Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Data Science in Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Data Science in Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.5
estrellas
22,499 calificaciones
5,043 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Principales reseñas

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 4,966 revisiones para Introduction to Data Science in Python

por Nattawat B

Apr 02, 2019

This course is very tough. For those who have just learned how to code python will take up to 8 hours for each assignment. The auto-grader required an exactly solution for the answer and sometimes the answer is corrected but you it give you wrong and you have no idea why it is wring just because the type of return value are different!

Apart from those things, you will learned and accomplished alot from this course.

por Low Y

Sep 05, 2020

Very helpful for beginner in Python to build up a solid understanding and practical experience in pandas and NumPy library for querying, merging, grouping, and aggregating data frame.

However, the old version of python library in the auto-grader brings some difficulties for grading assignments.

por Willber d S N

Mar 21, 2019

Great Course!! You learn alot about Python for data analytics. It is very hard for someone that is beginning to programming. But there are a lot of recourses on internet that can help you. I recomend this course for all that need learning data manipulation with python.

por WASEEM A

May 05, 2019

The course is good but it gets challenging in doing assignments since you have to a lot of learning at your own , video lectures cover a limited domain of weekly projects. over all this course will help you learn new stuff.

por vinod k

Apr 06, 2019

Assignment questions were not clear. I made lot of assumptions and went through forums to get clear picture. It would be good if the question is explained in more descriptive manner

por Pedro S

Oct 12, 2020

Assignments are pretty hard. I suggest raising the number of classes, because some topics are not explained.

por Ashish K P

Sep 17, 2020

the language is quite difficult to understand and the the course neede more detailed lectures

por Randy M

Aug 12, 2018

I have taken my Pandas skills to a new level as a result of this course.

por Akella H P

Sep 28, 2020

Great course. learned a lot from it

por Lance E S

Jul 18, 2018

Assignment 3, question 1: The autograder would mark this answer correct even when the data in the DataFrame was wrong. I discovered this after I answered the question, was told it was correct, but I produced wrong answers for subsequent questions that depended on the first one. Messages from fellow students in the forum helped me track down the problem.

Assn. 3, question 2: This was worded very awkwardly and the Venn diagram seemed to contradict the question rather than clarify it.

Assn. 4, question 1 ("get_list_of_university_towns"): The function template provided has a long comment block that seemed to be complete instructions for what the function should do. However, there are two other different versions of the instructions for this assignment in the Coursera course resources section and Google Drive. If the function template includes instructions in the comments, they should be complete. Otherwise, don't show them at all and let the student get the instructions from the other document. Also, the course's "Resources" section doesn't seem like the correct place for these instructions. They should be under the "Instructions" tab of the assignment submission page.

The instructor, teaching staff, mentors, etc. are almost completely unhelpful or extremely slow to answer questions. With regards to my forum postings for assn. 3, a staff member replied only recently, about two weeks after I asked the question. Since then, I've completed that assignment and the one following it!

The course videos are difficult to watch. Whenever Mr. Brooks shows how some code works in Jupyter Notebook, he uses a full-screen view of his browser. On my laptop with a 15-inch screen, his font is a little too small to read easily. I need to concentrate so much more on deciphering the screen that I can't easily keep up with what he is saying. Sometimes I wanted to view the course video on my phone or mobile device. At those times, it was impossible to read the screen being shown. I recommend these alternate ways of showing the code:

Use slides. Students usually don't need to see the instructor typing in real-time. Show a slide with the code and the result.

Use a large font. If showing real-time input and results is important for a specific question, use a large font or zoom in the display as much as possible.

There were some small mistakes made in the videos and assignments that make me think all the materials need some proofreading and updates.

Overall, I'm glad I took the course. I wish several things were better, though. I'm looking forward to the next course of the specialization (data visualization), which is the one I was most interested in taking. I took this course because I would need it for the final certificate and I wanted to be sure I didn't miss any information that would be helpful in the second course. I thought maybe the first course wouldn't be interesting to me, since I have many years of Python programming experience. However, I was pleased to find that the course covered a lot of pandas features and some of the mathematics and statistics techniques that I haven't used in many years, so those contributed to making the course challenging. I would prefer to have done without the additional challenges related to autograder technical shortcomings, though.

por Gina G

Apr 07, 2020

I think all the assignments in this course are interesting and well designed. I learned more from doing the assignments than watching the videos. Yes, it took me a lot of time searching and reading stack overflow and other similar resources, but I did learn from them.

Most of my frustration was in fact coming from their outdated Autotrader - for those who plan to do the assignments on local Jupyter Notebook, you'll run into some confusion and frustration with their Autograder as their Pandas are not as updated as your Pandas. This means that even though your code can run perfectly correct on your local, it doesn't mean it would do the same with the Autograde after you uploaded for grading. I spent tons of time, not on debugging exactly, but on figuring out why my code won't just execute after submission. I guess my advice to avoid similar frustration would be just writing assignments in the Jupyter Notebook on Coursera.

As for the video lectures, I agree that they could and should be made better in terms of pedagogy. I'm sure the professor and the teaching assistance are absolutely knowledgable on the subject, but their teaching style is way too stiff. Basically they were just reading off a prepared script, which was not colloquial at all, and they rush through it. I don't think coding skills can be taught in the way of lectures as if delivering a TV speech. Honestly, lots of free youtube videos are better at online teaching than this course.

This is an intermediate level course in python, but entitling it as 'Introduction to Data Science in Python' kinda devalued how much of strength people have to spend on finishing it.

But all in all, I did learn a lot from completing this course, thanks to the well-designed assignments. I would recommend this course to those who wouldn't mind spending more time doing their own thinking and research.

por Aarya P

Sep 16, 2020

The basic skill on how to get data from the csv files and excel files. Cleaning and manupulating and making dataframes are taught in the course. I am giving a comparitvely low score because there are multiple things i didnt like:

The professeor and the tutor in the video lectures are too boring. Straight forward they keep on taking and playing a video in which the codes are written at lightning fast speeds.

It becomes hard to keep up with learning as it goes super fast. They just keep on talking before a letting a person digest the syntax of code.

The assignments were super difficult for a beginner like me and the questions wording omgggg! The questions aren't framed well at all had to keep searching the discussion forums.

Not for the beginners course as it becomes too difficult to keep up with. Just keep searching forums in the clue of getting the syntax. Really i was not much impressed by the professor. They should definitely make it more interactive rather than super boring.

por Pragyan

Sep 21, 2020

Overall the course is fine. Much of the work is left out to the user, which would be a good thing if the lectures actually spent time discussing a topic. The instructor picks up a topic and shows us one example and is done with it.

I was disappointed with the teaching style. That being said, I did learn a lot in this course. I learnt a lot of stuff, but I wasn't taught much. Some of the topics were really interesting but they are concluded in 5 minutes max.

I really wish the programming walkthrough were more comprehensive and not just "here's how you do this thing, let's move on".

The assignments are challenging, but are poorly worded. Half the time I had to figure out myself what the assignment was asking me to do.

por Sercan B

Jul 15, 2020

Assignments should be peer-reviewed. Spent most of my time trying to figure out why my code run successfully on Jupyter Notebook but not getting any grades on Coursera Grading system. Especially the Assignment 3 was a nightmare for me. Eventough I was getting the right outputs on Jupyter Notebook I had to spent several extra days to fit my code for the Coursera Grading System. Apart from that assignments are forcing learners to get more insight in python individually, which was great for me. If you're total beginner to Python there is very high chance that you may drop the course due to assignments.

por Robert S

Sep 13, 2020

The course was frustrating in the occasional lack of specificity in the assignments, which led to problems with the grader. I assume that these resulted in the replacement by a new course, which unfortunately does not begin until after I had already completed this. The lectures by Prof. Brooks sometimes covered the material quickly without developing the points step by step. The lectures by the assistant were very difficult to follow. The assignments were challenging and I have a sense of accomplishment having completed them all.

por Aman j

May 07, 2019

Concepts could have been taught with more explanation. I prefer learning from books. On trying this video course, it seems VERY tough & so time-consuming to learn. Elaborate explanations could have been provided.

Or at least if I could say, I already knew basic Python but learned Pandas for the first time. Advanced Pandas should be explained with more videos, more steps.

I needed to replay video parts countless times because of only higher level explanation in videos

por Benjamin L

Jan 03, 2019

Almost every course everyone complain about assignments being hard..... but this one is EXCEPTIONALLY hard. Last question of assignment 4 is compulsory to pass the course and trust me it will bring to you trauma and pain like you have never imagined before.

Otherwise the lecturer is actually pretty good, and the other assignments are great for learning!!! I really think they overkilled it with assignment 4 though

por Pascal B

Jul 27, 2019

Generally, very good selection of content. The explanations are insufficient for passing the assignments tho, which means that most of the course work is self-study from the web. The buggy auto-grader sometime made the submission of the assignments quite a pain as one has to find a way to change the code in a way that still produces the right answer but doesn't blow up the auto-grader.

por Minyi Y

Nov 20, 2016

The content and assignments are certainly useful and relevant. However, the lectures are too short and do not help much with doing the assignment. As a beginner, I relied heavily on google and the discussion forum to get through the assignment. And I am not sure if i can actually tackle similar problems again without referring back to the pre-mentioned resources.

por Julien

Sep 20, 2018

Interesting course covering the main introduction topics to Data Science, however there is a too large gap between the theoretical (videos, Jupiter notebook examples, ...) lessons provided and the knowledge required to perform the assignment. The time to do individual research to perform the assignment is tremendous. This is not an easy course at all.

por Jennifer W

Sep 17, 2020

I didn't feel that the lecture material corresponded to the exercises. I spent all my time just looking at Stack Overflow. The exercises are also not clearly written, such that you spend time trying to adhere to solving for the solution as opposed to learning Python fundamentals.

por Sabbir A

Aug 08, 2020

I learned things, yes. But I was here to try and learn what is already there in the books; I thought it would make me understand easily and in interesting ways. I was disappointed. There is no point in taking the course if it sends me back to the books. :(

por Claude P

Nov 20, 2016

More concise coding tutorials and less "search on your own on the internet" needed. It is great to get to know the online community and the course needs more coding example directly relat to exams.

por Tom M

Dec 29, 2018

A lot of self directed learning, bordering on excessive. Sometimes it takes some investigation to figure out why the autograder did not pass you. Overall, I felt I learned a lot, much on my own.

por Pamela T

Feb 02, 2019

This is a great overview for python, but the materials/videos/slides are very elementary compared to the sophistication of the homework. Required many more hours than the estimates.