Chevron Left
Volver a Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
4,195 calificaciones
658 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Principales reseñas

SD
24 de jun. de 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
15 de sep. de 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 657 revisiones para Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

por Brian L

19 de ene. de 2021

Thorough, the video follows the reading almost exactly (reinforcement), and Runestone allows for tons of practice and repetition. I'm getting started on the next course in the series right away. I took this course as a free yearly course offered to students, and then took advantage of Coursera's 25% off discount for a Coursera Plus account, which this and many other courses are included in. Looking forward to more great content from UM (GO BLUE!) and Coursera! Thank you to all involved.

por Habtamu S

11 de ago. de 2020

This course, which is a part of the specialization course, is one of the skillfully crafted courses. It equips learners with the very important conepts of python programming in a step wise approach. Also, it allows you to practise it through intesively in such a way that helps learners solidify their knowledge and practise. It is definately one of the best courses I have ever taken and would reccomend it to anyone who is committed to learn the course.

I

por Rameses

28 de may. de 2021

Excellent course, great instructors and an awesome textbook. Even though I have taken another Python course before , I learned a lot of new stuff in this course. The interactive textbook was superb. It helps you trace your code, gives excellent feedback and suggestions for corrections.

The final project was well designed and the incremental manner by which it was presented guided me in completing the project Definitely recommend this course

por Igor F

27 de ene. de 2019

This course helps to understand how to use context manager to prevent you from forget to close files that are opened for write, nicely explains how you can iterate through files directly. It helps to understand why using a local variable inside a function is a good idea. Finally it helps to understand how to treat dictionaries and tuples. Overall, that's creates a great foundation for the subsequent course in the specialization. Very enjoyed.

por Shubham T

23 de abr. de 2020

This was a super-fun course! The materials were very easy to follow, and delivered in a very friendly and engaging manner. I highly recommend this course to anyone just getting started in programming.I feel incredible that I knew almost nothing about programming just a month ago. Now I have done two of the courses of the specialization and I can actually understand other basic codes. Great course!

por Scott K

13 de dic. de 2020

Very informative. Great textbook and exercises. The lectures were a bit basic for me, but that's just because they were thorough. I was able to skip them and just use the online textbook and complete assignments to go faster when I wanted. Do yourself a favor and download PyCharm or another code editing program to make it easier to experiment on your own as you work through the assignments.

por FAYEZ Q

19 de ene. de 2021

I absolutely enjoyed this course. Not only did it help me gain an insight on Python files, dictionaries and functions, but it also helped me use these concepts smartly to create a project. A very well paced and well structured course. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Python, and especially to those who have completed the first course of this Python specialization.

por Debasish P

30 de ago. de 2019

This course will enable you to move from basic to a bit into intermediate level and believe me the material and the way of explanation is so simple that even a person with zero knowledge will be able to learn easily.

One small thing wanted to highlight that while doing this course please give all your concentartion into this.

Hope they keep on upgrading the course over the time period.

por Muhammed J Z

19 de sep. de 2020

This course really challenges your basics of handling files,lists,strings, dictionaries and functions in Python. The exercises and practice problems were very helpful and I learned a lot about using these python features in a practical context. The final assignment was also a very fun project. Overall, this course will definitely help those trying to hone their basics in Python.

por Tingting Y

9 de ago. de 2020

Overall it's a great course. The textbook has been very helpful; I find some of the exercises too easy though. I didn't watch most of the videos because I could understand the content very well just by reading the textbook. The final project offered an opportunity to solve a very close to life problem. I look forward to seeing more exercises like this in the following courses.

por Steven P

8 de may. de 2021

Hands down the courses in the specialty are the best online learning experience I've had. Lectures were short and clear. Practice was well designed to achieve full comprehension. Interactive textbook that incorporates practice without leaving the text allowed reading and practice to happen nearly simultaneously.

Excellent balance between theory and practice.

por Zainab S

6 de sep. de 2020

This course is just great I have learned many skills in this course and the way the professors teaches everything in detail and with patience without rushing is to be applauded but the thing I like the very most is the codelens it provides you real demonstration of what's actually going inside the program I really appreciate their efforts, Thank you so much

por Tatiana A

27 de sep. de 2019

This course is grear, as well as previous one in this specialization.

I finally got how to use Lambda and Sorted functions. Love the interactive materials and all the practice questions. As always the more practice the merrier. On another note, this course need to be readproofed again - I saw many little mistakes here and there in the interactive book.

por Ramesh K S

21 de abr. de 2020

In this course, I have learned about the importance of the user defined functions, to reduce the length of the code for a complex problem statement , and also learnt how to create and operate on files, and this course helps me to learn about the importance of Dictionaries when multiple types of Data has to be handled when solving a real time problem.

por Enam B

29 de jul. de 2020

Very informative. If you are a beginner, you must take the first course of the specialization and then this one. Week 4 materials were the most awesome one, especially, lambda tags. In the end, there was a very interesting assignment. Hopefully, you will like it whether you are a beginner or not. As always, massive love for professor Paul Resnick.

por PANIDAPU H C

7 de abr. de 2020

FIRSTLY,I WOULD LIKE TO THANK ALL THE INSTRUCTORS.THE WAY OF TEACHING IS EXCELLENT.I LIKE THIS COURSE.I THINK IT WILL HELP ME MORE FOR LEARNING MORE PROGRAMMING LANGUAGES.

I LIKE PROFESSOR STEVE ONEY AND PROFESSOR PAUL RESNICK LECTURES.ONCE AGAIN I WOULD LIKE TO THANK PROFESSOR STEVE ONEY AND PROFESSOR PAUL RESNICK FOR INSTRUCTING ME VERY WELL.

por Kevin M

29 de mar. de 2021

Fantastic course. This course and specialization so far are superbly taught and very enjoyable and I am learning the material well. I have two degrees from Michigan and the instruction in this course is as good, if not better, than what I have experienced even in the most excellent of courses in my prior experience. Great job!

por Sara T

7 de jun. de 2020

The course content is great and the instructors are brilliant because they can illustrate the course content to people with basic knowledge and make them understand every single detail. Thank you for explaining in a very simple way and giving us such assignments to check our understanding and engage us better in deep learning.

por Santiago F M S

25 de dic. de 2020

Of the courses I have taken so far, this one was one of the best. I almost did not watched the videos, only read and practiced using the book.

I was not 100% happy with the instructions provided to use google sheets on the last assignment. I think this should be improved, as many people may not have experience using it.

por Jinesh S

23 de jun. de 2020

The course goes on a prefect pace with great in depth insights and knowledge. Great instructors and course material with practice tools, interactive textbook, and exercises are the perfect way to learn programming. Many examples to follow through and sense of logical reasoning is also included for each examples.

por Bijoy K B

7 de feb. de 2021

It is good course which covers Files and Dictionaries. I learnt about lambda expressions and how to use them as key in sorted function, through which I can specify the comparison criteria. The textbook was also good, providing all the key information. Overall it's a great course to learn more of python.

por Tushar S

29 de abr. de 2020

This course was a bliss to complete. I loved the way it takes you through the various concepts. The tutors make it so much happening that you will not feel bored about it, especially Paul Resnick's jokes, haha you can giggle for minutes .

Thanks to all the tutors and Coursera for making such a course.

por Brian U

24 de jul. de 2020

I had very high expectations for this course after taking the first course in the sequence and a couple of Dr. Chuck Severance's courses. The combination of the online Runestone textbook with short videos and daily practice is fantastic. I look forward to my 5 practice questions every morning.

por Sai V

21 de mar. de 2020

A very well structured course that teaches you a lot of fundamental programming structures and how they are implemented with python. I learnt a lot on this course and it's been very helpful. Looking forward to use this course and move on to the next one on the specialization !

por Ho W J

25 de ene. de 2020

Final project will test you cumulative contents learned from the course 1. By this time, you probably know that copy and paste don't really help. Try not too much use google. Once you write project on your code, you , you will definitely feel like you have made a quantum jump.