Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Prostate Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Prostate Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.7
151 calificaciones
36 Revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Understanding Prostate Cancer. My name is Ken Pienta, Professor of Urology and Oncology at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. I have been studying prostate cancer and treating patients with prostate cancer for over 25 years. Over 1,000,000 men worldwide and 230,000 men in the United States are diagnosed with prostate cancer every year. Three hundred thousand men worldwide and 30,000 men in the US are dying from prostate cancer every year. As people live longer, the incidence of prostate cancer is rising worldwide and prostate cancer continues to be a major health problem. Thanks to years of dedication and commitment to research we’ve made enormous advances in the treatment of prostate cancer, But there is still a lot of work to be done. In this Understanding Prostate Cancer course, I will provide an introduction to the biology of prostate cancer as well as how it is identified and treated at various stages of the disease. I've put together this course in order to introduce you to the essentials of prostate cancer. By the time you finish this course you'll be able to  Define risk factors for prostate cancer  Understand current prostate cancer screening guidelines  Understand prostate cancer staging  Understand treatments for localized prostate cancer  Understand treatments for advanced prostate cancer  Understand treatments to alleviate the symptoms caused by prostate cancer This Understanding Prostate Cancer Course should be helpful to anyone who wants to develop a deeper understanding of prostate cancer biology and treatment. It should be useful to students who are interested in a deeper understanding of the science of cancer. It should also be helpful to health care providers, data managers, and educators who wish to develop a better understanding of prostate cancer and how it affects individuals. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance. For those of you who might be thinking about a career in cancer research or patient care, I hope this course will inspire you to pursue that path! The course is divided into five modules organized to facilitate learning. I'm glad that you decided to join this course. I hope that you will develop a basic understanding of prostate cancer. I hope that it will help you in whatever field you work. If you are a student, I hope that what you learn here will help you begin a career in cancer biology research and contribute to the worldwide effort to save lives....

Principales revisiones

LK

May 15, 2018

A good course. The short video format with plenty of review questions is very helpful. More review questions, trickier review questions, and good glossaries might help make the course even better.

AB

Nov 26, 2018

Great course, It help us to get a better understanding of prostate cancer. He gave simple yet good explanation about the treatment options and advantages or disadvantages of each treatment

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 37 revisiones para Understanding Prostate Cancer

By Methun P

Jun 13, 2019

I lernt so many thung frm this course.

By Elene M

May 11, 2019

concise and up to date information ,very well delineated courses .

By Sze T A L

May 01, 2019

Very useful course! Thank you so much.

By Ismail n

Apr 20, 2019

Great course, very clear, and the professor is very passionate

By Roberta A

Apr 08, 2019

Great course! The lectures are clear and well planned. However, TNM staging needs to be updated as the 8th is in use now.

By Renelus P

Mar 05, 2019

This course was very informative. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in health care issues.

Thank you very much for offering this class!

By Antonio f

Feb 14, 2019

EXCELENTE CURSO

By Rodrigo G G

Feb 11, 2019

Es un buen curso. Las clases son cortas, lo que lo hace fácil de entender y poco tedioso.

Me gustaría que profundizaran más en el tratamiento quirúrgico.

By Luis H S A

Feb 02, 2019

un excelente curso

By Richard K

Jan 10, 2019

The course should not require paying to complete the graded quizzes.

By Ario B

Nov 26, 2018

Great course, It help us to get a better understanding of prostate cancer. He gave simple yet good explanation about the treatment options and advantages or disadvantages of each treatment

By Sharon M

Oct 27, 2018

I have a cousin with prostate cancer and it good to know what is store for me.

By Rashed R

Aug 30, 2018

Nice course for understanding about prostate cancer

By Gregory S

Aug 01, 2018

Excellent overview. Pace was perfect. All terms/acronyms/abbreviations were spelled out. Dr. Pienta seemed to speak from a tremendous amount of knowledge and experience and was still able to distill the fundamentals down into concepts that were easy to understand. I work in Regulatory Affairs for a pharmaceutical company. This course gave me an excellent base understanding for an important disease in my company's drug portfolio. Thank you.

By fatemeh h

Jul 11, 2018

It was amazing and too short.id like to know more or watch some surgical videos.thank you .

By Gerda S

Jun 05, 2018

It is very advisable to take all 3 courses of Prof. Pienta. It is very good to understand and helpful if you

By Julian A G R

May 17, 2018

I HAVE NEVER TRIED A ONLINE-COURSE BEFORE AND I THINK IT IS A GREAT TOOL TO BE BETTER AND UPDATED.

By Levon K

May 15, 2018

A good course. The short video format with plenty of review questions is very helpful. More review questions, trickier review questions, and good glossaries might help make the course even better.

By Racha A

Apr 01, 2018

i wanted to do the quizes but i'm forced to buy the course to submit my answers it's not fair

By Karishma K

Feb 18, 2018

An amazing course. It is very informative, interesting and the videos are short enough that you can split up the information easily and don't lose focus. A very well structured course.

By Robert J

Feb 12, 2018

A variety of information on cancer, including the biology of cancer, hallmarks of cancer, risk factors, screening controversies, PSA analysis, staging PCa, microscopic architecture analysis of the prostate, roles of radiation and surgery, hormone therapy, etc

By Katherine C

Feb 05, 2018

GOOD

By Roberto P

Dec 12, 2017

Amazing course!

By Cynthia M

Nov 17, 2017

Excellent course - the content and presentation are tops! Thank you for offering this course.

By ِِAli M

Nov 08, 2017

Great Work, I recommend it for anyone who is non-physician that will study or research on the prostate cancer. it is simplifying many clinical facts about prostate cancer.