Chevron Left
Volver a Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.5
stars
185 calificaciones
51 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Principales revisiones

AS

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,\n\nThe course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

S

Dec 15, 2019

It has been an enlightening course and has taught me that in order to make appropriate decisions in life, which is full of uncertainties, probability comes in handy.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 50 revisiones para Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

por Ravikumar S

Nov 02, 2018

it was a nice learning experience, with a very step-by-step approach

por Geeti P M

Jul 19, 2019

It was a great experience learning from Sir Abdey!

por Madhav C

Sep 07, 2019

wonderful course and the tutor!!

por José L

Jun 06, 2019

Easy to follow to your own time

por DM

Jan 14, 2020

Very clear and useful

por Leonardo B

Nov 21, 2018

It's a great course.

por Haoming L

Dec 25, 2019

Really great course

por Omkar A P

Oct 02, 2019

very nice course..

por Georgios P

Sep 03, 2018

Very good primer!

por BogdanC

Nov 15, 2019

great course

por ruixi z

Dec 18, 2018

Great

por Grigory S

Nov 08, 2018

The first course I've paid for to get a certificate.

For me it's VERY hard to understand any theoretical math-related concept from video-lectures. I need to read paper for it and there are paper for every video in this course.

I am very thankful about it but the main purpose of video is missed: VISUALISATION very important in teaching math concepts especially such practival one as statistics. I wish there'd be more videos with lovely visialusation of sample data and it's statisitcs to get students a general feeling of what all this 'boring' calculations looks like.

I also understand that one course is not enough to have good knowlegde of statistics and read books while completing this.

por david w

Mar 19, 2019

The course material was top notch I learned a lot. It was an excellent crash course, and beautifully explained. I took off a star because the failure of the grading system in Assignment #2 / Week 5 cost me a lot of time, and likely affected many of my peers as well. That type of technical glitch is unacceptable in MOOC, particularly because there doesn't seem to be anyone around to support the students. Thanks for resolving it, though, whoever you are!

por Jordi a

Nov 26, 2018

Basic introduction to the world of statistics, well structured and supplied with reading materials. Quite elementary, I'd say at most it's a HS/pre-college level overview of different fields and concepts. The lecturer conveys a strong appreciation for the subject. Recommended for those who want a first approximation to the subject.

por Giovanni B

May 23, 2019

Very interesting course, well explained, I found the material useful. The reason I do not give 5 stars is that I found the course somewhat slow, it took a long time to explain certain concepts, and not broad enough, concentrating on a few very specific areas of probability and statistics.

por Olivera M

Jun 12, 2019

I really liked the course, I would just say that this is for complete and absolute beginners who haven't had any interactions with statistics and that it wont leave you with a lot of practical knowledge, more of a broad idea of what statistics could do for you.

por Weichi C

Jan 31, 2019

The concept is well presented with the assumption that further research and dedication needed is required to get to next level.

por Guillermo K

Oct 18, 2018

Great overview, it could have used more practice problems and tougher questions

por Eyob

Nov 06, 2018

funny charming and full of numbers

por Ritesh R

Jun 09, 2019

God course for beginners level.

por Mayur P K

Sep 10, 2018

Great Course.

por Daniel D

May 09, 2019

Nice overall introduction to statistics, but suffers from bad grading mecanism when perofrming peer graded assignments.

por Rodney M

Mar 10, 2019

Horrible.

Too much talking or woffling as i came to call it. Dumbed down too much. We know what a toolbox is. Don't give us an example of how a toolbox is used. This is just an example of the level of stupidity you must assume your students have.

Week 1 was a waste of time and weeks 2 and three could have been summed up in a 10 minute video.

You skipped over probability and straight into statistics without mentioning any of the useful things of probability like the laws of probability. Communicative, Distributive etc.

I've learnt almost nothing from this. Will not recommend at all. Not useful at all.

por Cor v H

Nov 05, 2018

Flawed assessment system. Superficial.