Chevron Left
Volver a Using Databases with Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Using Databases with Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
20,461 calificaciones
3,140 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Aspectos destacados
High quality course material

(143 reseñas)

Top rated instructor

(176 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

MM

12 de mar. de 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL

22 de jun. de 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filtrar por:

2526 - 2550 de 3,059 revisiones para Using Databases with Python

por Susmith D K

3 de abr. de 2020

This course is full of database designing which was a great experience.It was a bit tough to keep up in beginning but then i got familiar.You should not need any prior knowledge on database to learn this course but need some python.

por Jason P

6 de nov. de 2019

Easy and informative but could be more challenging and have us modify the code a bit more. Similar complaint about my Coursera class with IBM about databases so maybe it's a limiting factor of how things are structured and graded.

por Deleted A

25 de dic. de 2018

I think Dr. Charles' lectures are really cool, but the practical excercises were not so good: they consisted, mostly, only in executing already done code and printing stuff. I think that the peer-grading were unnescessary too.

por Oliverio J S J

4 de ene. de 2018

This course is a nice introduction to relational databases. However, most lessons address database design and SQL topics, and thus some people may consider that it is not fair to include this course in a Python specialization.

por Andrew P

29 de dic. de 2017

Would be perfect but the issue with the Gooogle API Key in the week 5 assignment was frustrating to figure out without clear guidance. The walkthrough in the Discussion Forum could have used pictures to help debug the issue.

por Sohaib A

8 de ene. de 2016

The only reason I can't give this course a 5 star rating is the final assignment is not substantial enough. Otherwise this is the best course series for any beginner or someone trying to refresh their programming knowledge.

por Archana K R

22 de dic. de 2019

Loved the teaching but assignments had very little rigor involved. Towards the end, only a small piece of the code needed to be modified to obtain the result taking away much of the practical understanding of the course

por Byomokesh P P

7 de may. de 2019

The assessment session is very helpful, as relate to real time tasks. The classes are awesome and easy to understand. I would suggest to learn the basics of the python before entering to the Python using database course.

por Bruce C P

1 de ene. de 2017

Good course at an appropriate level. I'd like to see more advanced topics in a related course, like optimization, multi-threading, database management. Some discussion of non-relational databases would also make sense.

por Dominic J

4 de jul. de 2016

A good introduction to the basics of SQL and an excellent, intuitive description of the workings of databases with motivations for them. Gets a little 'hand-wavy' at parts but is fine for a less experienced programmer.

por Pedro J G R

29 de jul. de 2021

One of the best! This course taught me about databases (the general idea) and then how to create and visualize data with Python. Forme, one of the most useful courses from this spezialised program from Univ. Michigan.

por Iman v A

12 de nov. de 2018

I thought it was very informative, but felt the assignments lacked challenge. I never spent more than 15 minutes on them because 80+ % of the code was already provided and you basically only had to fill in the blanks.

por Jaison A

18 de dic. de 2016

Solid foundational database concepts in Python if you're looking to learn the basics or brush up on fundamentals. However, if you're looking for more advanced topics, you might want to look at more advanced classes.

por Zenil S

9 de mar. de 2018

Get to learn basics of SQL in this course.A good chunk of code to be used in assignments is explained before in lectures, so you solve a similar if not same problem in the assignment which is shown in the lecture.

por SG

2 de mar. de 2018

Having done other courses in the specialization, I found that the lectures of Week 4 and Week 5 involved very less modification to the existing code, thereby reducing the ability to try out coding on one's own.

por Todd S

15 de dic. de 2015

Another great class that covers a lot of information that builds nicely on the preceding classes. I would like to see an additional Exercises per topic that more complex. Maybe add an extra credit or bonus one.

por YANG J

9 de jul. de 2020

Highly recommendable and instructive. Yet the content of this course is a bit introductive so that I haven't learned that much SQL and database skills using Python. Though, it is very suitable for beginners.

por Hung-Chia Y

16 de mar. de 2018

Towards the end of the course, the code starts getting a lot complex. Even though Dr. Severance said not to worry about a lot of them, I don't feel I understand the material as fully as the previous courses.

por Rony A

7 de ago. de 2017

The course was interesting and broad in teaching SQL and its use in handling simple and complex databases. What I missed though, was more emphasis and hands-on exercises on the use of SQL in Python scripts.

por Ologia E

8 de sep. de 2020

A very challenging, fun and useful course. Things come together as we learn how to incorporate what we've previously learned as well as a deeper understanding of the terms we've been using in course 3.

por Георгий Ф

11 de oct. de 2017

This course is extremely simple and it is not very good. To become a better programmer you have to write a lot of code. Theory is helpful too, but practice is much more needed. More practice, please...

por Richard E A M

5 de mar. de 2017

I know that Dr. Chuck mentioned that he can't cover everything about databases and SQL. But I felt that the content could have been a bit more informative.

Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck and the teaching staff.

por Brent T

1 de feb. de 2020

Course is worthwhile taking and Dr. Severance is engaging in the videos. People new to Python should read book chapters prior to viewing videos so as to familiarize themselves with the subject matter.

por Sean Q Z

11 de sep. de 2016

I hope this can be a little bit more challenge. All the assignments are easy to be finished, some of them can be done within minutes. Comparing with JHU's R programming, that can be too hard, though.

por Junaid S

23 de oct. de 2020

It teaches about the basic concepts of databases and how to use them (sqlite3) with python.

Considering that databases are used in almost every application, the course needed to provide more details.