Chevron Left
Volver a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.6
estrellas
2,958 calificaciones
986 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Principales revisiones

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

KA

Jun 16, 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

Filtrar por:

701 - 725 de 972 revisiones para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por Кузнецов Т А

Dec 04, 2019

Спасибо!

por Shitao L

Oct 14, 2019

so nice!

por harsha v n

Feb 08, 2019

perfect

por Bobby P P

Jan 08, 2018

Amazing

por Emmanuel B

Nov 20, 2017

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

por prathiban v

Oct 17, 2019

superb

por Md. H R

Jul 26, 2018

thanks

por Ben T

Nov 28, 2017

Great!

por Duchstf

Jun 11, 2017

Great!

por Zhursin D

Dec 22, 2018

COOL!

por xuhua

May 02, 2018

good!

por arjungopi k

May 20, 2020

good

por Sodha S P

May 14, 2020

good

por Sajith B S

Jun 01, 2018

good

por Yafei X

Oct 10, 2017

nice

por Faizal R

Sep 19, 2017

good

por amita_pallod@yahoo.com

Jul 21, 2017

good

por Jon I

May 12, 2017

A good short introduction to Python programming, which would also work well as a refreshed for someone who hasn't programmed in Python for a while and wanted to brush up on some of the basic syntax. I like the approach used, through using the Spyder integrated environment, and the exercises with extensive notes. Some of the exercises are a little painful in terms of the code we are asked to write, but it does get more 'Pythonic' towards the end of the course. I found the decision to only introduce returning values from functions in the last unit to be rather surprising, and even then it was only done in a very cursory way. On the plus side, I really liked the iterative description of the development of the phone database utility, which tied together everything introduced earlier in the course.

The only big issue with this course is that it could really do with being longer, and introducing some more of the key Python modules, together with more of the language features (such as list comprehensions) which people are likely to see in Python code written by others. Overall, though, it fulfils its objective to be a concise introduction to Python, and lays the groundwork for people to go and work through more extensive material elsewhere.

por Marko S

Jun 22, 2017

The course is a good intro but could have had a little more meat. As an experienced programmer in R, I just needed to understand the syntax differences... the course was good for that. One key takeaway is that Python is very picky about the indents in lines!

Automated grading makes the assignments less challenging but more tricky...the questions must be relatively simple because it's easy to miss one small detail and get stalled. If the answers were more complex, they would be that much harder to debug because all you get in terms of automated feedback is a yes or no, right or wrong. For example, I missed a period at the end of a sentence and could not figure out why the answer was wrong for several submissions. I would suggest that the assignments could be a little more freeform and have the checker be a little more "analog". There are ways to do this.

por Archit B

Apr 08, 2020

This has been a fantastic course which has helped me to understand the basics of Python programming clearly. The exercises taken during this course are very easy & helps one to understand the concept. Also the discussions have ample threads that help us to clear out any doubts. If previous ones are not to the point, then after creating the new thread, the mentors promptly reply. The only shortcoming was the last week, where databases are mentioned, so I got quite eager to learn about SQL or related databases. However, it consisted of a database created using coding & had many loops & statements to validate. It gave more stress on making the students use all the knowledge they have gathered in the past 3 weeks to be used.

Once again, a huge Thanks to Mr. Boyd for such a great course!

por Jairo H

Dec 26, 2016

Se trata de un curso de programación básico para principiantes aunque, desde mi punto de vista, se hace un poco complicado para aquellos que no tengan unos conocimientos mínimos en algún otro lenguaje de programación. En mi caso, haber estudiado antes Java me ha servido para superarlo con éxito. También pienso que vendría bien un poco más de teoría y explicar como está estructurado el lenguaje porque en el curso se ahonda rápido en el lenguaje pero no mucho en cómo se estructura. A mí al menos eso me ha confundido un poco y me he sentido perdido al principio.

Aun así, lo veo un curso muy práctico para aprender unas nociones básicas de este lenguaje.

por Jon S

May 25, 2017

Good basic course. I may have missed it but there was no discussion of libraries or more importantly where to find them until week 3. I keep using 'import xyz' but not really knowing what it was doing. I finally found the library and documentation pages that were talked about in week 03. this seems a good place to actually LOOK at them but I think they should be mention with the first excersise in week 01... "here we put in 'import xyz'. this has many many functions in it that allow us to shorten the work that we do."

In week 03 we open the documentation file and a library file to see how to navigate those (especially the documentation files)

por Thomas M

Dec 06, 2016

This was great. I had to do some more reading into the videos and spend more time trying to produce output in different formats to learn more.

I liked the fact that I could read the comments before watching the video and that they were enough of a primer for the lecture.

I wish there would have been a similar problem like the one for the database but one where we would need to write from scratch in order to get used to the different things introduced that week.

This was great as it is one of the few that use Python 3 and as a beginner I wanted to learn the new first and then work out the differences later on.

Thumbs up Prof. Boyd and crew!!

por Kishan S M

Aug 19, 2018

A good course for an introduction into python. I appreciate that the course insisted on the learners practicing along with the teaching, which turned out to be perfect for me. Was particularly useful when I had to learn python from scratch to start writing python scripts for my internship. I am sure one can start using python after completing week-2. My recommendation and the reason for only 4 stars is the level of difficulty of the assignments, I would have appreciated an incremental level of difficulty as one progresses through the problems. Although this does make it easier for very beginners.

por Greg F

Dec 21, 2017

Good overview of some Python functionality, but the style of the course seems a bit out-dated (e.g., downloading and uploading of multiple files rather than working in an online IDE as is common in other similar courses) and many libraries and methods are introduced quickly without a good explanation of where to go to get a detailed understanding. But, the exercises were straightforward and did a nice job of demonstrating the functionality being discussed. Ample opportunity was provided for self-experimentation with new concepts.