Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Data Science in Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Data Science in Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.5
estrellas
25,761 calificaciones
5,734 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Principales reseñas

YY

28 de sep. de 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

9 de may. de 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filtrar por:

5576 - 5600 de 5,685 revisiones para Introduction to Data Science in Python

por Kaia T

2 de ago. de 2019

I've taken a few courses on Coursera and Ive found this one to the be the most frustrating. The assignments absolutely do not match up to the material taught during the week, the questions asked during the lectures presumes we have a lot of base knowledge or wants us to look up the answers but does not give us nearly enough of the language to do so. I absolutely feel defeated after trying to do the assignments and find the forums and "community" to be less than helpful.

por Justin Q

23 de ene. de 2017

While this was one of the better courses I've done on Coursera, the start date of the course was changed without any indication of when it would begin. We've also been waiting months for the next course in the specialisation to begin, again without any communication. This was a good course, but I would recommend people wait until all the rest of the courses are available before starting this course and beginning the specialisation.

por Satyajit G

14 de feb. de 2017

Assignment 3 was absolutely ridiculous in the sense that the implementation of pandas functions depended on data cleaning in the first step for which there was no help . No response from peers or moderators on my queries. Had high hopes when I joined the course. I feel cheated now. Because of some issues with the data cleaning step, all my following answers were incorrect and I couldn't pass the course in time.

por Warnakulasuriya S A F

14 de jun. de 2020

This course is really complicated for a person who is trying to get into the field of Data Science. Don't take this course if you haven't got fluent skills on English as well, because some parts of the explanations are really hard to understand. Take a similar course for a beginner level and then come into this course if you are willing to take this course. Giving out one star because of these reasons.

por PADMANABHAM V R K

4 de jun. de 2020

If you are just beginner in python and want to know better about Data Science dont enroll for this course.

The lectures are as if the professor is just reading some notes.The annoying background of people moving is a complete disturbance.The assignments and course do not have anything in common.

As a whole it would waste your time if you want to learn from the course it is more like self preparation.

por Yuliya B

3 de ago. de 2019

Это уже 7й или 8й курс из тех, что я прошла на coursera, и он самый бесполезный. Лекции бесполезны - лектор объясняет непонятно. Для того, чтобы сделать практические работы, нужно самостоятельно изучить документацию по pandas. Я стала ее читать, и поняла, что лектор не только не добавил от себя никаких объясений, он даже умудрился сделать материал еще менее доступным, чем он изложен в документации.

por Leong J J B

7 de jul. de 2020

There is a huge difficulty gap between the lecture videos and the assignments. The videos are very brief and they do not give you all the tools required to do the assignments which are a lot more complicated for users who have no experience with Panda. Learners are required to search the internet and stackoverflow which defeats the purpose of an online course education as I can do it by myself.

por Viacheslav O

7 de jul. de 2020

Did not liked it at all, week one quiz is based on some demonstration which should not be a demonstration but actual study of a subject. If quiz is tends to ask practical things they should be practical during first week of the course, I did not came here to watch a video and paste the result in a quiz to pass further, I came for the practical experience provided by the experts in a field.

por UnniKrishnan

6 de feb. de 2017

please provide the complete 5 unit details . I could see only this unit is open for past many months. I paid for all 5 unit money already and not in a position revert back and get the money. Could you please help me out to understand when this courses will be available if not in near future , why are they taken money before the course is not ready to us. Quite disappointing experience.

por Diana C R A

22 de ene. de 2022

It was so frustrating, to much time spend on each assignment. No material available other than videos. The videos were difficult to follow because the data used for explanation was extense and difficult to see. There is not a concrete explication of the functions so is hard to understand what each function does. I ended searching on internet how to do everything.

por aaron

25 de jun. de 2019

Terrible course. Material they teach has nothing to do with what you're evaluated on, so I ended up using google more for the assignments than the actual course material. Expect you to basically already know everything they're teaching, so it's essentially useless. They fly through concepts and barely explain anything, so you end up learning nothing.

por Yura K

16 de jun. de 2019

I expected that this course is useful for my studies but it was not for sure. I felt this course is a revision note for people who have already studied before or had experiences a lot. The teaching were too poor and general. Free study material in the internet is still better than this course. At the end, I thought why would I pay for this course.

por Christian P

11 de ago. de 2021

I am disappointed. I think it is not enough to explain the material just by quickly going through Jupyter notebooks. What about teaching materials? No slides or other preparation. The exercises simply cost time without learning a lot. (US sport team names are of absolute no value for me. Why did you gave them so many room in assigment 4???)

por Mitchell G

7 de nov. de 2017

I really tried to get into this course. I wanted a more advanced and fast paced course so a lot of the reviews about it being difficult didn't turn me off. However, the course just is not good. The assignments are not conducive to experimenting and learning and I got almost nothing from the lectures which were basically dry lists of facts.

por Brandon P

15 de jun. de 2017

The course provided minimal instruction and relied on self teaching. The easiest solutions to the assignments weren't covered during the weeks lectures, and had to be found through self teaching.

This would be a great free course. Paying for it was a waste of money as I could have learned everything I did from my own teaching.

por Syed S

6 de abr. de 2020

The description of the course is really bad. Youtube videos are better than the course. I am just doing this course for the sake of the certificate. I had to do everything by my ownself watching youtube videos and reading other material on the web. The assignments were in NOOOOOO way aligned with the actual lectures.

por Leo W

17 de feb. de 2021

Explanations in the videos are confusing and muddled, hours long assignments of reading entire chapters of a textbook are useless and code examples in the quizzes do not run in Jupyter notebooks or in PyCharm. I am trying to drop this course but clicking the three vertical dots only opens "Rate Course".

por Rafsan Z

16 de jun. de 2020

Not recommended until the whole course is updated. Its autograder is very old and invalid. It's also very sensitive. Shows the wrong answer even when the answer is right in the latest version of Jupiter. I hope it gets updated very soon as it's a very important course for data science after all.

por Izabela D

30 de abr. de 2020

I thought that applied means we will be coding in python not having notebook and listening about wrote code. Applied was only at assigments. And I really dont like some tasks to read article and write min.90 words disagreed or agreed. Teacher was very good but form of the course not.

por R T

4 de jul. de 2021

w​hat's the point of paying for an online course only to be told to do 'self-research'?

l​ecture videos were terrible. at the very least, the professor should be typing as he narrates (in real-time), instead of reading off of a script and speeding up the typing process on screen.

por Barb H

17 de jul. de 2020

I understand that the goal of this course is to push us to a higher level of understanding of Python and Pandas. I would rather put my time/energy into real world problems than blindly try to guess what the autograder for this course is looking for. A big disappointment.

por Jean-Michel P

2 de jun. de 2021

Course material only touches the surface of the actual content. Student is expected to do most of the learning by searching on google for what the lecture doesn't cover (which is almost all of the content). The assignments are completely disconnected from the lectures.

por Pushkar K

22 de abr. de 2022

Very poorly done course, with no real structure and lack of real world applications. Just a bunch of material picked up from the book with a dry format resulting in very slow learning outcomes. I believe the course from UPenn is superior to this one. Do not recommend!

por Hashem A

1 de jun. de 2019

Actually I wanted to select zero stars!

I never leave reviews but for this course I will make an exception. This is the worst course I have taken period. Instructor robotically reading ill-prepared material off a prompter. Save time and money and just use google.

por Remy A

20 de may. de 2018

Jupyter notebooks used for assignments work sporadically at best. I've spent about half my time during assignments troubleshooting notebook issues. It has been far more beneficial looking at the official pandas documentation and tutorials than taking this course.