Chevron Left
Volver a Programming Languages, Part C

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Programming Languages, Part C por parte de Universidad de Washington

4.9
estrellas
388 calificaciones
83 reseña

Acerca del Curso

[As described below, this is Part C of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Parts A and B first -- Part C "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A and Part B.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Principales reseñas

SS
7 de ene. de 2019

Great course, nicely rounded off the discussions from previous parts. Really puts OOP style programming in context and nicely contrasts it from the functional programming concepts. Highly recommended!

AH
28 de nov. de 2020

Very Challenging course but worth it at all the explanation in the three parts helps you a lot I recommend it for every one wanting to approach better to different programming languages.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 82 revisiones para Programming Languages, Part C

por Jimmy C C

16 de mar. de 2020

I watch the video lectures as supplements for a course I am taking at my university, which happens to be based on this course. I feel compelled to say that this is one of the best courses I have ever taken and Dan Grossman is the best instructor I have ever had.

por Joshua H

10 de feb. de 2017

As far as I know this is the best series of courses that covers the major programming paradigms and the most valuable idioms that emerge from the different traits of these paradigms. I strongly recommend it to everyone studying computer science!

por Shaohao Z

19 de ene. de 2017

It really took quite a lot effort to accomplish the course and I'm sure that I am having a much clearer mind towards different programming language, which is impossible without this course.

So thank you for bringing us this wonderful course, Dan!

por Abhik K

18 de oct. de 2016

Perhaps the best course i have completed on Coursera. I aboslutely love Dan Grossman's teaching approach. I can only applaud the care and effort that has gone into designing this. I would eagerly join any course that Dan teaches in future

por Xiangyu G

27 de jul. de 2017

Clear and refreshing. Especially the part comparing OOP with FP. They way to compare subtyping and generics is also novel. I have been writing OOP and FP programs for years but haven't look at them from such a point of view.

por Rongge Y

27 de ene. de 2018

Very passionate instructor and very rich and well-organized content. Great to learn and reflect on some novel concepts like double dispatch and sub typing; it's really enlightening. Great course experience. Thank you Dan!

por Zijiao Y

25 de may. de 2017

I would say I got the exact the same reason as Dan for choosing computer science to be a huge part of my life: The true Awe-inspiring thing! And this is literally the best course I have ever take for the past 20 years

por jon p

1 de ene. de 2021

Really enjoyed the course and learned a lot of good information. It was organized and presented very well. Seeing other implementations in the peer reviews was interesting. Thanks for putting this all together!

por Andres H

29 de nov. de 2020

Very Challenging course but worth it at all the explanation in the three parts helps you a lot I recommend it for every one wanting to approach better to different programming languages.

por Jan H

27 de dic. de 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

por Shreck Y

8 de ene. de 2021

Excellent course that introduced me to the field of programming languages. I can now see many OOP programs and languages from the functional perspective and simplify a lot of problems.

por Peilun D

21 de ene. de 2020

Best MOOC taken so far! Learnt a lot about programming languages and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more and understand deeper about programming language in general.

por Nelson V

14 de sep. de 2017

One of the best courses of my career. This was truly programming languages. You'll look at your programs, in any language you use, in a whole different way! Highly recommended!

por Ahmed E

13 de jul. de 2020

It was an incredible journey, have learnt from it a lot of things, Prof. Dan was spectacular, his way of delivering difficult concepts in an easy way is very very good.

por Abdullah E M S E

2 de oct. de 2020

Great course that teaches you a lot about different programming paradigms and concepts. Gives you in depth understanding of how programming languages work

por Guo F

2 de dic. de 2019

Last Part of the course. A fantastic learning experience. Thank you Dan and other folks participating in the creation of this course, for the great work!

por Sorin J

20 de ago. de 2020

Outstanding! Even if this part of the course is primarily focused on Ruby and OOP, there is a lot in it to learn even for experienced programmers.

por Sonia R A

7 de sep. de 2020

It is a very challenging but rewarding course. Dan is a great teacher, he engages you in learning and makes it much more fun. I enjoyed a lot.

por Wei J

19 de ene. de 2017

Really helpful for understanding a lot of programming concept. Very wonderful experience. Thanks to Dan and Coursera!

por Luiz C

17 de dic. de 2018

in my top 3 course on Coursera Platform. A must for anyone interested in Programming, beginner to experienced

por Yifeng M

17 de jul. de 2017

The course series covered a broad range of knowledge. And the material are presented with great details.

por Luis G

20 de ene. de 2020

Extremely recommended course. Really appreciate all the effort put into it by all people involved.

por Matias A

1 de feb. de 2020

Wonderful course, perfectly taught, well put together, Professor Dan Grossman is awesome.

por Jing Y

13 de ene. de 2018

Interesting course, covers many interesting topics. Homework is a must-do but not hard.

por Brunno d S L

22 de oct. de 2016

This course is awesome, I think all developer should take a look at this!