Chevron Left
Volver a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Programming: A Concise Introduction por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.7
estrellas
5,019 calificaciones
1,564 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks. SPECIAL NOTE: Python Programming: A Concise Introduction course will close for new learner enrollment on 2/16/22. In order to earn a Course Certificate, you will need to complete all graded assignments by 8/16/22. If you are interested in earning a Course Certificate for this course, please upgrade or apply for Financial Aid by 8/16/22. If you are a Coursera for Business learner, you can continue to use your sponsored credit through that date....

Principales reseñas

LR
3 de ene. de 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

TS
28 de nov. de 2021

This course was amazing as well as was an interesting course.I have learnt a lot of new concepts and things with the help of Respected Sir Bill Boyd and looking forward for more such type of courses.

Filtrar por:

1226 - 1250 de 1,560 revisiones para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por kiat

27 de jul. de 2020

A really concise and quick introduction to learn the necessary basic syntax used in a wide variety of applications. Great step by step and iterative guide ! Highly recommend especially if you already have some programming background. You may need further reading if you do not have any programming background. Nonetheless, a good course as an introduction to Python !

por Sarthak S

29 de jul. de 2021

it was a great experience for me as a person who does not know much python or any programming language to be honest. The videos were easy to learn, descriptive and fun to watch. I gave 4 stars because i felt that a little bit of classes and object oriented programming should also be added in this course to make it a better than it is now. Thanks for teaching.

por Suprim T

8 de jul. de 2020

I liked the reading section which sums up almost everything from the video tutorials which gives us a choice to either listen and watch or read. The assignments and examples are good enough to give students a lot of practice. The video section could have worked on making the screen readable for us which is not, because of zooming out time and again.

por Clemente G

26 de nov. de 2017

This course is not recommended to people that doesn't know anything about programming, but for someone who already has knowledge of other programming languages.

Sometimes there are things that are not clear enough, and you can only learn them searching on Google. I think this course is pretty good and the name it's just fine: a concise introduction.

por Mahes B V A

6 de sep. de 2020

The study material is very specific and easy to understand. Hopefully it helped to increment my coding knowledge. But the grading interface is a little bit vague on delivering the evaluation report, as it gives the output as failed even if the spyder output in my PC successfully runs for the same program. Thank you Mr. Boyd for the guidance.

por David B

6 de nov. de 2017

A very apt title for this course; it is short, concise and covers the core of what you need to know. The reason I am not awarding 5 stars is because the course is very quick in areas and can jump over quite foreign ideas in a short period. I think more example questions and material should be provide alongside the lectures to bridge this gap.

por Madhav D

23 de jul. de 2017

The teachings of this course are very easy to understand and are well organised. But I think the course has been too basic for one to be a good programmer in python. And I have to thank coursera for giving me an oppurtunity to learn python in such a efficient way and also for providing me Financial Aid to avail certificate.Thank You.

por Nikhil J J

19 de ene. de 2018

I needed to learn the basics of Python quickly and, after completing the course in 4 days, I can say that it's a great place to start for beginners. The fundamentals are clearly explained, and sufficient help is provided from the instructor's side in solving weekly challenge problems that may appear tough to a new programmer.

por Dave H

8 de ago. de 2017

Good intro from knowing nothing about python to being able to find my way around the fundamentals. I found it necessary to hunt out some of the Python documentation (https://www.python.org/), which I believe was not highlighted in the course materials (details on os import, random import, sorting, etc). That would help.

por Tony O

8 de feb. de 2017

This is a very good starter course, and it covers most of the things a beginner would need. The exercise were great, and so was the assignments graded by the auto-grader. There were one or two questions that proposed outputs wasn't what the auto-grader wanted, but you will figure it out when you get there. Great course.

por NAGA C P

2 de may. de 2020

i felt difficult in grading pattern. the grader is not considering the code even for small mistakes (like keeping capital letter in place of small letter in function file name etc). Uploading each and every time after editing is some what time consuming.

Instead you could have asked to write code directly and submit.

por Raul M M

6 de abr. de 2018

As the tittle suggests it is a concise course that goes straight to the point. If you want to start programming right away, this may be a good beginning. If you are not in a rush there are more complete choices in the platform that explain important concepts in more detail and take more time. Good course all in all.

por Ariel A

12 de jul. de 2017

Pretty good FREE course for beginners in Python and/or Programming in general. But if you already know Programming like me, this course is a little basic. POSSIBLE IMPROVEMENTS: 1.Add more flexibility to Auto-grader; 2.Add more challenging excercises, specially related to database and web subjects. Thanks!!

por Randolph A S

4 de nov. de 2020

I got my CS degree almost 40 years ago. My first job out of school was to develop software in "C" and was pretty handy with shell scripts. I haven't really done any coding since helping my kids in middle school 10 years ago. This was a fun little refresher and introduction to Python to see what its about.

por Leo S

18 de jun. de 2017

I enjoyed this course. It was a good introduction to the language that got me programming right away. Also, Professor Boyd was very responsive in the discussion forums which was great. I would recommend this course to people trying to get a quick introduction to the language with some applied learning.

por Bob S

11 de feb. de 2018

The information, speed and explanations are very clear.

Minor possible improvements: I ran the videos at 1.5x speed, since the instructor talks very slow and leaves a lot of pauses in between sentences. Also, the keyboard strokes are very, very loud sometimes.

Other than that, perfect course.

por Coralia V G

14 de jul. de 2019

This course provides a good introduction to Python for complete beginners (like me). Explanations were detailed and clear for the most part. Exercises were of appropriate difficulty. I would recommend this course to people wanting to get started with programming, it was very useful to me.

por Barbara B

3 de jun. de 2017

The course was very well structured. When I needed support once, I got valuable feedback within a couple of hours (it was over the weekend!).

The only thing I didn't like was the low image resolution of the videos. Even on a big screen, I sometimes found it hard to read the code.

por M.Shoyeb S

5 de may. de 2020

this is one of the excellent course and, it lives up to its title being superbly "concise", yet i felt it was not extremely beginner friendly as it assumes you have basic knowledge about python basics or certains things seemed skipped and keeps you wondering where it came from.

por Laura T

10 de may. de 2021

This was a great intro to Python. My problem file got corrupted and I was beating myself up because I was getting the right answer but getting no credit due to a 'runtime' error according to the grader. Once I used a new problem file and re-submitted, it was all joy!

por Zaland A

20 de sep. de 2021

One thing that was different from other courses is that the assignments were so unique that the ready made as it is solutions was not and could not be found from the internet or other sources. It was a very good course, a realy comprehensive. Thanks coursera

por Michail V

12 de nov. de 2020

It includes a good amount of information to be introduced in Python. The style of the follow along video exercises was very helpful. Moreover the homework reflected well the taught material, while also summarized efficiently the most important aspect taught.

por Alois

2 de dic. de 2018

A highly pragmatic and efficient boots trap course for people with some previous experience in other program languagues. Absolutely hands on. Not needing it personally, by watching I was amazed by the reaction speed of the tutor team in the discussion forum.

por Suny K

28 de may. de 2020

Some of the videos are from 2015/2016, using an older version of Spyder that has some different features than the stable version available now, but the course otherwise still holds up and teaches basic Python skills even for those with no coding experience.

por Anmol A

20 de ago. de 2020

I am overwhelmed with the course material. I am really happy regarding this course. I have learned many things like creating functions and running those functions in spyder ide. I have learned modules like sys, os, random, statistics, CSV, and fractions.