Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Public Speaking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Public Speaking por parte de Universidad de Washington

4.8
estrellas
1,449 calificaciones
487 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course gives you a reliable model for preparing and delivering effective presentations. In business, in school, and in public life, we are often called upon to “make a few comments.” Often, people tasked with such speeches become flummoxed. They might not know what to talk about, or ramble without making a point, or simply be confusing to listen to. This course is designed to help you shine where others falter. We’ll learn how organize talks clearly, write them memorably, and deliver them confidently. By the end of the course, you should be able to significantly reduce your fear of public speaking, use rehearsal techniques to develop a strong, vibrant speaking voice, and perform speeches with dynamic movement and gestures. The speech model that we’ll practice is useful for briefings, elevator talks, interviews, and even as a structure for hour-long presentations. If you’re a beginner, this course will help you quickly master the fundamentals of speaking. If you’re a seasoned speaker, this course will help you better understand public speaking and push you to the next level....

Principales reseñas

AJ
5 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course for who are starting to speak in public or who are already a public speaker, no matter you join this course to get more tools & ideas to make your speech interesting to the audience.

MS
15 de jul. de 2020

This is indeed a very good course for a beginner since it discusses all the ways of preparing and delivering a proper speech with necessary theoretical as well as practical classes and assignments.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 486 revisiones para Introduction to Public Speaking

por Zhu Y

19 de jun. de 2017

Professor Matt is excellent, best online course teacher I've ever come across! I've learnt so much from him, gained more confidence and organizational abilities with regards to speaking and maybe even developed a liking for public speaking! Thanks so much Prof, you're really engaging, your course is excellent and I'm very much inspired!

por Aviral P

4 de may. de 2020

I think this is a great introductory course on public speaking and touches on the basic aspects. Plus Prof. McGarrity is a good teacher not only as a speaker obviously but also keeps the lectures fun by introducing jokes and humour. I had a great time learning about public speaking and intend to continue with the specialisation.

por Celinda P

20 de jun. de 2017

Professor was excellent; engaging, clever and clear to understand and follow. His presentations were visual and interesting as he incorporated a range of elements from images to video examples of other public speaking scenarios. I signed up for the Public Speaking specialization and am looking forward to taking my next class.

por Yuka O

15 de jun. de 2020

I highly recommend this class if you are planning or thinking to move up/want to do something by yourself in the future because no matter what public speaking is a key to success. You can study this class to learn how to talk, how to build/write your story and gain confidence even in speaking English as a second language.

por Mary M

29 de mar. de 2018

Great course for those that need some confidence with their speech skills. The most amazing thing about this class is that you learn to deliver concisely, addressing key issues and leaving out the jargon. This class has given me the tools to continue practicing how to stand and deliver without fear.

I highly recommend it.

por Madhumeeta S

14 de sep. de 2018

Excellent course. I am an unemployed adult and have lots of passion for speaking and teaching but in this materialistic world only having passions are not enough...you have to be certified of what you a real pursuing.

Coursera helped me a lot and this course was indeed the best I can go for .

thanks a million.

por Simon L

7 de oct. de 2017

Excellent introduction to public speaking - to get the most value from it you need to put time into the optional speaking and assessment exercises and do some active learning - notes, practice etc. The investment in time is well worth it, but will end up taking longer than the quoted number of hours.

por Rajesh S

17 de abr. de 2017

Definitely learned a lot. Facts like do not repeat yourself is good advice for writing or when you are coding! But it is needed for being understood while speaking.

Tools of rhetoric have already help me manage my speaking tasks.

Getting advice from other students have also helped see my bad habits.

por Francesco B

18 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course! It gave me so much more confidence on how to perform public speaking and how to structure a key point speech! The professor is extremely clear and helpful and I love the structure of the weekly assignment. Thank you so much! I will keep learning the next types of public speaking!

por Noor U A

16 de ago. de 2020

The course was awesome. If you guys out their are facing Public speaking issues, I will purely recommend you to take this course.

For me interest in a course/subject mainly depends on the instructor and without any doubt DR. Matt McGarrity is a perfect match for this.

Thanks for emboldening me!

por ROHAN G

27 de may. de 2020

best course to learn or to get some skills if anybody want to learn public speaking apply for this course its very productive and easy to understand i assure you that after you finish this course you would get some brilliant ideas that would be useful for you only,while you are speaking in public

por Samuel A

11 de ene. de 2021

I would like to recommend this course for everyone seeking to understand the nitty-gritties of public speaking. It is really intellectually stimulating and do not worry if this is your first time learning about speech writing and speaking. This beautifully packaged course has got you covered.

por Luis C

22 de dic. de 2016

Great course, excellent instructor. The topics are easy to follow up. And easy and practical to apply since day 1 of the course. I have improve in my speeches, I am an instructor so the topic was really important for me and also to my students.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge with the world.

por Raul

5 de ene. de 2021

This is an excellent course on public speaking. The course introduces useful strategies to respond effectively to rhetorical situations. The learnings from this course immediately increased my public speaking skills and, maybe more importantly, my confidence in my public speaking ability.

por Petar T

19 de nov. de 2020

Great great course. The videos are engaging and easy to follow. There are plenty of examples of how each part of a key point speech should look like. I believe this course will prove helpful to anyone who is either new to public speaking or wants to get better at it! Highly recommended!

por Paulo A

1 de mar. de 2017

Through the introduction to public speaking course, I could develop skills that helped me to prepare speeches in a better and more engaging way. I feel that I can now structure future speeches more adequately, hence being more confident to present them to any kind of audience.

por Rina Z

14 de oct. de 2017

This MOOC is the best upgrade I ever took to improve the knowledge in skill.

I find Coursera an amazing site and the Public Speaking course a revelation.

The professor Dr. McGarrity is the greatest teacher I have ever listened to and my brain ecstatically enjoyed the lectures.

por Samten D

10 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It will be very useful in my life. Prof is well experienced and perfect in teaching. The course content is also very good.

My appreciation and thanks to Prof Dr. Matt, Coursera, University of Washington, and our Royal Govt of Bhutan (RGoB, MoLHR).

por Iqra S

24 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It was such a fun and learning experience for me. I never felt I am doing something extra. It is such a wonderful course and way we go through each and every aspect of it gives a new meaning. It is really a very helpful and incredible course.

por MAYANK A

18 de may. de 2020

It is one of the best online course I have attended. It has a lot of highly valuable ideas. It helped me in thinking clearly about who to structure any speech, how to deliver it in an effective way. Also, the instructor made this course very interesting and engaging.

por Dinesh M

2 de feb. de 2017

This is third time, I was taking this course. Last two times, I left it in-between but this was something on my wish list a feat I wanted to achieve...finally it's done! I am sincerely thankful to Dr. Matt McGarrity and his team for such a crisp and engaging course.

por Claire M

26 de jul. de 2020

If i had a teacher in public speaking before like prof McGarrity of the University of Washington, i would not have feared speaking in public and would have welcomed speaking to a group of people. Thank you Prof. McGarrity, you really are a good teacher and speaker.

por Akshat G

9 de nov. de 2020

The course is very helpful in understanding the basics of dynamic speaking, encompassing content, structure, pitch - basically and end to end package for beginners. What I would have liked was more discipline in the peer reviews since some are not helpful at all.

por Viviana G

24 de nov. de 2020

El contenido que manejan es bueno, la verdad si es de ayuda.

Edifica realmente para poder aplicar estas habilidades y conocimientos tanto dentro como fuera de la escuela, es de ayuda para poder desenvolvernos fácilmente en el dialogo con las demás personas.

por ASHMEET S

7 de may. de 2020

one of the best courses on coursera. This will teach you the basics of public speaking and remove your stage fear. I was a good public speaker then but now after this course i have become better. thank you coursera. looking forward for doing more courses .