Chevron Left
Volver a Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
1,299 calificaciones
179 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Principales revisiones

SG

Sep 16, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

DN

Jan 29, 2020

Great follow-on from the basics with essential information. Well constructed series, well presented lessons, with great practice questions. I feel a big step closer to writing useful python code.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 181 revisiones para Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

por Коньшин Д И

Jun 14, 2019

Finally, some challenge!

Sorting using anonimous lambda functions is awesome.

Final project is a bit confusing at start, because it supposes some independence (for the first time in a course I had to google some information). I think, it's a good practice, because in the end you become more confident in yourself.

por Umut S

Mar 07, 2019

Incredibly well put together course from UMich. I found the content to be between entry and intermediate levels. All the efforts that went into the preparation of this course are much appreciated. All details that were optimized such as pacing, consistent practices, ideal difficulty, fun factor, subjects, articulate explanations etc. made a huge difference in the MOOC experience. Many thanks again!

por Michael N

Jan 05, 2019

This is the course to do because it makes use of spaced repetition learning - scientifically proven to be the best for recollection.

por Napoleon B

Apr 07, 2019

"If you want to learn the basics of Python3 programming as a newb, this is the perfect course!"

por Timothy P

Apr 15, 2019

Very good course. I would recommend to anyone wishing to learn to program in python.

por Ravi S V

Feb 16, 2019

Nice course. Don't know why it isn't more popular.

por Ivan M

Sep 30, 2019

The course is very sloppy. The negligence is just beyond my understanding. There are typos in the text. There are false statement in what is said (e.g. about some Windows operating system long ago not supporting long file names - Windows 3.1 wasn't an OS, and Windows 95 already supported them). There are obvious lapsus linguae in what is said. There are arrogant mistakes in TESTS! E.g.: it asks "sort-5-1: What will the sorted function sort by?

and says: "first country name (alphabetically), then temperature (lowest to highest)" but in the task script are "Reykjavik, Buenos Aires, Cairo, Berlin and Caloocan "

Since when Reykjavik, Buenos Aires, Cairo, Berlin and Caloocan are countries?!?

And it gets even more interesting in the next question! I.e. "sort-5-2: What how will the following data be sorted?" and among options:

A. first country name (reverse alphabetically), then temperature (lowest to highest)

C. first country name (reverse alphabetically), then temperature (lowest to highest)

The answers A and C are exactly the same. BUT! - The "A" is correct, while "C" is not!

And the microphone used within the specialization is very sensitive - so you hear them swallow every time. And since they are visibly uncomfortable being in front of a camera, they gulp down A LOT.

The course should be proof-read, proof-heard, the videos should be edited and the exams revisited. So far it is a disgrace to Coursera and american education.

por James U

Jul 16, 2019

Excellent lessons, check your understanding, e-book, practice, and quiz work. This is not easy. You must know how to implement the instructions and be a bit clever as well. It is not perfect, but close enough.

Only issues are more suggestions. 1. To have a Show Me and then get a new questions, when you are stuck. The user blogs are only of minimal help. 2. To be precise in expectations - QA the requests for comprehension by students. I found expert reviews to be of marginal help as they all have assumptions.

por Igor F

Jan 27, 2019

This course helps to understand how to use context manager to prevent you from forget to close files that are opened for write, nicely explains how you can iterate through files directly. It helps to understand why using a local variable inside a function is a good idea. Finally it helps to understand how to treat dictionaries and tuples. Overall, that's creates a great foundation for the subsequent course in the specialization. Very enjoyed.

por Jason J D

Jun 24, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed this course. Not only did it help me gain an insight on Python files, dictionaries and functions, but it also helped me use these concepts smartly to create a project. A very well paced and well structured course. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Python, and especially to those who have completed the first course of this Python specialization.

por Debasish P

Aug 30, 2019

This course will enable you to move from basic to a bit into intermediate level and believe me the material and the way of explanation is so simple that even a person with zero knowledge will be able to learn easily.

One small thing wanted to highlight that while doing this course please give all your concentartion into this.

Hope they keep on upgrading the course over the time period.

por Tatiana A

Sep 27, 2019

This course is grear, as well as previous one in this specialization.

I finally got how to use Lambda and Sorted functions. Love the interactive materials and all the practice questions. As always the more practice the merrier. On another note, this course need to be readproofed again - I saw many little mistakes here and there in the interactive book.

por Ho W J

Jan 25, 2020

Final project will test you cumulative contents learned from the course 1. By this time, you probably know that copy and paste don't really help. Try not too much use google. Once you write project on your code, you , you will definitely feel like you have made a quantum jump.

por Keli C M A

Oct 31, 2019

I am so happy for that conquer. Seriously. I took Python classes at college, it wasn't that effective at all. I had so much advance on this course that I am very interested in getting more advanced python courses. Thank you, Coursera, and my colleagues and Michigan University.

por Phillip D

Jul 08, 2019

I loved this class. They cover the material is a slow and methodical manner. The instructors are clear and concise in their lectures. I've learned a lot and look forward to finishing this specialization before moving on to more advanced Python classes.

por Jerbie d l C

Oct 08, 2019

Things are getting more challenging and exciting with this 2nd course in the specialization. Topics build on previous lessons and apply them in more challenging ways. I'm really glad I took this series of courses to help me get the right skills I need

por Iziren O

Sep 11, 2019

Really good course on Python Fundamentals and Dictionaries. The data structures were well-explained. I have taken a few Python courses before even the very good one from Dr. Chuck Severance (Python for everybody) and this is the best one so far.

por Sebastian S

Nov 26, 2019

This is an excellent course for learning Python in depth. This is much different than YouTube videos, where you just follow along. You actually apply what you learn here with assignments, and it's much easier to get ahold of what's going on.

por Stephen T

Oct 07, 2019

The second course in the Python 3 Certification sequence. The instructors are very experienced introducing concepts and then expanding on them to ensure you internalize the skill. This is a hands-on practical course. It is worth your time.

por Harsahib S

May 17, 2019

Very good interface really started to enjoy developing code in Python,only one thing I like to highlight is that the inputs for the final project i.e sentiment analysis were less,please modify that part a bit.

Thank you all instructors...

por BRAHMESHWAR S

Aug 18, 2019

The course was very good and tutors were maintaining the interest levels and kept them increasing from one lecture to another lecture and made the learning process much interesting. Overall not only I liked the course but also loved it.

por Karen v E

Aug 08, 2019

A wonderful learning resource. So very thorough and explains everything. The lecturers are friendly and have easy voices to listen to. This is the best course teaching a programming language that I have encountered. Top recommendation.

por Ralph P

May 12, 2019

Great progression of content from the first course and looking forward to the next. The final project was a bit of step up in difficulty, but not impossible. This specialization has been a great introduction to Python.

por Brian C

Jun 25, 2019

Great Course, it's a good gradual increase in complexity coming from the Python Basics course. I'd highly encourage anyone reading this to jump right in if they've finished the first course already (this is course 2/5)

por George M

Jul 15, 2019

Great overall. Some of the exercise were a little repetitive. A few exercises might be essentially the same question just with different data/numbers. The course communicated the concepts it aims to effectively though.