Chevron Left
Volver a Using Databases with Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Using Databases with Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
19,041 calificaciones
2,883 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Aspectos destacados
High quality course material
(143 reseñas)
Top rated instructor
(176 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

MM
12 de mar. de 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB
13 de ene. de 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 2,797 revisiones para Using Databases with Python

por Abbas J

18 de oct. de 2020

Maybe the best course in the specialization, it also a quit reasonable intro to SQL and Sqlite database. It treated what was possibly the most complex subject in this specialization with a lot of care, neither simplifying too much nor making SQL and RDBMS concepts too difficult to understand for novices.

I have been saying this repetitively, but with this particular course, it is worth repeating even more: more exercises, maybe some thing like

https://codingbat.com/python would be very useful. So would more quizzes.

por Anand B S

17 de oct. de 2016

The Teacher made me thirsty of more work. Especially in the last chapter, I was looking for more challenging work. The way the assignment was designed and the topics were taught made me think, the assignment for the last week was quite easier and I was expecting something more challenging. This proves the beauty of this class. I wish I have a trainer like this always with me, at least as long as I cannot go out and look for work myself.

Thanks a million to Dr. Charles Severance. This is a very positive experience.

por Kieran M

2 de feb. de 2017

Dr. Chuck is very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about ensuring that everybody know how to program. Further to this, the information that was provided in this course, along with the specialization's accompanying courses, gave me enough knowledge to begin my own venture into scraping, cleaning and storing web content. Add this to the University of Michigan's specialization in Data Science and you'll definitely have solid foundational knowledge of how to collect, manipulate and analyze digital data.

por Christina O

31 de dic. de 2015

Dr Chuck makes the daunting look less daunting. Subjects covered include exploration of API, grounding in data scraping etiquette, basic data modeling economical database normalization, continuation of Google API geocoding, use of Python for scraping and cleaning data. The course assumption is that if you made it this far, you can handle a speedier pace of content delivery. The discussion forums are more valuable too, as one learns what libraries and functions differ between Python 2.7.x and Python 3.x.

por JIANGHONG Y

21 de jun. de 2019

I'm going to recommend THIS course to everyone, to me it's like the core course of the whole bunch of stuff. It's very easy to find syntax about Python on the web, cause you have Python in your mind, after all that what you're pursuing. But modern programming is more than that: you need storage to store all information/data you gathered. That's why you need to learn this course. All basic concepts are covered, SQL, primary key, etc. Even if you don't use Python, databases are still of most importance.

por Edward F

31 de may. de 2017

I took the Python Specialization, which included this course, so I'm going to provide the same review for each of the component courses.

I think this is an excellent course for beginning programmers. Python is a great language for someone starting out - easy to learn - with a lot of power available for more advanced projects (e.g., machine learning).

But, most of all, you have to love Dr. Serverance. I can't think of a more entertaining and enjoyable person to teach programming. Thanks, Dr. Chuck.

por Nestor R

13 de ene. de 2016

As having completed all coursers of introduction to python environment, I can fully recommend this series of courses to anyone interested in learning how to program. Is it not an impossible task, just a little time and commitment. Thanks to Dr. Chuck, he is the best teacher and he really knows how to lay these subjects in an easy and understandable way. I hope in the future there will be more courses like these to become a better programmer and student and to learn new and interesting things.

por Mustafa K

3 de jun. de 2017

I had a basic knowledge on SQL and database. This course gave me opportunity to use these skills in a programming language Python. Course provides not only dealing with SQL but also other web data exchange tools such as xml and json. As all you know from former courses, Dr. Chuck makes a great job and keep everything simple by giving key points and ideas to students and encouraging them to explore more of it. Thanks a lot for this great course series and highly recommend to anyone.

por Youssef A H E

31 de dic. de 2020

Simply amazing, I never thought I would be able to do so much with Python, matter of fact I didn't know Python had so much capabilities. Very well explained, Prof. Charles made it very easy and understandable and with so many codes and exercises given you can practice and get hands-on coding. I specially loved the last quiz where I was able to get an API key from google and insert it into my code in order to get the location of a nearby building and visualize it on maps. AMAZING

por JieZhang

5 de mar. de 2020

Overall good. However, I often feel incomprehensible during the lecture. Teachers often mention things that have not been taught before. And I have no foundation in computers, which leads me to not understand what the teacher is saying. There are too many codes that have not been taught in the code examples. Although I can roughly understand what those functions are, I can't clearly understand the meaning of each line in a program, which makes me feel frustrated and confused.

por Jasper A B

15 de sep. de 2020

Great learning experience. Now on my last leg of the specialization and I feel comfortable making my own programs. I started with 0 programming knowledge but advanced Excel skills. I have made various programs and made even more friends withing the PY4E community. This course has definitely helped me make the programs I want and needs. From simple to more complex web scraping and data base management personal projects this course will definitely guide you through Python 3.

por Vadim Y

21 de feb. de 2016

As with the previous courses in this series, this class is excellent. It builds on what what was discussed in the preceding courses and combines it all to show students how it all comes together to create practical applications. Not only that, but you will learn about how databases work as well as best practices for building databases. Charles Severance has a way of making seemingly complex concepts very simple to understand. One of my favorite instructors thus far.

por Joseph D

27 de ene. de 2016

These courses, taught by the well spoken Professor Severance, is fantastic for beginners in the Python language. I feel like I've learned more from these than any book I just picked up and started reading. Charles Severance not only explains how to work with Python but the full spectrum of W's(who, what, when, why).

I'd recommend signing up for this if you are interested in Python. In fact, I've touted its usefulness to quite a few people in conversation.

por Alexander P

4 de mar. de 2016

This course does an excellent job of blending a basic introduction to relational databases and SQLite with some important tools in Python. Folks comfortable with SQL can probably skip most of the lecture in weeks 2 and 3, as the content is focused on learning SQL and using the SQLite browser as opposed to using Python with these tools. This was a great way to bring together the fundamentals from the first three courses in this specialization.

por Anastasia K

30 de jun. de 2020

Since I have informed my family that I started with Python and ohhhh I will be finally programming, they kept saying "yeah that's cool but you also should learn to treat databases". I was like "what are databases? why databases?"

And after this course I will definetely go further for them! SQlight is so convenient and cool!

I like Dr Chuck's style of teaching very much and always follow him. This course is worth the highest grade ever!

por Vince S

3 de ene. de 2021

I had a great time learning about databases using Python. The teacher makes the course a great experience. The level of difficulty is suitable for anyone who wants to learn Python. A lot of the coding for each assignment is given to you. Some may find the course assignments too easy. However, once you have completed the courses, it is up to the individual as to what you wan to do with your new knowledge. I highly recommend the course.

por Mykhailo K

28 de feb. de 2020

Great course to make students familiar with databases fundamentals, data retrieving from API and data mining concepts. Prof. Severance excellent teacher and tells about history of information technologies and about databases fundamentals in that way to interest the students.

For me it was a little bit easy class, because I'm already familiar with the databases, but the rest of the course was new for me, useful and very interesting.

por Mladen R

26 de dic. de 2016

This course gives a great introduction to SQL and how it can be used inside of Python for communicating with Databases. The pace is good and the exercises are explained well, though the quizzes can be a bit more difficult. Final exercise was good, but I think it can be more challenging by giving less suggestions how to do something and by giving more independence to students. Overall, the course was awesome and I learned a lot.

por Yash B

15 de oct. de 2016

This course is as awesome as the other ones in the series. I love the way things from all the courses(SQL, accessing data from web API's etc.) merges together in the end. This course complements the others and the series as a whole teaches one enough to develop some useful programs.

I wish there were more of coding exercises rather than just code completion. Overall, a great learning experience with Dr. Chuck, the Pythonista.

por Juan J C

3 de mar. de 2016

The final course in the amazing Python for Everybody Specialization by UMich and Dr. Charles Severance. Really glad I took part in these series, which improved my skills in Python programming. Real hands-on approach to show the basic and essential concepts about how to interface with databases using as a tool the embedded sqlite, how to correctly define normalized tables, and how to implement important design patterns.

por Andres F A H

31 de oct. de 2016

The course is amazing, the professor gives you right examples an amount of information for understanding the topics. After you finish the course you are not an expert but you have the right concepts and knowledge for developing your projects. Furthermore, the additional material (interviews) are pretty interesting. I audit the course but I did all the homework, you must do the homework to really understand the topics.

por Kaloyan A

10 de ago. de 2019

I definitely recommend this course! It advances one's knowledge not only in Python - which is the purpose of the whole specialization - but also in domains such as databases, data management systems, and pretty much all the basic knowledge one needs to obtain basic understanding of a company/product data infrastructure. It' a must-take! And of course, as usual, Dr. Chuck makes the whole experience a true enjoyment.

por Brett S

26 de sep. de 2018

This course provided an thorough conceptual introduction to Databases, their basic structure and function, and insight into how they can be incorporated into practical applications. A few of the problems were challenging, but worth while once the solutions became apparent. If you have already completed the first three courses in the series i would advise you give this an effort. It should prove to be beneficial.

por Clark P

3 de ene. de 2017

Still absolutely awesome program. Only two comments. I understand it's probably necessary, but I didn't like relying on code I didn't understand - I don't like the "take it on faith". Other is that I liked the old video approach in which both Dr. Chuck and the code were visible simultaneously, rather than alternating between. Otherwise a really important course to make available to everybody. Thanks -

por Cornelia C

29 de may. de 2020

I loved the course, course material and instructor. This was one of my favourite courses in the specialisation, and loved learning about SQL - even if it is just at a very basic level. It would have been nice if we learnt a few more SQL language principles (but I realise that this is a Python course :-)) - but it has given me some food for thought - and also possibly inspired me to take a SQL course next.