Chevron Left
Volver a Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.0
estrellas
1,670 calificaciones
409 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Principales reseñas

PM
23 de jun. de 2020

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF
1 de abr. de 2021

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 410 revisiones para Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

por Kin F

12 de jul. de 2019

The Peer-review project is not well designed. The instruction about what to submit is misleading. Students are confused about what to submit, uploading a PDF like before, or pasting the whole HTML file?

This becomes clear only after you submit and start to review peer's submission. Students are supposed to copy and paste their code into the submission window. But there is a BIG problem of this approach. The pasted code lose all the formatting, and python relies on formatting. Even if I want to copy a peer's codes and try to run them in Jupyter, the codes are all messed up. There is no way to figure out what my classmate wants to do.

por Sheng-Ta T

20 de dic. de 2020

The labs provide all the script of the lecture, so the lecture videos are pretty much useless. The projects in this course are unexpectedly more difficult than previous courses, and the teaching assistant seems to be complaining about students' posts all the time, making me hesitate to ask questions there. I give 3 stars only because I spent a lot of time and efforts and I felt that I learned a lot by the end of the course. But still, this course could be designed a lot better than this. I will not be surprised that many students just give up in the middle of the learning.

por Nate M

25 de may. de 2019

There are significant problems with processing and submitting the capstone project; the Coursera Jupyter notebook runs out of memory when working on a particular file (U Mich, you might want to simply reduce some of the image sizes). In addition, the submission process doesn't work without linking outside to a google drive or something of the kind.

The information, though, was excellent, and I'm happy I've completed the whole specialization. Course 3/5 for the reasons listed above (they're quite frustrating) specialization 5/5.

por Ruopeng A

23 de nov. de 2020

I feel the pace of this course is a bit too fast, and it is hard to master all materials learned about the three major APIs (tesseract, openCV, and pillow) given the lecture. A lot of self-experimenting and trial-and-error is required to do the final project. A more through introduction to each of these three excellent API would be helpful and reduce the burden of the final project. Nevertheless, I sincerely appreciate the efforts the instructors devoted to this specializations. I learned a ton from each of you. Cheers!

por Jon N

15 de mar. de 2021

I've taken something like a dozen U of M courses before (I highly recommend parts of this specialization and all of Dr. Chuck's Python for Everyone courses). However, this one was a massive disappointment. It's really just a project. That's fine. But the tools are horrible. The assignment is set up in such a way that most of your time isn't spent coding, it's spent waiting for Jupyter to process images. Even doing the fastest possible operations take 10-15 minutes as you're building your project. Coding is (for those of us that aren't expert( is a lot of testing and re-running. To have to wait so long from one to the next just destroys any flow or creative inspiration. It's impossible to get any momentum and the process is frustrating. On top of that, you might think the forum would be a great resource. The forum for this class is just littered with questions of people with problems and a particular TA who is incredibly rude and even when he's answering questions he's so obtuse that often his answer is lost in the smugness and judgement. I'd rate this course even lower, but there are some good parts... however the lows are REALLY low.

por Edward K

4 de abr. de 2021

"Capstone Projects are hands-on projects that let you apply what you've learned in a Specialization to a practical question or problem related to the Specialization topic."

Capstone Projects – Coursera Help Center

In this capstone course I expected to apply what I had learned in the previous four courses. I had already taken Python for Everyone, when this course utilized Python 2. I wanted a course about Python 3 which included classes, inheritance, etc. The use of the runestone textbook is great!, but I wish that it had included more about classes, inheritance, etc. I expected that the capstone would be an application in which I was required to apply a class structure with inheritance, etc to a problem.

This capstone was about opencv, pytesseract, and pillow, which are worthwhile topics, but these topics are complex and should be covered in a separate specification. To learn Juypter, opencv, pytesseract and pillow within three weeks is asking too much for students who are MOOC learners (parttime).

I rated this capstone two stars, because the capstone missed the stated purpose of a capstone according to Coursera Help Center.

por Yelyzaveta S

20 de may. de 2021

While the topic of this course and the libraries that it covers are extremely interesting and worth studying. I believe that they were not discussed on a deep enough level in order to come to the total realization of what's going on inside of them.

Generally being advertised as a part of python specialization for beginners as well as people without technical beckground, this particular course reaches far outside a scope of knowledge, which could have been achvired though the previous courses of the specialization.

Withouth providing enough materials to practice, it leaves you with a bit of theory how certain libraries work and then throws at you grands projects, which additionally require extensive research from your side in order to come to means with all the tools you are to use in the process.

My opinion is that this particular course is not suitable for beginners. Even after completing all the previous courses from this specialization.

por Muhammad A

12 de abr. de 2020

Even though the pillow, tesseract and opencv libraries are very cool and interesting to use - the project does not present a useful challenge. The instructor felt like he was just reading code off a script and there was no interactive problem-solving or debugging.

The project's scope was too specific in its usability and the explanation of the libraries was also lacking. It leaves too much for you to figure out on your own - which would be great if it was challenges related to writing good code, but the challenges were related to figuring out how to use these specific libraries and spend time finding methods which let you do what you wanted it to. I think the project can be improved by giving more clearer instructions on the libraries, but more challenge on the programming logic.

Given the nature of image processing, a lot of time was also spend waiting for the code to finish running before you can debug (and each run took minutes)

por Tianran L (

20 de abr. de 2021

It's very disjointed from the previous 4 courses, as it's taught by a different instructor with a very different style.

I get it that the goal is to get learners out of the simple & clean bubble of the learning environment and deal with messy real-world one. But from the lecture videos, it's clear that the instructor makes assumptions of students' Python skills and just skim through many concepts and codes expecting students to understand them. This doesn't make sense. If these concepts are utilized building towards the capstone, why not have them elaborated in an extra course before the capstone? The learning experience is terrible as I feel I've missed out many things left unexplained (despite Googling).

I'll suggest having instructors from the previous courses in this specialization to do the capstone course for consistency purposes.

por Simon W T C

5 de dic. de 2020

For those who take this course with the completion of the specialization in mind, take note that the difficulty increase quite drastically for this course as compared to the other courses in this specialization. Also beware that this course has a more figure it out yourself rather than a guide approach to teaching and the lecture has a more read the script approach to it, at least we get to read the script for revision and play with the lecture code. Some may be out off by it, but i would say that this is better than other capstones or courses in Coursera, at least the instructions for coursework are clear and the coding environment for it work.... as compared to other more buggy approach in other courses... but beware the Jupyter thingy takes a long time to run your code...

por Raul M

24 de may. de 2021

Awful, especially when compared to the other 4 courses in the Python 3 Programming specialization. Minutes on end of the teacher showing how to hit the help function and then partly reading through it is definitely not what any student should get upon paying for a course.

Other reviews of this course have gone into enough detail on how unintuitive it is to submit the projects, be sure to read them before enrolling in this course.

A final point: the vibe in the discussion forum is a huge downer, and it seems to be because of the hard rules enforced with very little empathy towards students.

por Tapas S

29 de nov. de 2020

As a beginner I found it quite difficult as compared to other courses in this series. I was expecting a lot more handholding and detailed explanation of the subject as it was done in the other courses in this otherwise great series. However I really enjoyed learning.

por dougie

20 de may. de 2021

A dismal course, which is a disgraceful "effort" by:

"Christopher Brooks is an applied Computer Scientist who builds and studies the effects of educational technologies in higher education ..."

por Ryan V

5 de ene. de 2021

Esoteric and unintersting information that doesn't tie back to anything done in the previous courses for this specialization.

por Paddy W

25 de feb. de 2021

This module was too big a step up from the last four in the specilisation!!

por Felipe D

21 de mar. de 2021

Didn't like it. Unfortunately you have to acquire the knowledge by yourself. But even though you have the good will to endure this fight, Jupyter isn't prepared to deal with the huge amount of data processing (in my opinion), so, it's a wasting time game of trying, running and waiting forever to receive an error, instead of learning to solve problems. The assessment is overdimensioned for jupyter. Dealing with 25mb+ files is unacceptable, because as students we need to debug the code too many times on try-and-error basis. I felt like going crazy and nervous with this final assessment.

I did the first four courses in about two months (they were so great!), and this last one, it took me more than 5 months, because at some point in time, I just abandoned it. The course needs to continue with the pacing of the other instructors, that were so good, and I felt everything was chained into a purpose. This last one, does not have any purpose at all.

Did it, but do not recommend, afterall, before this one, I was excited in doing many courses, but as I was trapped into it, my apprenticeship was abruptly stopped. I'm feeling released now, as i ended this course, to continue learning other subjects.

por Hong J

29 de abr. de 2021

it is the worst course within this specialization path. very bad organized, very hard to follow even went through all the course with this specialization. the instructor is reading through the material all the time. the assignment is extremely difficult for first time python learner. also, student had to search for other information in order to understand. i thought the course suppose to provide most of the information for student to understand, not preventing them learning new things! after this class, i almost lose my interest in learning python.............

por Glen v U

9 de jun. de 2021

This course is so much worse then the first 4 courses. The lecturer just keeps talking and talking and thinks he's explaining the material but he really isn't. The pedagogy becomes very different with respect to other courses in the specialization and there was not enough time to get used to it. I find the way of teaching very annoying.

por Michael D

1 de jun. de 2021

This goes way to fast. I don't like the format and the Jupyter environment makes it much more difficult to learn.

por Shahan A

29 de nov. de 2020

poorly explained course. assignment instructions often times not clear.

por PORBENI, E D

19 de feb. de 2021

The best way to learn is by thinking and doing!

While reading the reviews of this course, I got discouraged to engage properly with the materials because of the opinions. That being said, if you are looking to learn by doing, this course is for you. It is a specialization project. It is not meant to be a walk in the park!

Overall, I think it helps you think and actually forces you to code. If indeed you want to learn Python, it will help you a great deal!

Don't take reviews saying it is difficult to heart. It is difficult but doable. All that you need to complete it have been covered.

I wish you success!

por Milton E D

23 de oct. de 2020

The course is excellent but the final project submission is a nightmare. The input form is messed up and the work-arounds don't work. To have such a good class then ruin my experience with a broken component ... that has been broken for over a year is really bad. To me it ruined the experience and made me feel upset about spending my good money and TIME on a schlock final project submission process.

por Fabian d A G

5 de jul. de 2021

T​he last course in the Python 3 Programming specialization provides an opportunity to bring together all the concepts that were taught in the previous courses and apply them to real world problems. This course is more hands-on, and teaches how to approach problems and find solutions from using libraries and other tools "in the wild". Excellent programming assignment at the end!

por Khileshwar R

24 de jun. de 2020

This course is awesome!!

For those who are seeking for Python basics and Data Structures using Python, should join this course.

The instructors are good. Taught the concepts well.

And also there is course in this specialization which includes OCR and Computer Vision using OpenCV

por Jesús A S G

16 de nov. de 2020

I learnt new libraries and I had to do more researh, this course helped me to feel more secure of what I learnt in the previous courses.

Aprendí nuevas librerias y tuve que investigar más, este curso me ayudó a sentirme más seguro de lo que aprendí en los cursos previos.