects of private, administrative and international law that are not as simple as we may think.