Chevron Left
Volver a Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.7
estrellas
1,171 calificaciones
308 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Principales reseñas

TA
26 de sep. de 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
23 de abr. de 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filtrar por:

276 - 300 de 305 revisiones para Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

por Patrick L

19 de feb. de 2016

A very interesting course with great speakers.

por mahmood B

14 de sep. de 2015

Interesting course, exceeded my expectation

por Vipul G

2 de mar. de 2018

Could have been more exhaustive.

por Holly C

20 de jul. de 2020

Interesting but very US-centric

por Sushant S

30 de may. de 2020

wonderfull full course

por Karen M B

15 de nov. de 2015

Engaging information!

por Ventez D J

15 de feb. de 2016

Great discussions!

por Tin Z P

25 de sep. de 2020

Thank you for all

por HARSHITA M

17 de jun. de 2020

good

por Manoj K S

16 de dic. de 2019

good

por Sjoerd K

21 de dic. de 2015

Interesting lecture series. The lectures are largely America centered with courses on presidential war powers, the functioning of governors. In this lectures the main focus is rather politics than policy. Although very interesting, the lecture series does not really live up to its title.

por Philip B

4 de may. de 2020

The course content was good, as well as the choice of speakers. However, the course itself is a bit dated in regards to current political evolutions (Trump election 2016 and its impact on the US positioning in the world, evolutions in the relationship between the US and China).

por Shant B

24 de may. de 2020

The course could have used more interactive elements, such as asking online students to answer some of the long-form questions that the in-class students seem to have been asked. (Though I understand that this is not always reasonable to grade)

por Eena V

9 de sep. de 2016

While U.S. politics is important for many other disciplines, this course didn't have that much depth in my opinion to really be applicable on demands of international student and point of view. Still, very interesting lectures and good talks.

por RAJ S

14 de abr. de 2020

This course touches eclectic aspects of public policy. My primary are of interest is health policy and I am happy with the kind of discussion flowing in that domain. Though much can be improved, from content delivery to suggested readings.

por Alix B

19 de oct. de 2016

There were some great lectures included in this course, but the emphasis on the content we were not receiving was a bit disheartening. I would have loved to view more of the controversial lectures that were referenced in the wrap-up.

por Pratyush K P

1 de jun. de 2020

The speakers were great. I learn a lot from the course. But issues were more america centric. It would have bee better if the course would have a global perspective. Thank You.

por Mustafa A

6 de sep. de 2019

the subjects has a lot of good of terms and information, however, I am not form US and many things are not related to my country interest. thank you

por Ankur S

23 de mar. de 2019

It's a good course but as the discussions are centered around the USA, it might not be that relevant to students from other countries.

por Angelo A W

12 de ene. de 2021

This is good. But some parts might need an update given the political and economic landscape that is ever changing.

por Donovon K

9 de jun. de 2017

Interesting introduction to United States public policy. I wish though that it was more academically rigorous!

por Nabaraj G

6 de ago. de 2020

Exciting discourse on 21st century Public policy challenges.

por Sahana J

6 de ago. de 2018

Very U.S centric. Would be good to have a global perspective

por Neha S

24 de may. de 2020

A few more lectures please...want to learn more

por Nina F

27 de oct. de 2020

Material was not up-to-date.