Chevron Left
Volver a Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.7
estrellas
1,173 calificaciones
308 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Principales reseñas

TA
26 de sep. de 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
23 de abr. de 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 306 revisiones para Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

por Ng M Q

12 de feb. de 2017

This course has been enlightening and enriching for me in terms of how governance works in America. The issues raised can be applicable to many other countries in the world. However, this is not the course for you if you are looking for theoretical and analytical skills as this course is structured around sharings and exchanges with public figures about the current and future agenda of the US. (This is just my personal opinion and others may disagree me with me on certain aspects.)

por Edvaldo E S J

14 de jun. de 2019

It was very important to me having the opportunity to expand my visions about the needed changes of the Political Science area, in an international perspective. I think it would be also more incredible if we have talked in a less United States perspective and started to focus, furthermore, in some other different countries and realities. However, I'm really happy because I had the chance to listen and learn about some (new) issues of the 21st century!

por Tejaswi P

14 de sep. de 2020

While this course is focuses heavily on the American polity, countries no longer exist as isolated entities. The plethora of challenges faced by young Americans are also faced by young decision makers around the world. Though the course does not offer policy solutions to multiple challenges, it does successfully problematise these challenges only to make us use our critical thinking faculties and emerge with creative and better solutions.

por mathias b

19 de ago. de 2016

The content is well modularized, introduces a range of topic, but is much more of a discourse than an introduction to to process of evaluating a policy challenge. Not many tactical ideas, mostly a survey of the policy challenges that a new generation of policy-makers and new stakeholders will face. So the focus is not on "how" but it introduces Public Policy as a concept in a nice discursive way worthy of your time.

por Amelia B

30 de sep. de 2019

This course was a respectable introduction to basic public policy challenges facing democracies today, and the language and government structures stakeholders need to understand to tackle those challenges. However, as of 2019 much has changed in American and global politics that render some of these lessons either irrelevant or incomplete. So it is very much overdue for an update in the material.

por Sherna J A B

17 de may. de 2018

This course was informative and allowed the participant to look at many areas in public policy. And made for great discussion with peers to broaden ones knowledge base and ways of thinking when it comes to looking at issues for the 21st Century. How would those issues be addressed? Who will address them? And how to avoid Slacktivisim. This is a well put together course.

por ANN C T

19 de jun. de 2020

The course was a marvellous, insightful journey that helps one shape thought process in devising public policy suggestions. The policy field luminaries whose talks were practical and relatable enriched the authenticity of the teachings.

A small suggestion would be that concise reading materials if provided could add to the understanding of the topics discussed.

por Michael M

24 de sep. de 2015

I thought it was a great course. It really prompted me to consider the different aspects of the political landscape and how it will look drastically different in the coming years as my generation enters into the field. I recommend this course as a good starting ground for those wanting to gain more perspective for those considering the public service route.

por May D

31 de may. de 2017

Really inspiring, and a great collections of speakers. All of the challenges covered in class are relevant and will be remain relevant for a long time (that's the point of the class), but the lectures are from 2013 or maybe 2014, so I would love to take an updated version of this class with current perspectives. I really enjoyed this class!

por Lucas d A F C

4 de ago. de 2020

While i feel the course is very U.S. oriented, I believe it has a lot to teach policymakers and students from around the world, specially in respect to what challenges future leaders will face and how to tackle those issues by understanding their causes and consequences, and learning to reach compromises with opposite parties.

por Pramod T J

1 de jun. de 2020

I believe the course could have looked into more transitional topics and brought in similar policy skills for other forms of government as well. The breakdown of the Affordable Care Act and the proposal for the war powers Act were both illuminating. The Media perspective, although slightly uncommon, was very much appreciated.

por David S

19 de dic. de 2020

The content, materials, and lectures captured here are incredible. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It is, however, shockingly outdated at this point in time considering our political situation in America. It's hard to listen to some of this material and not question the lack of relevance to our current situation.

por Ankita W

20 de may. de 2020

It's a good course for beginners and those who want to understand Public policy. However, it would be great if the current course is updated to the latest sessions, because the lectures are at least 5 years old and the world has changed quite a bit since then. Updated policy challenges would be really helpful.

por José A G G

30 de ago. de 2020

Very good course. And it makes me think that part of the expectations of the invited speakers, and those from prof. Warburg, hasn't happened yet. Much to the contrary, it seems that many problems pointed were exacerbated. I would gladly attend an updated version of the course. Thanks!

por Ankur G

10 de may. de 2017

A very good introduction to Public Policy Challenges and related debates. Also a great way to get a snapshot of what plagues America, why America reacts the way it does and how the America of the future might react and shape the rest of the world.

por Smriti S

15 de jul. de 2020

Updating the content of some of the modules with additional reading material would be beneficial given how much the governance structures have altered since 2014 (when the course content was first created). Thank you for this enriching course!

por Madan P P

26 de jun. de 2020

A well-formatted course to know about the public policy of the contemporary USA and its challenges. It is mainly focused on USA policies. However, it is highly beneficial to all who are working in policy area.

por Kyle H

31 de ago. de 2018

Great course, but just like one of the key themes of the course shows, the rapid pace of change requires it be updated more often. Taking a course filmed in 2014 in 2018 is like a lifetime of difference.

por Senyo A

2 de nov. de 2020

For anyone who wants to really influence the policies that their governments offers them, this course to me, is the go-to starting point for an overview of what public policy entails.

por Krishaan K

1 de dic. de 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed and benefitted from this course, however, I also feel there was too much of an emphasis on U.S Policy. It is understandable, but other than that, it was great!

por Faith C K

29 de sep. de 2020

Succinct, engaging. The scope should have been a bit more universal for the various Coursera students around the world. but it allows for a good grasp on 21st century challenges.

por Ryan T

14 de jul. de 2020

Highly interactive class. The guest lecturers have extensive experience and highlight so much information from the past and into the future. I highly recommend this course.

por Shantanu P

22 de sep. de 2015

Helped me understand the key challenges to Public Policy, albeit to the US.

However, many of the challenges are global and also impact the developing nations of Asia.

por Alexander S

9 de feb. de 2016

Very much enjoyed the course and the discussions (particularly on healthcare policy). However, the title should reflect that the course is entirely US-centric.

por Carrie D

3 de may. de 2018

Enjoyed the lectures but could not figure out how to engage with the other students...

Also, the class was a few years old so issues had obviously changed.