Chevron Left
Volver a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.7
estrellas
4,687 calificaciones
1,475 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks. SPECIAL NOTE: Python Programming: A Concise Introduction course will close for new learner enrollment on 2/16/22. In order to earn a Course Certificate, you will need to complete all graded assignments by 8/16/22. If you are interested in earning a Course Certificate for this course, please upgrade or apply for Financial Aid by 8/16/22. If you are a Coursera for Business learner, you can continue to use your sponsored credit through that date....

Principales reseñas

LR
3 de ene. de 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

RR
3 de feb. de 2020

Thanks for the clear explanations and the easy examples. I think it is a good introductionary course and it gives a good starting point to move further to more sophisticated topics and applications.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 1,468 revisiones para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por Peter K

10 de dic. de 2017

I opened and started this course because I was searching for a Python courses. I somehow misunderstood the fact that this course is for "beginner programmers" and not "beginners in Python" (could be just simply me, I am new to Coursera). I am already a skilled programmer with more than 10 years of commercial practice. And I have some reasons to review this course poorly. If I'd be a beginner programmer, this course is not bringing some real life problems and not explaining their solutions and how to solve it in computer program. Such an example is crucial for beginner programmers. Padding output in a string with spaces is just a waste of time. Implementing a console program with menu in infinite loop and reading from and writing to a CSV file, which is called a "database", was fancy maybe 20 years ago. I don't think this course is teaching much about Python nor is bringing a beginner programmer any further. It's 21st century, IT world is full of millions of technologies, and pure Python is not going to help in real life on it's own. Explaining more about data structures, some basic but important programming principles, involving a real database for data persistence, some real life problems and their solutions, even if one or two more weeks would be needed to finish the course, and it could get on a completely different level.

por Olena I

25 de nov. de 2020

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

por Kumar A

16 de jun. de 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

por Sergio A

31 de dic. de 2017

It is well done but it is very basic. The method is good since we get the basic programs to work with them and follow the lectures. The instructor explains things in a detailed and clear manner.

por Brandon G

12 de dic. de 2016

This course was pretty okay, I'd say. I did learn several new things and consider myself "introduced" to the world of python. Unfortunately, as a BRAND NEW programmer, it was, at times hard to keep up. There were a number of elements that weren't sufficiently explained during the lessons/assignments (presumably because we 'should' have a basic understanding of coding already...I guess?). If this is the case, some outside study/background research may be necessary, at times. The instructor was actually relatively helpful, though the forum format makes for lag in help time, meaning you could be stuck on a problem or with a question for a while (again...outside study/research required). Overall, as I said, I learned things- yay! This course is for the very patient, however, and may likely by too simplistic for those with programming experience, too difficult for those who have never coded or maybe just right for some lucky few.

por Mehmet M A

19 de jun. de 2019

This course is useful for three groups of people. In the first group, there are people who don't know any programming: the course provides the programming essentials in Python. Python is one of the best, if not the best, languages to learn programming. In the second group are people who learned programming long ago but haven't used until know. For the second group, of which I was a member until recently, the course serves as a refresher that comes with a modern and widely used language. In the third group, there are active programmers who want to switch to Python. The course can help these grasp and use Python quickly.

por Lucas R

4 de ene. de 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

por Radanielson T

7 de jul. de 2019

it is horrible

por Ryan C

17 de may. de 2020

Great overview course in python. I was super excited it uses Spyder. The auto-grader is finicky sometimes, but fair and quick. Highly suggest this for anyone looking to cut their teeth on python.

por Connie B

2 de ago. de 2020

It's likely to be me because I'm old, but this was a terrible first experience. The first video (hard to see) modeled the first steps that were wrong because the program has been changed. But the document at the beginning of the course about changes makes little sense until you are in the exercises and have to deal with that issue. Put those changes in the documentation where the issue is found! Better yet, update the videos when the lesson they display has substantively changed.

The forums were hard for me to figure out too. An introduction on how to navigate the course (overview, lessons, messages, forums, timelines) might have helped.

If anyone is overseeing this, maybe you could monitor the forums to see how many people are having the same problems, hint: fix the problems!

por Malcomb M

5 de abr. de 2018

Content was OK for beginning Python, and I liked the Spyder IDE a lot -- but audio and graphic quality were atrocious, probably the worst I've ever encountered in a university sponsored course. Fingers pounding on keyboard and poor voice quality reflect a lack of proper recording equipment. Tiny print on screens made it un-viewable on many devices, even in full-screen mode, from tablets to 50" TV that I sit 10 ft away from!

por Sydney C

8 de jun. de 2021

This course is outdated. Lesson 1 you try to select lines, it was taking me 20 minutes to figure out what I was doing wrong. I decided to just Google why the command Ctrl + Enter and I found out this is an old command that is now F9. This was not even 10 minutes into the first lecture.

por Pragna P H

2 de feb. de 2020

Excellent structure of the course. Bill sir is extremely knowledgeable and patient with all doubts & inquiries regarding the course or python in general. The course is highly recommended for anyone wanting to learn the language and start their data analytical journey. The tests at the end of each week is perfectly designed for a beginner and well-balanced with a good amount of learning all the right things to get started with python programming. Happy leaning! And of course, don't hesitate to make mistakes, always try out the lesson exercises on your own before watching the videos so you know how to tackle and get to know your strengths & weaknesses better :)

por Ana L

9 de jun. de 2018

Very basic Python intro. Will teach you most of the basics, but I personally expected a bit more in-depth learning. The course will be definitely useful for people who have never programmed before but to those familiar with some other programming languages it will likely be too easy.Another problem was auto-grader, because of formatting issues in some cases it was very difficult to get the result to look like the auto-grader expected it to. It would help if auto-grader returned more helpful messages, for example showing what lines of the submission output have mismatched the expected.Overall, the course is a good intro to Python, recommended for those with no prior experience in programming.

por Eleftheriadis V

7 de ago. de 2019

The course doesn't go deep enough, even for an introductory.

por Gerald V

6 de nov. de 2016

For a beginners course I would expect more exercises about the different control structures and built-in mechanisms in Python. This course did not really provide a good story to follow through but jumped around between loops, inputs, number conversions, file I/O and so forth.

por Prasad K

1 de abr. de 2019

Totally disappointing course. Very hard to follow what the instructor is saying or trying to teach. Tough to say who the target audience for the course is.

por Jim M

24 de may. de 2019

I could have asked Quora if a retired engineer can learn Python for data analysis. But enter this course concise and practice to answer the question by myself. And I was able to understand, practice and learn with the method of this course, which I indicated as suitable to start at any age. I got 92.5 % !

por Abhinay T

3 de jun. de 2019

The course is good to learn python for students starting programming but for a student who has experience in other languages may find it slow......

por Shawn M

15 de oct. de 2019

Good basic course, but a bit clunky. Some of the weekly courses would place critical details at later points of the course and I would have to go back and repeat lessons.

There were also parts that I would get hung up on and need person to person discussion to get past. It would be helpful to have a chat function or other forum to discuss sections (maybe a class discussion forum, or an 'ask an instructor).

por Pathgeek

22 de feb. de 2018

By the end of the course I was picking up on the instructor's style-- it felt less like a course and more like looking over your uncle's shoulder when he worked on the car (or computer). The last week was a big jump from the prior weeks. The instructor uses spyder3 screenshots which are often hard to see.

por Benedict B

28 de may. de 2020

The course is much harder than advertised for beginners with little computer experience. While the lecture videos are easy to follow, they do not directly correspond to the updated python software, or to users on a mac. Downloading assignments is also extremely difficult as they never popped up in the manner they were to said to, which led to increased difficulty and frustration in the getting started process. After spending hours on the introduction exercises and having no luck in replicating the lecture videos, I will be looking for other courses that will better teach me python, rather than pulling my hair out during the set up process.

por James J

16 de jun. de 2017

English is my mother tongue, but I have a difficult time understanding the speaker. Also I have great difficulty in following his cursor, which he moves at a very high rate of speed. This is one of the poorest courses I have taken. I dropped out and hope to find something far better.

por chengxiaoxue

8 de may. de 2017

I like the content of this course. But the way of delivering is confusing and boring. Sometimes I lost the logic of video.

por Lenny S

8 de ene. de 2020

No me parece que el contenido se adapte al titulo. No te estan dando la introduccion a la programacion como tal.