Chevron Left
Volver a Building Data Visualization Tools

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Building Data Visualization Tools por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.0
121 calificaciones
29 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The data science revolution has produced reams of new data from a wide variety of new sources. These new datasets are being used to answer new questions in way never before conceived. Visualization remains one of the most powerful ways draw conclusions from data, but the influx of new data types requires the development of new visualization techniques and building blocks. This course provides you with the skills for creating those new visualization building blocks. We focus on the ggplot2 framework and describe how to use and extend the system to suit the specific needs of your organization or team. Upon completing this course, learners will be able to build the tools needed to visualize a wide variety of data types and will have the fundamentals needed to address new data types as they come about....
Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 28 revisiones para Building Data Visualization Tools

por Ankai X

Mar 05, 2019

The peer-reviewed assign

por Shawn M

Mar 01, 2019

I have been progressing through all the courses in this specialization and, overall, the courses have been of tremendous value to me. However, it's really not the courses themselves but the book that goes along with the courses that deserves the four and five star ratings I have previously given (these courses are really nothing more than "read the book" and "take the assignments"). Nevertheless, the knowledge gained is not easily available elsewhere. 80% of this visualization course (i.e. the book) was excellent and I give it top marks. The other 20%, starting with the grid system section to the end of the book, was terrible. These sections need a complete rewrite as they are barely comprehensible and certainly not comprehensive. The final assignment does not test you on how much you learned in the course, rather it tests you on how much time you spend on your own finding other relevant sources of information on the internet to figure it out. Also, I don't understand why creating a custom geom would be a more important software development skill than R Shiny for example, given that having the ability to develop interactive apps is critical to visualization. I will give this course 3 1/2 stars, rounded down to 3 since coursera won't allow a half star. I hope the authors take what I have to say as an opportunity for improvement since I have benefited tremendously from this specialization so far and I would like to see it improved in certain areas.

por Shengdi W

Jan 23, 2019

Content on ggplot2 framework is solid. However, no video or explanation to complement the textbook, students are expected to learn by reading solely.

Final assignment requires prior R programming knowledge, which is not taught in this course. This can lead to frustration in the end. Probably those who are enrolled in the entire specialization will find this assignment more manageable. I personally had to spend more than 20 hours on this supposedly 4-hour assignment.

por Antonio M G

Nov 17, 2018

Great course! You'll learn a lot about the graphic capabilities of R. However, I think there are some things that need to be explained before one goes on to complete the final project.

por Steve E

Aug 02, 2018

I wish there were videos and not just reading a website but the content is really top notch. I will definitely be using what I've learned in the future.

por Ganapathi N K

Jun 06, 2018

Nice

por Sandjaja B

May 01, 2018

It is a very good course, but feels a bit more hands-off than the other 3 preceding courses in the Mastering Software Development in R certificate.

por JEEWESH K J

Nov 01, 2017

Great course

por Niklaas B v G

Oct 14, 2017

The way last exam is presented makes student lean towards unconcise programming

por Maurizio C

Oct 12, 2017

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult.

The didactic material is not compelling.

Not recommended.

por Conner M

Sep 21, 2017

I could plot in R before and many of the topics discussed in this course I already had a working grasp on. Still, the course helped me really gave me a whole new depth of knowledge on the packages that plotting is build around in R. Highly recommended!

por Ruoding W

Sep 18, 2017

the course content is just copy from the book

por Arthur G

Aug 29, 2017

Obtuse and doesn't give enough practice opportunities

por savvas s

Aug 28, 2017

just links to a webpage... no support from the mentors no support form coursera... you can use your money more wisely..

por Francesco D Z

Aug 01, 2017

very useful, especially the final practical exam.

not 5 score because I think more time should have been spent in more modern interactive charts

por Oswaldo N C

Jul 26, 2017

A nice course

por Rebecca G

Jul 23, 2017

This course was not good at all. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluated, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. Neither the mentors nor the authors ever participated. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail. Ending up bailing on the course and the final capstone as I'm simply not learning anything and the projects are too frustrating to work on.

por Kevin D

Jul 16, 2017

You'll learn how to make a custom geom, and apply what you learned to an interesting dataset.

This course has though an insane difficulty level, mostly because you don't have the information you'd need to succeed easily. I'd only recommand this course to people following the entire R specialization: if your goal is to learn how to make a custom ggplot, follow an external tutorial, you'll avoid being frustrated.

por KEVIN E A C

Jul 10, 2017

nice course

por José E L

Jun 19, 2017

Good material. Thanks a lot for this course.

por Ben S

Jun 05, 2017

The designers of this course designed a final assignment that is way beyond the curriculum leading up to it, and judging from the discussion forums it gives everyone severe headaches to deal with it. They know of the situation, but rather than alter the assignment they just added new "lessons" that boil down to "Why don't you go read some more material in this other person's book about creating graphical elements? You'll be fine!" I am paying to take this course so I'm more than a little ticked off about this. Until they fix the situation you should take some other series of courses to learn about R programming.

por Gopal S

May 28, 2017

Excellent course.

por Kunasekaran N

May 19, 2017

Last assignment is hard but enjoyed.

por Yaakov M

May 02, 2017

good challenges

por José A G R

Mar 05, 2017

the last task is very challenging