Chevron Left
Volver a Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.5
estrellas
4,096 calificaciones
703 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Principales reseñas

KG
5 de sep. de 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

NJ
24 de jun. de 2020

The Training course was very attractive and valuable for implementation of the knowledge gain for solving of different problem faced in official works as well as personal responsibilities.

Filtrar por:

651 - 675 de 698 revisiones para Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

por Ms. F K

30 de jul. de 2020

It was of very basic level

por Khaled J A

27 de dic. de 2017

good course for beginners

por Ahsan R

23 de ago. de 2020

A good course overall.

por Doris W

28 de feb. de 2017

Very b

por Rayhanul H R

2 de jul. de 2020

Great

por Francis X

19 de jul. de 2017

G

por Dominik B

27 de jul. de 2018

This course is only an overview into the topic. I was looking forward to boosting my decision-making skills but learning about some basic techniques and types of graphs is not enough for me. This course is scratching only the surface of the topic.

What I appreciate are the real-life situation examples and their solutions. These were the most positive aspects of the course.

Professor isn't as boring as the most reviewers state, but occasionally I had an impression that he hadn't had the speech prepared and made examples or statements by his own. Or he was just reading the slides sometimes, which seems like a waste of time to me.

The assignments were too easy, only theoretical stuff. It would be really great if any real life situations were stated in the assignment and the task of the student would be to select the best action to take.

As someone already mentioned, this course probably didn't affect my skills much, but it will look fine in any resumé.

por Alan

24 de ago. de 2015

Doesn't go much further then common sense. Introduces terms for concepts you probably know, just didn't know it's a concept. The lecturer is terrible. His stories, or i guess metaphors that are supposed to help you understand and remember things are aweful. He takes way too long to get the point across.

Some helpful things are mentioned. Gives you the ability to distiguish problem solving methods, so you may use them as required.

Nonetheless, mostly wasted my time watching this.

por Paulo J M d S

28 de ago. de 2015

In my point of view the course overall is a bit superficial (even though the decision-making part was very interesting indeed). More importantly, the course lacks one of the richest tools in MOOCS: peer interactions - people voicing their opinions and sharing experiences.

Besides that: some of the questions in the quiz looked very ambiguous and there are some editing mistakes in the videos.

por Stephen R

14 de oct. de 2015

The course really isn't that useful for day to day management decision making. It might be more useful for those who look solely at long term data and make choices "at a distance" so to speak. Very heavy focus on charts and graphs....so there's a lot to it but very little you can sink your teeth into unless you have a very specific type of management in mind.

por Donata G

10 de nov. de 2015

The course material was quite boring. I have gained some theoretical knowledge about problem solving and decision making techniques, but we weren't given enough practical examples on how we should apply these techniques at work. I wish the lecturer had t suggested additional material on the topic.

por Dannie L T Y

5 de jun. de 2020

The course was very basic and theoretical. Rob Stone's lecture is monotonous and not animated, making the whole course very boring. Examples are not relatable. I am thinking twice now if I should take the rest of his courses in the specialization. Sorry, Rob this is what I feel.

por gulwish

30 de abr. de 2020

By taking this course i realized how easy it can be to manage and solve such huge

problems by using such tools

but i would say that u must be good at statistics because then it will become more beneficial to you

por Simone F

13 de abr. de 2020

I found the course too much linked to theory. As an engineer I found concepts too elementary. I would suggest to implement also some use case on how to apply these methods in order to help people realize concepts.

por Oralbek S

22 de ago. de 2020

There is no option to discuss something. For example, I don't know how to use histograms. Can you please elaborate on that a bit more? Please provide some vivid examples of how to use it in real life.

por Jose A N

28 de mar. de 2017

very basic, tool based solutions, no real content behind.

Usually these courses are about learning and being mentally challenged not getting a toolbox.

por Rafael J G

30 de jul. de 2020

superficial, covering only a few topics, with simple and long explanition. It has everything to be good, but at the end is a kind of wasting time

por Shubham m

22 de jun. de 2020

This course wasn't up to the standard I expected it to be after attending other high-quality courses on the same platform I'm disappointed.

por Sandeep

11 de abr. de 2020

Some of the material and case-studies were very basic.

More real-life examples would help in strengthening the points presented

por Frederic B

17 de abr. de 2020

I would recommend it for a first introduction to problem solving. But not for experienced professional. It is very theoretic.

por Mangesh L

6 de oct. de 2015

Theoretically good course, could have been made more interesting by including more examples or cae studies.

por Nikita P

30 de sep. de 2017

Too simplistic. Just provides a few common sense methods of making decision, nothing more.

por Laya I

25 de feb. de 2017

this course needs much more evidences and examples to support the valuable information.

por Ahmed M R

9 de ene. de 2017

the course is theoretical, it would be better with more examples and case studies.

por Mohamed Y

16 de feb. de 2016

The course is well organized but I don't think it covered all the basics.