Chevron Left
Volver a Using Databases with Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Using Databases with Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
20,446 calificaciones
3,136 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Aspectos destacados
High quality course material

(143 reseñas)

Top rated instructor

(176 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

MM

12 de mar. de 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL

22 de jun. de 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filtrar por:

2501 - 2525 de 3,056 revisiones para Using Databases with Python

por Joseph V

20 de jun. de 2017

This was a good generic course. The only thing I'd like to see is accessing other types of database - I work in an environment which utilizes MS SQL Server, and will need to do a bunch of researching and trial and error to figure out what Libraries need to be included and how to connect the databases.

por djamileh

9 de ago. de 2018

As usual, intuitive, clear, well structured and amazingly informative.

The missing star : A bit less coding than the other classes on Python - that is, using a lot of code already written and just modifying it. Thus, it might feel like you know the code but you have just "seen" it.

por Eugene B

23 de ene. de 2019

This course could've been a little more challenging. Too many assignments were just "run the files provided." I don't feel like I ended up getting to know the material quite as much as the previous courses. I ended up re-writing a lot of code myself just to get to know it better.

por Daniel H

8 de may. de 2017

Good instruction on SQL. Final project was too simple given the tools that instructor had armed us without throughout the course. Could've had more programming involved in the last assignment of the course to really test knowledge on integrating python with SQL and databases.

por Vignesh S

15 de sep. de 2016

I felt that more time could have been spent going over the python code in the last section. The code was made available, and it is up to the students to review the code at their own pace. This is good. It may further help to go over the code in the video lectures themselves.

por Christopher S A

31 de may. de 2019

Good course, the exercises in later weeks could have been a bit more challenging hence the ding on this. The reading material also isn't lined up well with the online course - it would be great if the reading material shared what chapter is to be read for each course/week.

por Malcolm H

5 de feb. de 2017

Great course! Dr. Severance really put a lot of thought and effort into his videos and assignments.

This course took a big leap, in terms of program complexity, from the prior courses in the series. This course could have been twice as long, and dug deeper into the details.

por Ryan M

28 de mar. de 2016

This course only touches on python + relational databases. Specifically, investigates SQLITE and the sqlite3 python library. The work is very minuscule (assignments were to simply modify pre-written python scripts). Nevertheless, good introduction to DB coding in python.

por Sarah M

6 de feb. de 2016

+ I appreciated the visual nature of the course

+ I appreciated the background info on databases

+ I liked learning SQL and using the SQLite browser.

- update to python3, I'm running python3 and found it difficult to correct the issues with urllibs in the ifnal assignmet.

por Khurram S

22 de abr. de 2021

The assignments were mainly just related to updating the code in an existing file and making it do something else. However, I would have liked it if we were made to code from scratch in the assignments.

Other than that, it is a great introduction to Databases and SQL.

por Seraphim A

5 de ene. de 2016

Overall, an excellent course, as all courses from Dr Chuck.

The last assignment could have been more demanding to stretch our learning before the Capstone.

It is a real pity that one has to pay for all previous courses in order to take the final Capstone :-(

Well done!

por Ben T

26 de jul. de 2017

The assignments are too easy in my opinion and don't require some thinking, but just some pure copy/pasting or repeating of already seen examples. I think that's something that could be improved because the content of the class and the lectures are actually great.

por Erikka I

12 de sep. de 2016

I like this series a lot. I didn't like that the last assignment is peer graded though, because now I have to wait for somebody to see my assignment and grade it... :( but otherwise, this was fun and a good introduction to working with databases! I learned a lot.

por Karl F

16 de nov. de 2016

Teacher was good, but the hand in assignments were much too simple. They didn't challenge me, and I didn't really get to practice the new things we've learned. All assignments were just about copy/paste 3-4 lines in existing code, and make a minor change to it.

por jsanfont

26 de oct. de 2016

Although the theory was getting denser, we passed through it too quickly, and the assessments were too light. Even though the aim is to have students investigate and go deeper by themselves, I think we should have been prompted to do some further development.

por Yogesh B

5 de oct. de 2020

+It improved my database design skill up to some extent.

+good integration with python and json etc

-Normalization was not there, at least upto 3NF it should be covered.

-last project was just a copy paste. it would be great if it can be somewhat challenging.

por Thomas B

17 de ene. de 2018

Wish we did more of the coding for the final week. Give us an expected schema for the program's output (which the javascript and html will visualize from), and have us write most of the python for the first parts that output data which fits that schema.

por Síofra O

24 de abr. de 2019

Good as an intro to databases but perhaps a bit too easy as a lot of the code is provided. I would have like to have had to create more Python code instead of reusing what was provided in the course resources. That said, well laid out and delivered.

por Olha L

22 de ago. de 2019

This course is more about DataBases rather than Python. Good for very beginners, too easy for anyone with programming background.

Also I would suggest providing mbox.txt file for download, as copy/pasting such a big amount overload laptop CPU.

por Richard W

13 de may. de 2018

This course is a perfect introduction to using databases with Python. It gives intuition and provides understanding of the most important database management features, how to code them in SQL, and how to manage them through a Python interface.

por Justinas S

16 de ene. de 2018

I would say this is a good course to learn and understand what is DB and how to interact with them with Python. The purpose of this course is not to make us professionals, its just to make us aware of it and prepare us for further development.

por Yogesh K

2 de may. de 2020

It was a great deal working on with this course, especially with the peer-graded assignment of the last week. I was worried about the assignment because in 2 days it was not getting graded, but it finally did and I was relieved so much.

por Zihao M

27 de feb. de 2016

The course is great, but I hope I can get to the final project. I have a little bit experience in python, so I skipped the first two courses of the specialisation project. But I still want to try the 5th one, which is locked to me now~

por Susmith D K

3 de abr. de 2020

This course is full of database designing which was a great experience.It was a bit tough to keep up in beginning but then i got familiar.You should not need any prior knowledge on database to learn this course but need some python.

por Jason P

6 de nov. de 2019

Easy and informative but could be more challenging and have us modify the code a bit more. Similar complaint about my Coursera class with IBM about databases so maybe it's a limiting factor of how things are structured and graded.