Chevron Left
Volver a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.6
estrellas
2,990 calificaciones
996 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Principales revisiones

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

RC

May 17, 2020

Great overview course in python. I was super excited it uses Spyder. The auto-grader is finicky sometimes, but fair and quick. Highly suggest this for anyone looking to cut their teeth on python.

Filtrar por:

726 - 750 de 979 revisiones para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por Archit B

Apr 08, 2020

This has been a fantastic course which has helped me to understand the basics of Python programming clearly. The exercises taken during this course are very easy & helps one to understand the concept. Also the discussions have ample threads that help us to clear out any doubts. If previous ones are not to the point, then after creating the new thread, the mentors promptly reply. The only shortcoming was the last week, where databases are mentioned, so I got quite eager to learn about SQL or related databases. However, it consisted of a database created using coding & had many loops & statements to validate. It gave more stress on making the students use all the knowledge they have gathered in the past 3 weeks to be used.

Once again, a huge Thanks to Mr. Boyd for such a great course!

por Jairo H

Dec 26, 2016

Se trata de un curso de programación básico para principiantes aunque, desde mi punto de vista, se hace un poco complicado para aquellos que no tengan unos conocimientos mínimos en algún otro lenguaje de programación. En mi caso, haber estudiado antes Java me ha servido para superarlo con éxito. También pienso que vendría bien un poco más de teoría y explicar como está estructurado el lenguaje porque en el curso se ahonda rápido en el lenguaje pero no mucho en cómo se estructura. A mí al menos eso me ha confundido un poco y me he sentido perdido al principio.

Aun así, lo veo un curso muy práctico para aprender unas nociones básicas de este lenguaje.

por Jon S

May 25, 2017

Good basic course. I may have missed it but there was no discussion of libraries or more importantly where to find them until week 3. I keep using 'import xyz' but not really knowing what it was doing. I finally found the library and documentation pages that were talked about in week 03. this seems a good place to actually LOOK at them but I think they should be mention with the first excersise in week 01... "here we put in 'import xyz'. this has many many functions in it that allow us to shorten the work that we do."

In week 03 we open the documentation file and a library file to see how to navigate those (especially the documentation files)

por Thomas M

Dec 06, 2016

This was great. I had to do some more reading into the videos and spend more time trying to produce output in different formats to learn more.

I liked the fact that I could read the comments before watching the video and that they were enough of a primer for the lecture.

I wish there would have been a similar problem like the one for the database but one where we would need to write from scratch in order to get used to the different things introduced that week.

This was great as it is one of the few that use Python 3 and as a beginner I wanted to learn the new first and then work out the differences later on.

Thumbs up Prof. Boyd and crew!!

por Kishan S M

Aug 19, 2018

A good course for an introduction into python. I appreciate that the course insisted on the learners practicing along with the teaching, which turned out to be perfect for me. Was particularly useful when I had to learn python from scratch to start writing python scripts for my internship. I am sure one can start using python after completing week-2. My recommendation and the reason for only 4 stars is the level of difficulty of the assignments, I would have appreciated an incremental level of difficulty as one progresses through the problems. Although this does make it easier for very beginners.

por Greg F

Dec 21, 2017

Good overview of some Python functionality, but the style of the course seems a bit out-dated (e.g., downloading and uploading of multiple files rather than working in an online IDE as is common in other similar courses) and many libraries and methods are introduced quickly without a good explanation of where to go to get a detailed understanding. But, the exercises were straightforward and did a nice job of demonstrating the functionality being discussed. Ample opportunity was provided for self-experimentation with new concepts.

por Raphaël R

Mar 01, 2018

This has been a great experience and a quick way to learn the basics of Python. This is a course where you need to learn a lot "on the job" so if your'e looking for a theorical perspective of the program it's not quite what you want. However, the exercices are fun and challenging and the lectures are really pratical. Be sure to listen everything during the lectures and you'll be fine. Also please note that the grader doesn't tell you what's wrong with your code so it's a great challenge to correct your submissions as well.

por N N

May 27, 2020

Good introduction to programming with python. Logically well designed for programmers in mind where some technical terms are carefully crafted to be minor agenda and python tricks are displayed and used in a beautiful way. Learners need to understand the logic before start writing codes to solve problems and exercises. Auto-grader is slightly strict and causes a deal of frustration during the first weeks. If the auto-grader can be set to be flexible, that will help learners to pursue the further steps.

por Marino E

Dec 18, 2017

A good way to get introduced to Python Programming. It is by no means complete since some fundamental concepts are not discussed. One would need to further brush up on fundamentals and then go for more advanced courses. I found the Python courses offered by University of Toronto more challenging and fulfilling. But this course served it's purpose as a quick introductory programming course since I last programmed 20+ years ago.

por Robert C

Nov 03, 2018

The course had all of the information. Sometimes it was rather challenging and I relied on going through the different discussion questions. It might make sense to go through these questions (since they are a few years old now, and make a general FAQ). Thanks for creating the course, it was my first real attempt at writing any code and while I still don't feel proficient, I am ready to try some more courses.

por Dragos

Feb 02, 2020

Great course! The only reason i gave it 4 stars is that sometimes i felt like we jumped too fast from one information to another and didn't had the chance to connect all the informations. I may suggest to use more exercises between theoretical part and the exam, so students can adapt and asimilate all the new informations.

Thank you Bill Boyd! Thank you everyone involved in the making of this course!

por Janis O

Jan 03, 2017

I know it is a lot asked, but would be great if the delivery was a bit more enthusiastic. Also a couple of suggestions to make the learning easier: please do not use loud keyboard when making videos, and please be mindful that some people use single screen to view video and code on the side so if the details on video are very small it becomes quite hard to see what is being written.

Thanks, Janis

por Sah S A

Jun 26, 2018

This course could also have some lectures on data structures, exception handling and object-oriented programming. Also, the menu-driven program should not have been previously made by the instructor. Rather, he should have just shown in the videos and student had to make the whole program on his own.I was a beginner at python and this course helped me to learn the basics very quickly.

por Lee D

Mar 27, 2017

This was a good solid intro course. Got a good working understanding of the Python program basics out of this. He taught less about programming basics (ie not a completely intro computing class) than another Python course I tried, which is what I wanted. Probably wouldn't be the class to recommend if this is your first programming class. Work/time expectations were as listed.

por Clemente G

Nov 26, 2017

This course is not recommended to people that doesn't know anything about programming, but for someone who already has knowledge of other programming languages.

Sometimes there are things that are not clear enough, and you can only learn them searching on Google. I think this course is pretty good and the name it's just fine: a concise introduction.

por David B

Nov 06, 2017

A very apt title for this course; it is short, concise and covers the core of what you need to know. The reason I am not awarding 5 stars is because the course is very quick in areas and can jump over quite foreign ideas in a short period. I think more example questions and material should be provide alongside the lectures to bridge this gap.

por Madhav D

Jul 23, 2017

The teachings of this course are very easy to understand and are well organised. But I think the course has been too basic for one to be a good programmer in python. And I have to thank coursera for giving me an oppurtunity to learn python in such a efficient way and also for providing me Financial Aid to avail certificate.Thank You.

por Nikhil J J

Jan 19, 2018

I needed to learn the basics of Python quickly and, after completing the course in 4 days, I can say that it's a great place to start for beginners. The fundamentals are clearly explained, and sufficient help is provided from the instructor's side in solving weekly challenge problems that may appear tough to a new programmer.

por Dave H

Aug 08, 2017

Good intro from knowing nothing about python to being able to find my way around the fundamentals. I found it necessary to hunt out some of the Python documentation (https://www.python.org/), which I believe was not highlighted in the course materials (details on os import, random import, sorting, etc). That would help.

por Tony O

Feb 08, 2017

This is a very good starter course, and it covers most of the things a beginner would need. The exercise were great, and so was the assignments graded by the auto-grader. There were one or two questions that proposed outputs wasn't what the auto-grader wanted, but you will figure it out when you get there. Great course.

por NAGA C P

May 02, 2020

i felt difficult in grading pattern. the grader is not considering the code even for small mistakes (like keeping capital letter in place of small letter in function file name etc). Uploading each and every time after editing is some what time consuming.

Instead you could have asked to write code directly and submit.

por Raul M M

Apr 06, 2018

As the tittle suggests it is a concise course that goes straight to the point. If you want to start programming right away, this may be a good beginning. If you are not in a rush there are more complete choices in the platform that explain important concepts in more detail and take more time. Good course all in all.

por Ariel A

Jul 12, 2017

Pretty good FREE course for beginners in Python and/or Programming in general. But if you already know Programming like me, this course is a little basic. POSSIBLE IMPROVEMENTS: 1.Add more flexibility to Auto-grader; 2.Add more challenging excercises, specially related to database and web subjects. Thanks!!

por Leo S

Jun 18, 2017

I enjoyed this course. It was a good introduction to the language that got me programming right away. Also, Professor Boyd was very responsive in the discussion forums which was great. I would recommend this course to people trying to get a quick introduction to the language with some applied learning.

por Bob S

Feb 11, 2018

The information, speed and explanations are very clear.

Minor possible improvements: I ran the videos at 1.5x speed, since the instructor talks very slow and leaves a lot of pauses in between sentences. Also, the keyboard strokes are very, very loud sometimes.

Other than that, perfect course.