Chevron Left
Volver a Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.0
estrellas
1,664 calificaciones
408 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Principales reseñas

PM
23 de jun. de 2020

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF
1 de abr. de 2021

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 408 revisiones para Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

por Akarsh M

15 de feb. de 2021

This course doesn't teach. It just shows a demonstration of some function calls, and then tells students to use the internet to figure out the rest. That wouldn't be a problem on its own, but there is no guidance on how to succeed in the final project, which is very difficult, without proper guidance. Ultimately the 'trick' here is just to brute force the problem. You pass in a 7200x6300 large image straight into pytesseract to run ocr on it. no segmentation, no nothing sophisticated. just pass in all these huge images straight into the pytesseract and opencv algos, twiddle your thumbs for 15 minutes and then search for a couple of striks in the OCR output and then display the results of the opencv face detection.

in hindsight, I didn't really learn anything of value from this course. i didn't even learn pytesseract or opencv. i just hacked at it to get it to give me the outptus i needed to pass the assignment. i spent over 20 hours reading docs on these libraries, and trial and error running code, getting tracebacks, debugging etc. finishing the assignment felt like a relief, not an achievement.

the discussion forums are completely useless. there is absolutely no discussion there at all. and the only active "moderator" / "teaching assistant" is an obnoxious individual who has turned the forum into a small private fiefdom.

por Geon W P

30 de dic. de 2020

They just throw you an unorganized super short text book and a video of the prof just reading it without any explanation.

Then they give you an assignment that you can't do with what they taught even if someone actually managed to learn from their material.

on their assignment they literally say "These hints aren't really enough, we should probably generate some more." which just means that they haven't taught you enough for you to do this but oh well

https://pillow.readthedocs.io/en/3.0.x/reference/Image.html

for pillow just go through this site....

it's not worth paying for this course even though the other 4courses in this specialization was good.

This last course just gets me speechless with the way it is made.....

por BO F

8 de ene. de 2021

Terrible! There is a huge gap between the first four courses and the final course. Although the first courses are pretty good, the last course is too hard for students to understand.

por TSE M H

23 de nov. de 2019

Rushed and Unstructured course, Worst course ever!!

por Jason J D

22 de jul. de 2019

This course is a little difficult as compared to the previous courses in this specialization. The instructor does not help you much, but puts out hints and clues at times. Having said that, this is like a typical real world project, where you may have to read through the documentation of various libraries and learn how to use them. Overall, I would say that though this course does not meet the standards of the previous four courses, I personally found it to be useful and challenging! For those who are not aware how to work with complex Python libraries, the assignments could be difficult. Good luck!

por Yvonne H

1 de may. de 2020

This course is a complete divergence from the Python for Everybody course and the 4 courses in this specialization. Wasting time digging through pillow etc documentation. Incredibly poor way to start the last course of the Python 3 specialization - unless one is into image manipulation which I am not. The goal for me was to learn python and apply to real world data issues such as forecasting. Modules like numpy would have been much more applicable to work through. I will be taking the data science specialization from another provider (IBM or Stanford (alma mater)) and do not plan to take another course from University of Michigan due to this last course being so poorly administered. The gym analogy was poor excuse for not taking the time to put together more suitable assignments. Such a shame because the first 8 courses were fine.

por Sebastiano

11 de oct. de 2020

Absolutely awful course, I would have given 0 stars if possible..

There's an enormous gap between the previous courses and this one; concept are not explained thoroughly and to complete the final project you have to look for suggestions back and forth from the discussion forum or on the internet.

The course really ruined this specialization, which was awesome from course 1 to 4.

por Gannon O

18 de dic. de 2020

Abysmal. Just take it down or keep it optional for those that have already completed the other courses. Not only is there little to no actually teaching, the topic is somewhat far removed from what someone might in counter in a real life work setting - All this has been said hundreds of times in the course forums already though....

por Don S

18 de ene. de 2021

The project was pretty good. The course content was lacking and the teaching assistant was very rude and unhelpful. I plan to try the next Specialization, but if the first course isn't better I'll be looking elsewhere.

por Sagar M

3 de mar. de 2021

Very Poor Course Compared to the previous courses in the Specialization, the teacher is also very monotonous and boring, People should avoid this course if not a part of the specialization.

por Mohammad H

9 de dic. de 2020

Very badly taught. Actually he doesn't teach anything. He introduces you to some modules and says go read the rest, and do the project. Disappointing

por Ustinov A

31 de jul. de 2019

It's very interesting the assignment and the final project. But maybe you should think of changing the Jupiter notebook. It doesn't work correctly very often.

por Sophie T

9 de nov. de 2019

It's not an easy course but it was well worth the effort. I learned a lot about pillow, tesseract and OpenCV.

por jie

16 de abr. de 2020

I give this course 3 stars because: Firstly, I did learn something from this project. Secondly, I am also a little dissapointed with this project.

Let me start with pros: Although my job doesn't require image processing, I believe in the future I may need skills with pillow, tesseract etc. So it is a very good starting point to learn something outside of pandas, numpy, seaborn, etc. Also, this course gives me opportunity to explore different libraries independently with a little guidence.

cons. As this is final project of 4 python programming courses from very beginning to advanced concepts like functions, classes. I was looking forward to a comprehensive project which could cover all the concepts and skills we learned from previous 4 courses, plus a little expoloration of new library. Also, I really love final projects of past 4 courses in this specialization, especially the last two projects (my favorite is the final project of the third course). With milestones, step by step missions, and application of almost all the stuff learned previously.

As I had previous coding experiences in java and C++(not professional programmer though), it is not too tough for me to figure out what to do with this project(still a little challenging in the beginning) I can see how tough it is to those who never coded before.

I do recommend this project to those who have some experiences with python and would love to explore more python libraries. For pure beginners, I recommend UMich to redesign this course.

Anyway, it is a fantastic specialization, and I really learned a lot. The learning platform and in-lecture practice is just amazing. Thank you UMich team. Although I am not alum of Umich, still wanna say: Go Blue!

por M.D N F

26 de dic. de 2019

The instructor was just reading the code and at many places, the screen doesn't show what the instructor is intended to show.

Anyways, Thanks to everyone, I learned a lot from this specialisation.

por Lukas F

27 de may. de 2019

not worth the Money, i am a bit disapointed. but still learned much but not because of the course instructions.

por Rohan G

22 de dic. de 2019

Compared to previous courses , this course was really difficult to follow.

por Aleksey M

29 de abr. de 2020

Compared to the first 4 courses of this specialization, which are excellent, this one is a disaster.

The organization is poor. Installation instructions are full of errata and prone to conflicts in a variety of environments. This leads to frustrated students and teaching staff, who are losing their professional tone in the forums. I get it, I also would not want to be troubleshooting massive multi-library installations for a variety of OSs for however-many-students Coursera hosts. Figuring out "what to do next" requires excessive guesswork and assumption. For instance, simply downloading and moving the lecture's .ipynb files to your local environment is only _alluded to briefly, in an optional video, without ever showing it done on screen_. The course then proceeds into an unrelated lecture. Feels very disconnected and jarring.

The lectures are poor. They consist of the professor talking into the camera with no accompanying materials, and again a lack of clear direction. A concrete example: the professor talks through navigating to /usr/lib/python/site-packages/PIL/Image.py file and opening it in a text editor, all _without showing the screen or terminal_, while explicitly spelling out "See-Dee" (cd) and explaining that's how you change directories... What? There are several problems with this. 1) It is NOT an effective teaching technique to talk through such multiple dir/file traversals without showing the terminal, as it's easy to get lost from where the prof is talking about. 2) Even if there is an assumption here that the students are *SO* comfortable/advanced with *nix already that you can just talk them through that many cd's AND opening a text editor without messing up the file, WHY do you feel the need to explain what "cd" and "ls" do as if it's our first time using it? There is a strong and jarring disconnect here that makes it feel like the course was unfinished - as if the prof believed he'd have an onscreen accompaniment that never materialized. BAD.

The jump in difficulty from the first 4 courses is huge, but it's largely because so many intermediary steps are ignored entirely or poorly explained. The logical composition of this course is nonsense - simple things are explained while complex things are overlooked. If by design it's _intended_ to provoke solution-searching from the student, then at least let the student know that they're expected to find the solution themselves.

Overall I found this really frustrating, and a huge disappointment. Poorly thought-out, poorly executed. I imagine the people actually finishing this course are the ones who are REALLY invested in learning computer vision / these libraries for their own needs, and if you have that motivation, you can give it a try. Otherwise, I see no reason to bang your head against the wall fighting upstream against this course's shortcomings. There are plenty of other resources online for learning python and simpler projects with better documentation, that would be a more natural next step from the previous courses.

Again - this does not reflect on courses 1-4 of the specialization, which are very good.

por Hanno H

20 de abr. de 2020

This course ruins the entire Specification. Its incredibly hard to do the exercise, because the lecturer thinks its a good idea to not provide the needed information so that you "learn" by finding the things you expected to be taught online.

The course work is, and I quote, "a project with minimal scaffolding. Expect to use the the discussion forums to gain insights! It’s not cheating to ask others for opinions or perspectives". In other words, part of the learning target is to work through bad or incomplete documentation and to solve an exercise that is stated without providing the information you need to solve it. Unless someone else already went through the moves, the lecturer fully expects you to fail by yourself.

If I wanted to feel the pain of learning without help or instructions, I would have just worked with the online manuals ... which is what this exercise openly tells you they want you to do. Its a shame for the other 4 courses, which are well done and have passionate lecturers.

What a waste of my time.

por Yulia J

9 de oct. de 2020

Horrible! Has nothing to do with previous 4 courses in this Specialization.

I would recommend to the instructors to revisit and rewrite the course. It easier for the learners to work on a big problem completing it by small tasks. For example:

1) step #1 : Do this -> Check -> If worked -> move to another tasks

2) step #2: the same logic

.... and so on till the last piece.

Then put all parts together in a working code and submit the final result.

Also, although, having a person supporting the Discussion chat quite regularly is very nice, it would be much productive if the person has a better attitude. Stephen Catto is not listening to people. He answers to people in a very rude way and tries to close the topic right away not really providing a meaningful reply.

To sum up, I will repeat what I said before - absolutely horrible course!

por Alexander A

30 de abr. de 2020

Abysmal. Total abomination. Zero instruction. Extremely frustrating and major let down if you've been through courses 1-4 of the specialization. If getting the Specialization Certificate is very important to you, there are resources online that you can leverage to complete the project but that is done largely at the expense of any real learning, so I really hope UofM comes up with an alternative final project that is more consistent with the level of expertise attained in courses 1-5 (maybe something on implementing classic algorithms?).

por JavierS

10 de feb. de 2021

About the course:

The material is great and the topics are very interesting. But it has less to do with the rest of the "Python 3" specialization program. Courses 1-4 have the objective to teach you about Python language, how to solve software problems with Python, and to understand programming concepts like classes & objects.

For someone who is starting with Python and never had learned concepts about image processing, this course could be somewhat overkilling. Image processing is usually more geared towards developers who want to get started with artificial intelligence or data science. There is another Michigan specialization in Coursera to accomplish that.

I also think is somewhat difficult that a novice student could complete and understand the topics in this course in three weeks. This course requires, at least, five weeks and more homework, questionaries & examples.The lectures/videos mention a LOT of things (like Kraken) that are not required for the last project.

I will repeat the first statement: the concepts are great, I loved the contents at some point, but this is not for everyone who is starting with Python.

I think the University of Michigan is able to improve this course a lot. The Python 3 Michigan specialization is great overall. The firsts four courses are awesome, well structured, with an interactive tool as Runestone which helped me a lot to understand the problems to pass the assessments. This last course, the 5th one, has the main defect of lacking exercises. The Jupiter Notebook is not very useful to practice with Python, as Runestone was in the previous ones. I am sure all of this could be improved for this last course and obtain a better specialization program.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the teaching assistant in the Discussion Forums talks in a very rude way without any proper reason, as other students mentioned. This is a pity since many students have difficulty in accomplishing things that are not well explained in the lectures.

por Mauricio G N

27 de jul. de 2019

Not enough practices, instead of many lectures and a quite difficult assignment at the end. It gives the impression that Coursera sets challenges that are quite difficult so you are forced to pay another moth in order to finish.

Additionally not enough support on the installation of the libraries, so far nobody helped me to install de library Kraken in Ubuntu. In practical terms, you need to be hooked to Coursera server in order to code.

por 晴空

27 de feb. de 2021

I don't think it's suitable for beginners. Have to get the project done before understanding the coding logic. Lack of step by step explanation. I just learned which module in Python to use to process images.

por Ghifari A F

3 de ago. de 2019

Not as good as the previous course in the specialization