Chevron Left
Volver a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.6
estrellas
3,037 calificaciones
1,012 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Principales revisiones

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

RR

Feb 04, 2020

Thanks for the clear explanations and the easy examples. I think it is a good introductionary course and it gives a good starting point to move further to more sophisticated topics and applications.

Filtrar por:

751 - 775 de 1,002 revisiones para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por Raphaël R

Mar 01, 2018

This has been a great experience and a quick way to learn the basics of Python. This is a course where you need to learn a lot "on the job" so if your'e looking for a theorical perspective of the program it's not quite what you want. However, the exercices are fun and challenging and the lectures are really pratical. Be sure to listen everything during the lectures and you'll be fine. Also please note that the grader doesn't tell you what's wrong with your code so it's a great challenge to correct your submissions as well.

por N N

May 27, 2020

Good introduction to programming with python. Logically well designed for programmers in mind where some technical terms are carefully crafted to be minor agenda and python tricks are displayed and used in a beautiful way. Learners need to understand the logic before start writing codes to solve problems and exercises. Auto-grader is slightly strict and causes a deal of frustration during the first weeks. If the auto-grader can be set to be flexible, that will help learners to pursue the further steps.

por Marino E

Dec 18, 2017

A good way to get introduced to Python Programming. It is by no means complete since some fundamental concepts are not discussed. One would need to further brush up on fundamentals and then go for more advanced courses. I found the Python courses offered by University of Toronto more challenging and fulfilling. But this course served it's purpose as a quick introductory programming course since I last programmed 20+ years ago.

por Robert C

Nov 03, 2018

The course had all of the information. Sometimes it was rather challenging and I relied on going through the different discussion questions. It might make sense to go through these questions (since they are a few years old now, and make a general FAQ). Thanks for creating the course, it was my first real attempt at writing any code and while I still don't feel proficient, I am ready to try some more courses.

por Dragos

Feb 02, 2020

Great course! The only reason i gave it 4 stars is that sometimes i felt like we jumped too fast from one information to another and didn't had the chance to connect all the informations. I may suggest to use more exercises between theoretical part and the exam, so students can adapt and asimilate all the new informations.

Thank you Bill Boyd! Thank you everyone involved in the making of this course!

por Janis O

Jan 03, 2017

I know it is a lot asked, but would be great if the delivery was a bit more enthusiastic. Also a couple of suggestions to make the learning easier: please do not use loud keyboard when making videos, and please be mindful that some people use single screen to view video and code on the side so if the details on video are very small it becomes quite hard to see what is being written.

Thanks, Janis

por Sah S A

Jun 26, 2018

This course could also have some lectures on data structures, exception handling and object-oriented programming. Also, the menu-driven program should not have been previously made by the instructor. Rather, he should have just shown in the videos and student had to make the whole program on his own.I was a beginner at python and this course helped me to learn the basics very quickly.

por Lee D

Mar 27, 2017

This was a good solid intro course. Got a good working understanding of the Python program basics out of this. He taught less about programming basics (ie not a completely intro computing class) than another Python course I tried, which is what I wanted. Probably wouldn't be the class to recommend if this is your first programming class. Work/time expectations were as listed.

por Ishita P

Jun 03, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. As a beginner in the world of python, I was lost, until I found this course. It was an excellent introduction, during which I learned many basic skills. The videos were sometimes a bit confusing, and I needed some extra research, but the assignments were challenging and interesting. The course was informative and engaging through all four weeks.

por Clemente G

Nov 26, 2017

This course is not recommended to people that doesn't know anything about programming, but for someone who already has knowledge of other programming languages.

Sometimes there are things that are not clear enough, and you can only learn them searching on Google. I think this course is pretty good and the name it's just fine: a concise introduction.

por David B

Nov 06, 2017

A very apt title for this course; it is short, concise and covers the core of what you need to know. The reason I am not awarding 5 stars is because the course is very quick in areas and can jump over quite foreign ideas in a short period. I think more example questions and material should be provide alongside the lectures to bridge this gap.

por Madhav D

Jul 23, 2017

The teachings of this course are very easy to understand and are well organised. But I think the course has been too basic for one to be a good programmer in python. And I have to thank coursera for giving me an oppurtunity to learn python in such a efficient way and also for providing me Financial Aid to avail certificate.Thank You.

por Nikhil J J

Jan 19, 2018

I needed to learn the basics of Python quickly and, after completing the course in 4 days, I can say that it's a great place to start for beginners. The fundamentals are clearly explained, and sufficient help is provided from the instructor's side in solving weekly challenge problems that may appear tough to a new programmer.

por Dave H

Aug 08, 2017

Good intro from knowing nothing about python to being able to find my way around the fundamentals. I found it necessary to hunt out some of the Python documentation (https://www.python.org/), which I believe was not highlighted in the course materials (details on os import, random import, sorting, etc). That would help.

por Tony O

Feb 08, 2017

This is a very good starter course, and it covers most of the things a beginner would need. The exercise were great, and so was the assignments graded by the auto-grader. There were one or two questions that proposed outputs wasn't what the auto-grader wanted, but you will figure it out when you get there. Great course.

por NAGA C P

May 02, 2020

i felt difficult in grading pattern. the grader is not considering the code even for small mistakes (like keeping capital letter in place of small letter in function file name etc). Uploading each and every time after editing is some what time consuming.

Instead you could have asked to write code directly and submit.

por Raul M M

Apr 06, 2018

As the tittle suggests it is a concise course that goes straight to the point. If you want to start programming right away, this may be a good beginning. If you are not in a rush there are more complete choices in the platform that explain important concepts in more detail and take more time. Good course all in all.

por Ariel A

Jul 12, 2017

Pretty good FREE course for beginners in Python and/or Programming in general. But if you already know Programming like me, this course is a little basic. POSSIBLE IMPROVEMENTS: 1.Add more flexibility to Auto-grader; 2.Add more challenging excercises, specially related to database and web subjects. Thanks!!

por Leo S

Jun 18, 2017

I enjoyed this course. It was a good introduction to the language that got me programming right away. Also, Professor Boyd was very responsive in the discussion forums which was great. I would recommend this course to people trying to get a quick introduction to the language with some applied learning.

por Bob S

Feb 11, 2018

The information, speed and explanations are very clear.

Minor possible improvements: I ran the videos at 1.5x speed, since the instructor talks very slow and leaves a lot of pauses in between sentences. Also, the keyboard strokes are very, very loud sometimes.

Other than that, perfect course.

por Coralia V G

Jul 14, 2019

This course provides a good introduction to Python for complete beginners (like me). Explanations were detailed and clear for the most part. Exercises were of appropriate difficulty. I would recommend this course to people wanting to get started with programming, it was very useful to me.

por Barbara B

Jun 03, 2017

The course was very well structured. When I needed support once, I got valuable feedback within a couple of hours (it was over the weekend!).

The only thing I didn't like was the low image resolution of the videos. Even on a big screen, I sometimes found it hard to read the code.

por M.Shoyeb S

May 05, 2020

this is one of the excellent course and, it lives up to its title being superbly "concise", yet i felt it was not extremely beginner friendly as it assumes you have basic knowledge about python basics or certains things seemed skipped and keeps you wondering where it came from.

por Alois

Dec 03, 2018

A highly pragmatic and efficient boots trap course for people with some previous experience in other program languagues. Absolutely hands on. Not needing it personally, by watching I was amazed by the reaction speed of the tutor team in the discussion forum.

por Suny K

May 28, 2020

Some of the videos are from 2015/2016, using an older version of Spyder that has some different features than the stable version available now, but the course otherwise still holds up and teaches basic Python skills even for those with no coding experience.