Chevron Left
Volver a Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.6
estrellas
1,026 calificaciones
354 reseña

Acerca del Curso

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Principales reseñas

TS
30 de abr. de 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

SR
23 de jun. de 2020

Excellent introductory course for probability and Statistics, Dr. Abdey made the course very lively with his approach of teaching. Hope to see many more online courses from you in the future.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 351 revisiones para Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

por Darren W

10 de mar. de 2020

The contents of the course is so very intuitive to comprehend. not that it is an inherent trait of the subject matter, but it has been Dr. James Abdey who has made the teaching vivid and lively, filled with devised instances and examples which help students like myself to gain deeper insights into the related concepts. Moreover, the connections between the related concepts, statistical techniques and the real-world scenarios are presented more than successfully.

Though the course may have been designed as introductory and it might not be feasible to present the abstract part of the subject in greater detail given the duration, I would still like to suggest that more theoretical aspects of the subject be exposed if possible.

In general, I, as a newbie in probability and statistics, am very much benefited by the course. Thank you.

por Madhu N

30 de may. de 2020

For an introductory course in Probability & Statistics, this course ticks all the boxes. It introduces to majority of the concepts, of course without going too much into details. But this course ignites the curiosity to learn more in various fields, such as probability distributions, descriptive statistics concepts, decision tree, Monte Carlo simulation, etc. And finally, a big thanks to Dr. James Abdey for his efforts in delivering this course. He must be popular among his students in University of London.

por Richard S

14 de jun. de 2020

Very enjoyable course. Dr Abdey is an excellent lecturer, very engaging with humor to boot. Clearly very passionate about the subject. Especially liked that he tied course material to real world problems and related to current events (e.g. Brexit).

The written material made it possible to listen to the lectures more closely. Suggest learners do the reading prior to the lecturers. The assignments were very straightforward and useful to reinforce the lectures.

por Nadia S

29 de abr. de 2020

Dr. James Abdey has a great way of explaining new concepts, I found in most statistics courses lecturers assume that students know the basics, so I get lost quickly. But in this course, I could keep up as everything was explained clearly with supporting examples. I have to say in the first week I wasn't sure I am disliking probability and statistics any less. But by the second week, I started to see the light and enjoy the topics. Thank you Dr. Abdey.

por Stéphane D

22 de nov. de 2020

James Abdey is a great teacher!

I'd be interested in taking other classes from him in the future. A specialization for more detailed analysis (confidence intervals, degree of freedom,...)

I'm just disappointed with the quality of the quizzes (LaTeX codes). Some problems were already reported in the forum a year ago and nothing has changed. It would be useful to improve the quality proactively and take into account the remarks on the forum.

por Tarit G

4 de jul. de 2020

It was an excellent course. I have learned a lot in this course. This course covers basic ideas in probability and statistics and also helps to make a decision after calculating risk. This also covers Monte Carlo and decision tree and hypothesis testing. The instructor was so engaging that it seems like listening to stories. I am thankful to the instructor, the team who made this course available and the University of London.

por Deepsagar V

22 de ago. de 2020

Through out the course, I felt connected with the concepts and real lives example given by Dr.James Abdey. Indeed it was a great learning session which clarified so many doubts of statistics and probability. I very much understood the concept of uncertainty and how with the help of subject, we can try to predict . Thank you Coursera for this amazing experience. Looking forward for new courses.

por Manash C

21 de jun. de 2020

Dr James Abdey is not only a superb statistics instructor but a passionate story teller in the field of Statistics.

Professor, you just rekindled my interest to continue my exploration of this subject further. I would look forward to more courses done by you on this MOOC platform and elsewhere. It was lovely to be your online student through these 6 weeks.

Thank you so much once again!!

por Edi W

28 de sep. de 2020

The explaination on first 5 chapter is great and enough for newbie or intermediate person who wants to learn data science (probability and statistics). However, the last chapter (6) is just quick through and just to allow you get some new knowledge aside basic probability and statistics,

Still, for a quick refresher or first time learner, this course is better than my uni's course.

por Alex C

29 de jun. de 2020

This was a really nice course, bringing in simple analogies from the real world of finance or legal to highlight points. I found this very interesting rather than a dull pure math perspective. It kept my interest. The lecturer was also very engaging and enthusiastic. I would happily do another course if it was offered in applied p or not p :-) Or deeper in the current topic.

por Kim R

15 de jul. de 2020

This is a gentle and accurate introduction to descriptive and inferential statistics. AP Statistics students would be well served by working through the course prior to their AP Stats course. It will provide participants with the basics of working with statistics in real world settings, while allowing them to dabble in some numerical analysis of data. Excellent course!

por Krishnendu S

5 de jun. de 2020

The course is very well designed and the passion of Dr Abdey about the subject and teaching really inspiring. The class notes are also very handy. I must recommendation course to take before starting the journey in the world of statistics. Thank you Coursera and the University of London and obviously Dr Abdey for designing such a course with so much minute details.

por ASHWINI D

21 de may. de 2020

One of the best online courses in the field of Probabilities for the beginners and the module leader relates mathematical concepts to real world examples which makes learners easy to to understand and the course very interesting. I STARTED THE COURSE A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO AND IT WAS ADDICTIVE TILL I COMPLETED IT. Thanks to Dr. James Abdey and Coursera!

por Isha S

5 de jun. de 2020

This is a wonderful course for anyone trying understand and quantify the complexity of this world. No prior knowledge is required, study material is to-the-point and informative and awesome explanations have been provided in the video lectures. Dr. Abdey is a really great professor and you would absolutely not regret enrolling in this course!

por 朱子韬

8 de jul. de 2020

I was a "blind guy" of probability & statistics, and when I retake the test of the fifth week, someone said to me: you cannot just like copy from the references, it's not even helps you learning a lot, and you should do it from your own. I wondered that this is like cheating and it's pretty correct. He is a teacher during the life. Thanks!

por àAbutu A S

5 de nov. de 2020

Every single session/ week was knowledge packed. Thanks to Coursera for this wonderful opportunity of exposing me to the world of probability and statistics. Now am eager to learn more. Course content very apt, the instructor was simply awesome. I look forward to learning more on this platform. Also thanks to my school for the exposure.

por Rudolph S

30 de jul. de 2020

Excellent course with a diversity of examples to aid in understanding. The instructor makes it even more intriguing with how he delivers the content. I would definitely recommend the course to anyone who wants to start up a journey in the quantitative field or anyone who needs a refresher on probability and statistics. Big thumbs up!!

por Vijay C P

12 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course related to Introduction to the world of Probability and Statistics. The module leader Dr. James Abdey has handled the course very well and created a lot of interest in me to take up further courses related to Probability and statics. Thanks a lot Dr.James Abdey for your valuable inputs and excellent course delivery.

por Michael M

6 de may. de 2020

Very well presented course! This is a complicated subject and Dr. Abdey does a very good job of keeping it high level enough to not get completely bogged down in the math theory while at the same time not glossing over its importance. This has myriad applications in today's world and I'm quite happy I chose to take this course.

por Shay H

29 de ago. de 2020

This is a really great, well-explained course for those who need a refresher or even have never taken probability courses before. Dr. Abdey is one of the best instructors I've experienced so far on Coursera. Although similar in nature, I took this one and "An Intuitive Introduction to Probability" another top-notch course.

por Jia S C

12 de abr. de 2020

Possibly one of the best courses I've taken in Coursera. I usually don't leave reviews but I wanted to commend Dr James Abdey. He is an excellent presenter and explains the concepts and theory of probability and statistics in a clear and simple way that most people could understand, giving examples along the way as well.

por HANEESH K M

26 de abr. de 2020

This course gives fundamental concepts about probability and statistics in a simple way. The professor explained the concepts using practical examples. The complex equations in the probability are avoided while explaining the concepts, that's a good thing for the beginners to get interested in the subject

por Rodrigo M

19 de jul. de 2020

Currently I’m working in getting a micro master of Data Science in the MIT and I decided to use others courses to reinforce my learning. I really liked this course because it teaches you the basics in a easy explanatory way. A good overview to check before getting deeper in a specific topic.

por Jaime V E S

8 de mar. de 2020

Great overview of the subject. Great Price. Great content. Great instructor. But the written content is a bit repetitive (It has very similar information to what was on the videos); I think more in deep explanations, o at least different examples to those in the videos would´ve been better.

por MASROAF S S

2 de sep. de 2020

This course is for those who want to refresh their concepts on basic statistics (both inferential and descriptive). The course lectures are well delivered and Professor James Abdey covers the course material with a very good explanation of each topic. The farewell class is awesome.