Chevron Left
Volver a Using Databases with Python

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Using Databases with Python por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
20,399 calificaciones
3,123 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Aspectos destacados
High quality course material

(143 reseñas)

Top rated instructor

(176 reseñas)

Principales reseñas

MM

12 de mar. de 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

16 de jun. de 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filtrar por:

2476 - 2500 de 3,043 revisiones para Using Databases with Python

por Vicente G R

16 de abr. de 2021

I believe the assignments tend be too easy and do not promote using the learned concepts in different ways. Also, I believe that some explanations were missing. In general, I think that including material as in the last assignment with script or code not covered in the course (javascript/html) is not a good idea because we end up using something without understanding fully how it works.

por Djamshid B

2 de dic. de 2019

As usual Professor Charles Severance was too meticulous to make a course taker understand the fundamentals of database design and querying. However, as a certified database administrator I lacked the information on normal forms - the framework for any relational database architecture. However, maybe I am just requiring too much from the short course for beginners.

por KARTHIKEYAN B

21 de mar. de 2020

Good course. However I think it would be better if the codes are not spoon fed. May be I could be wrong and that is how it needs to be taught - but when codes are mostly written, simple hacks can generate credits. But the hardwork of Mr Severance and his invisible colleagues is visible in every lecture and slides!!! Thanks to Mr Severance for wonderful experience

por Roger M

27 de oct. de 2021

The course provided an overview of databases and SQL and how Python can be used in relation to them. One gets an introduction to techniques of data science. There was not a lot of programming in this class. Most of the exercises/problems consisted of making small modifications to sample code. Dr. Chuck is a knowledgeable, effective, and entertaining instructor.

por Fredrik M

30 de oct. de 2016

This works really well for an introduction on databases and how to use them with Python. The exercises are maybe a bit too easy. On the one hand, this makes it easy to actually complete the course (and you still learn the basics), but on the other hand, you don't get that familiar with the material.

The lecturer is intelligent and funny and structured.

por 王颖亮

3 de jul. de 2018

I think this course is a bit of shorter. The final assignment could be arranged in a way more challenging than now it is. Besides, there are a lot of features in SQL can dig in, say LEFT/RIGHT/OUTER JOIN, GROUP BY, HAVING, Nested SQL structure, some basic SQL formula/functions like Max/Min/Sum/Average which is not tricky and fundamental in SQL.

por Jaydeep T

31 de ene. de 2021

A lot of code is done based on other technologies that most people don't know about. Dr. Chuck doesn't get to go in detail about that. I think the course structure should cover everything (at least at a basic level) that is used in a code. Some students may not find it too hard but not everyone here is from CS background. Good course overall.

por Pradeep A

29 de nov. de 2019

Another great course by Dr. Chuck. He is eloquent, patient and clear about what his explaining. However, I feel that he should have gone into greater detail about certain topics such as APIs, geodata and database management. Nevertheless, this is an excellent course and everyone interested in database management (using Python) should try it.

por Akshat A

20 de may. de 2018

I understand that delving into databases was not the motive and based on that the brevity of this course is rather appreciated. Although superficial examples raised the bar too high. Geo-coding example kind of turned down the spirits since i was unable to understand whether or not to understand the given JS and HTML codes.

por Carl B

20 de abr. de 2018

Really enjoyed the course however I found some language not explained properly in enough detail. Also found some of the worked examples too complete. Had to go over and rewrite from scratch so I understood fully - would be nice if some had a couple of assignments, one simpler and one complex so its not so much of a leap

por Julian F C Q

1 de nov. de 2019

It is a great course, but it would have been great that it included how to perform data visualization in Python instead of just showing Javascript code. And I would also like to recommend to write at leat most of the SQL statements instead of just pasting them. Having said that, thank you Chuck for your efforts!

por Benjamin N

2 de sep. de 2018

I think the assignments could be harder.

The allotted tasks sound really difficult, but you're given base code which requires minimal changes, if any. I think that more challenging tasks would aid my retention better. As it is, I think I will want to look up additional exercises in the textbook, or something.

por VENKAT K K

7 de ago. de 2020

The way of teaching SQL was very good but the last week which included visualization was bad.I thought that visualization would be done by using python or in jupyter but it was done using javascript(which is not included in course) and giving no idea on using js and html but overall the course was GOOD!!

por ali s

4 de ago. de 2018

The course was great. I feel though that the code walk thrus are not thorough enough; and thats important for someone with no background in coding. Often a new concept/line of code comes in and is not dealt with in sufficient detail that leads you confused and ruining the whole program understanding.

por Joseph V

20 de jun. de 2017

This was a good generic course. The only thing I'd like to see is accessing other types of database - I work in an environment which utilizes MS SQL Server, and will need to do a bunch of researching and trial and error to figure out what Libraries need to be included and how to connect the databases.

por djamileh

9 de ago. de 2018

As usual, intuitive, clear, well structured and amazingly informative.

The missing star : A bit less coding than the other classes on Python - that is, using a lot of code already written and just modifying it. Thus, it might feel like you know the code but you have just "seen" it.

por Eugene B

23 de ene. de 2019

This course could've been a little more challenging. Too many assignments were just "run the files provided." I don't feel like I ended up getting to know the material quite as much as the previous courses. I ended up re-writing a lot of code myself just to get to know it better.

por Daniel H

8 de may. de 2017

Good instruction on SQL. Final project was too simple given the tools that instructor had armed us without throughout the course. Could've had more programming involved in the last assignment of the course to really test knowledge on integrating python with SQL and databases.

por Vignesh S

15 de sep. de 2016

I felt that more time could have been spent going over the python code in the last section. The code was made available, and it is up to the students to review the code at their own pace. This is good. It may further help to go over the code in the video lectures themselves.

por Christopher S A

31 de may. de 2019

Good course, the exercises in later weeks could have been a bit more challenging hence the ding on this. The reading material also isn't lined up well with the online course - it would be great if the reading material shared what chapter is to be read for each course/week.

por Malcolm H

5 de feb. de 2017

Great course! Dr. Severance really put a lot of thought and effort into his videos and assignments.

This course took a big leap, in terms of program complexity, from the prior courses in the series. This course could have been twice as long, and dug deeper into the details.

por Ryan M

28 de mar. de 2016

This course only touches on python + relational databases. Specifically, investigates SQLITE and the sqlite3 python library. The work is very minuscule (assignments were to simply modify pre-written python scripts). Nevertheless, good introduction to DB coding in python.

por Sarah M

6 de feb. de 2016

+ I appreciated the visual nature of the course

+ I appreciated the background info on databases

+ I liked learning SQL and using the SQLite browser.

- update to python3, I'm running python3 and found it difficult to correct the issues with urllibs in the ifnal assignmet.

por Khurram S

22 de abr. de 2021

The assignments were mainly just related to updating the code in an existing file and making it do something else. However, I would have liked it if we were made to code from scratch in the assignments.

Other than that, it is a great introduction to Databases and SQL.

por Seraphim A

5 de ene. de 2016

Overall, an excellent course, as all courses from Dr Chuck.

The last assignment could have been more demanding to stretch our learning before the Capstone.

It is a real pity that one has to pay for all previous courses in order to take the final Capstone :-(

Well done!