Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Data Science in Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Data Science in Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.5
estrellas
25,938 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Principales reseñas

YY

28 de sep. de 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

9 de may. de 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filtrar por:

5026 - 5050 de 5,724 revisiones para Introduction to Data Science in Python

por Aakanksha D

16 de jun. de 2017

The Assignments are very good. But the video lectures are terrible. they offer no or very little Explanation what so ever of the notebook being displayed on the screen. The TA just reads the notebook instead of diving into what the functions are doing. The subtitles overlap with what people are writing in the journal.

por Tyler N

30 de ene. de 2017

This course was over all okay. My primary complaints are that I felt that the class moved too quickly and relied too heavily on students to teach themselves through the Pandas documentation. The Pandas documentation is really only so-so and it would have been nice to have more guidance through the course materials.

por Deenadayalan P

25 de ago. de 2020

the weekly assignments are so challenging.But the instructions are not clear enough.for each question,one has to adventure through the discussion forum to find what the question expects.Thank you for the discussion forum because there are enough good people to explain and ask questions in each and every dimension.

por Pablo B

7 de oct. de 2019

Though I very much appreciate Dr. Brooks' traits when video lecturing: relaxed, informative, and often lucid-- I worry that students with little to no computer science background will struggle greatly with assignments. That is to say, there is a disparage between the videos and the expectations of the assignments.

por Ali R K

17 de nov. de 2016

Contents are great and very relative. Exam is fair and reasonable. However students have to deal with an autograder for the scores and the autograder is not up to par for this course. The amount of time that you spend on learning during the course is only a fraction of time you spend to get through the autograder.

por Jonathan O

31 de ago. de 2018

The assignments have bugs that become more and more present after browsing the discussion board so extensively. I think that it would be really helpful to eliminate any bugs in the grader, so that when you get a solution marked as correct, you can actually count on later problems building on a correct solution.

por Chris S

1 de may. de 2017

The course doesn't feel complete, the information and techniques used for assignments can be found completely online through documentation and instead this is merely an exercise for doing basic analysis through documentation rather than an explanation of python through data science (which is what I anticipated)

por Chima P

1 de jul. de 2018

This course is a very nice course, though it wasn't close to being thorough, but it helped me to develop self learning skills and endurance in tackling problems. it also helped me to have a pattern of study for data science, providing me with assignments which tasked me and helped me in learning so much more

por Raul M

6 de mar. de 2018

The lectures are too simple. The assignments are difficult. You constantly need to google how-to to be able to complete the assignments because the code/functions are not covered by the lectures. But if you overcome that, the assignments challenge you in a way that you will learn good things about Python.

por Bernardo C F d O

29 de ago. de 2020

I have learned many things in this course, but this is more related to the searches that I have done outside Coursera to find information and tools to solve the assignments. There is a great disparity between what is shown in the videos and what must be done in the tests, which also are poorly organized.

por Roman K

4 de feb. de 2018

Interesting assignments but definitely not the best video lectures - very short and not enough explanation, can as well read a documentation on my own.

Overall is not a bad course, but either change the name from 'Introduction' to 'Intermediate'-ish or create a more comprehensive set of lectures.

Thanks!

por Sang Y

15 de ago. de 2019

The auto-grader system does not provide any useful information for understanding why my answer is wrong. Many questions are not clear enough to understand what they mean, we need to adopt trial-and-error approach to find the correct answer. Finally I aborted on the second course of this specialization.

por Apoorva R A

10 de ago. de 2017

The assignments contain questions which are beyond the scope of what is taught. Assignmwnt 3 was very useful specially from Data analysis point of view. Assignment 4 was lil difficult. In my opinion, more lectures on how to code specially for tough problems like those in assignments should be added.

por Amanda K

11 de jun. de 2017

I think there could have been more thorough video instruction / preparation for some of the harder assignments. It would have been more helpful if the auto grader could give more detail as to what was wrong with the output rather than trying to find someone who had the same problem on the forum.

por Ana T M D

27 de may. de 2018

The knowledge you get in the lectures do not match the level of the assigments. You use way more time googling and trying to solve technical problems than actually learning Python. I wish the lectures included more examples, specially things you can later use in the assigments. And more theory.

por Juan A G

5 de ago. de 2019

The course has a high level which is fine. The bad part is that most the knowledge you require to complete the assignments is not available in the content of the videos and you have to spend quite some time on internet. It took me way more time than the hours they say to complete the course.

por Matias R

28 de sep. de 2018

The course is well explained. The grading mechanism is insufficient... in some exercises I arrived at the same result but somehow the answer would be graded as incorrect; and I could never find the formatting differences.

Also, I come from the R world, and I find Pandas extremely unintuitive.

por Hussein A

1 de sep. de 2020

hard and you will pull your hair, but I guess that is their point. It would take them forever to teach you each functionality in Pandas, but the real way to learn is to go and explore. It is the most difficult way though. Expect to spend hours on this, but the reward at the end is worth it.

por Vishal T

1 de jul. de 2020

Assignments are challenging and assignments must be related with the content not out of content of the videos.But in assignment they aren't related with those content of video but out of content of the teaching videos . So, it will be better if you improve the assignments. Thank you !!

por Himanshu K

31 de may. de 2019

The course material was not enough. The assignment questions were good but in order to solve those questions I had to find a lot of things from stack-overflow and the python documentation . This was mentioned there but I still think the material was less according to the assignments.

por Deleted A

25 de jul. de 2020

The Course content is good but the instructor is not so good because while he is explaining something he tries to do all of it verbally and in a very short way. Only those people will be able to understand those who know something regarding this field prior.

The assignments are good.

por Joe R

25 de jul. de 2020

The course itself is not so bad. But tasks are frustrating! Solving them gives some value but they are mixed with tons of meaningless problems. Some tasks are not clear and autograder gives little information. But I need to say that I learnt more about Python and Pandas library.

por Rishab M

21 de mar. de 2020

I personally feel that this course should had been divided into a 8 week course instead of 4 and material should be added on that ,

eg: the problems asked in the exercise

The exercises are way too difficult and require the use of many functions not taught in the video lectures

por John B

7 de ene. de 2017

Classes moved very fast, especially in the video materials. Functions were introduced briefly without time to digest. While I ultimately did learn the topics through my own research, I feel the class would have been much more beneficial with slower, more indepth explanations.

por Denisa P

3 de sep. de 2021

A lot of question in assignment are not clear. I saw that in forum a lot of people have the same problem as me. The assignment Week 3 is to long, It took so far more than 6 hours for me to complete it. A lot of materials are not in video, we have to read them by ourselves.