Chevron Left
Volver a Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.6
528 calificaciones
144 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Principales revisiones

VA

May 03, 2019

This was an excellent introduction. I wish there could have been a greater opportunity for personal engagement with faculty, but I understand the platform makes it very difficult.

AJ

Nov 26, 2016

I loved the focus of this course, its future orientation and the way debates around an issue were discussed in-depth and very well in limited time. Loved It! Highly Recommend it!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 144 revisiones para Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

por Kasturi R G

Apr 29, 2019

It was a great course and I enjoyed the first brush of class room session on Public Policy domain. Clearly the highlight of this course was the diverse port folio of imminent speakers who brought their knowledge, wisdom and expertise to the interactive table. I'm a middle aged professional in India, who is recently involved in professional advocacy through Private and Govt. Sectors. The content and topics covered in the course are very appropriate and encompasses geographical diversities, albeit needs to be upgraded to the current challenges as the world has progressed considerably in last 5 years quite drastically. I wish to thank the Frank Batten University and Professor Gerry Warburg for the relevant and smartly designed course.

por Zandro G R

Mar 26, 2019

This is the first course I have completed on Coursera. Its very engaging approach to distance education, made more accessible with its course design and approach, and the self-paced modules all contributed to my success throughout the coursework. Professor Warburg and his distinguished resource persons imparted wisdom and insights that will guide me in my further venture into public policy learning and practice.

por Namroz B

Jan 14, 2017

The course provides you with an excellent platform to learn & understand the public policy challenges. You will be able to listen the opinion of experts from political and social sphere to discuss public policy issues & challenges; how decisions are reached and consensus is developed. If you are interested in understanding the diverse set of public policy areas including, inter-alia, US Affordable Care Act, US China relationship, the role of media and government, data privacy in the information age etc. You must, therefore, allow yourself to review this course. You will also allow yourself to understand the unique perspective that Professor Gerry Warburg brings in when he engages the experts in involved yet pragmatic deliberations with regard to various issues.

por Shivangi M

Sep 15, 2015

It is very US oriented, Which is not necessarily a negative aspect, but please mention that in the course structure more clearly. Although Professor Warburg is very inspiring, the optimistic attitude towards policy leaders is what I think is needed for the younger generation who get sidelined by politics and not policy. It was quite rewarding. Thankyou.

por Jonathan L S

Jun 24, 2019

This was an excellent course from start to finish! Highly recommended!

por Edvaldo E S J

Jun 14, 2019

It was very important to me having the opportunity to expand my visions about the needed changes of the Political Science area, in an international perspective. I think it would be also more incredible if we have talked in a less United States perspective and started to focus, furthermore, in some other different countries and realities. However, I'm really happy because I had the chance to listen and learn about some (new) issues of the 21st century!

por Muhammad S S

May 17, 2019

Three weeks in and I am loving the course.

por Vivek A

May 03, 2019

This was an excellent introduction. I wish there could have been a greater opportunity for personal engagement with faculty, but I understand the platform makes it very difficult.

por Nandan K T

Apr 10, 2019

Wonderful design of a course. I appreciate it.

por Martin K M

Apr 08, 2019

The zeal to learn not only to question the assumptions of policy analysts, but also to recognize how different kinds of analysis are used in support of political arguments. The pop up questions encouraged critical and creative thinking on many issues facing the world. Much this is tailored to mostly USA with a bias of China and India, i have found that the course has put me into good stead to question one or two things back home in Uganda.

por rachelelel

Mar 30, 2019

This is an excellent course for beginners to step into public policy and develop the knowledge on some current issues and future missions.

por Ankur S

Mar 23, 2019

It's a good course but as the discussions are centered around the USA, it might not be that relevant to students from other countries.

por Izuchukwu M O

Mar 13, 2019

Super amazing learnings that can be related to a wide spectrum of settings, including mine. Thanks a lot the UV for making this happen!

por Sunkung D

Feb 22, 2019

i like the approach by professor

por Apoorva A K

Feb 09, 2019

Best Public Policy course I have come across!! Wonderful teaching and discussions. Very informative and educative. even the quiz seemed to be challenging. definitely must take for everyone wanting to pursue a career/education in public sphere anywhere around the world

por Duncan E O O

Feb 01, 2019

What a great kick off! So far so good

por Muhammad Z I M

Jan 23, 2019

That was tremendous course i meet ever!

por Camila A

Jan 04, 2019

This course posed some very interesting questions about the challenges ahead of us. The variety of experienced guest speakers made it very enriching, and, despite it being very U.S.-oriented, I believe powerful lessons can be learned for those of us in other countries.

por jared B

Oct 20, 2018

This course was extremely interesting and I am glad that the Frank Batten School of Public Policy and Leadership decided to have this course open to the general public.

por Seyed M H G

Oct 18, 2018

The course concentrate on american public policy. It could be wider regarding the topic "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century.

por Kyle H

Sep 01, 2018

Great course, but just like one of the key themes of the course shows, the rapid pace of change requires it be updated more often. Taking a course filmed in 2014 in 2018 is like a lifetime of difference.

por Kamal S

Aug 21, 2018

Very interesting course...

por Khaled N

Aug 13, 2018

Great Course. Would be positive if more international related material/ examples are included.

por Sahana J

Aug 06, 2018

Very U.S centric. Would be good to have a global perspective

por Racquel W

Jun 06, 2018

Very useful course to get a baseline knowledge of sustainable development and the key content areas in this field