Chevron Left
Volver a Building R Packages

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Building R Packages por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.2
167 calificaciones
42 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Writing good code for data science is only part of the job. In order to maximizing the usefulness and reusability of data science software, code must be organized and distributed in a manner that adheres to community-based standards and provides a good user experience. This course covers the primary means by which R software is organized and distributed to others. We cover R package development, writing good documentation and vignettes, writing robust software, cross-platform development, continuous integration tools, and distributing packages via CRAN and GitHub. Learners will produce R packages that satisfy the criteria for submission to CRAN....

Principales revisiones

CB

Mar 30, 2017

This is a critical skill and it's barely covered anywhere else. Thanks for making this course!

CI

Oct 07, 2017

Overall, this was a good course to learn the intricacies of building R packages.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 42 revisiones para Building R Packages

By Shawn M

Feb 16, 2019

There is much I like about this course and also many areas for improvement. First, the online book that comes with the course presents an excellent overview of the steps required to build an R package. It will eventually get you where you need to go. However, some of the material is now out of date (e.g. functions moved from one package to another), there are no longer any mentors around, and the discussions boards are empty apart from people trying to get their assignments peer graded. Also, the content in the book, while good, is incomplete in many cases. I would highly suggest buying the "R Packages" book by Hadley Wickham as an additional reference since it fills many of the gaps and goes into much greater detail.

By Matthew M

Jan 14, 2019

good but needs a little updating - several commands this teaches you to use are now depracated.

By konstantin m

Jun 04, 2019

Fantastic course... Unfortunately, not too many people registered, it's tough to get your assignments graded. The program is the great continuation to the 10 course R data science specialization...

By Yi X

Feb 03, 2019

There are not so mang classmates for peer reviewing. Please set other alternative ways for grading

By Anthony S

Nov 16, 2018

I finally started building R packages!!! Lots of useful bits

By Jorge L R Z

Sep 23, 2018

Great course!

By Zsolt P

Sep 21, 2018

The material is not bad, however, this is just a refurbished version of a corresponding book written by the authors. Literally, all the readings are just excerpts from this book with typos all over the place. Save some money and just read that, I think this is a minimal extra work cash grab and you feel that all throughout. The final project is fine but not too fun (and the reading material is insufficient for it), it isn't worth the money either.

By Abhinav S

Jul 14, 2018

Amazing course! Will explain every detail regarding R package creation.

By Damian S

Jun 21, 2018

Among the worst courses I have found on Coursera. Once again, just a bunch of text, cut and pasted (sloppily) from their book and other resources. Examples are poor and insufficient, and much of what they ask you to do in the project is not covered well, or at all in the course forcing you to learn on your own. I don't object to self-education, but then, why bother taking this course? Can't believe they are charging money for this.

By Ganapathi N K

May 29, 2018

Nice

By Eduardo B G

May 28, 2018

The content was good but I have missed the videos. I can read a book, the experience with video demonstrations is better than this aproach.

By Jonathan D

Apr 03, 2018

Poor course material made it difficult to complete the final assignment. The course has little to do with R and more to do with Software development methodologies.

By Johans A A

Mar 22, 2018

I learned a lot in this course, was difficult at the begininng but enjoyable at the end!

By Tim S

Feb 12, 2018

Iam actually waiting for over one week to get graded. I dont want to pay for waiting!

By James M

Feb 08, 2018

Good slow walk through of the process for creating and checking a package

By Igor P

Jan 25, 2018

Basic course no more then that

By Edmund J L O

Jan 21, 2018

This course really boosted my confidence in writing codes, functions and i look forward to someday writing my own package. The course left me on such a high note that I made a couple of presentations using the plots in my vignette. I wanted to somehow show my appreciation to the authors of the course. The choice of a real life dataset made it really very interesting for me. Here's the link to the presentations i made. I'm not sure if it should be shared with your students, so i'll leave that up to you. Thanks again for making learning so much fun. BTW, it was a bit of a cliffhanger for me. I only got my package to pas travis at the last minute. Here are the links:

http://rpubs.com/DocOfi/350304 and

http://rpubs.com/DocOfi/350099

By Youdinghuan C

Dec 25, 2017

This course provides useful knowledge in building R packages, as well as opportunities to implement our knowledge. However, as the previous courses in the series, the last module (week) is extremely challenging compared to the previous ones.

By Rafał G

Nov 29, 2017

The amount of uncovered yet crucial issues is too damn high. For week 4 assignment I did most of my research on stackoverflow.

By Jason S

Nov 28, 2017

R packages are essential learning. This class covers packages including documentation, vignettes, testing, building, and checking for compatibility with CRAN. It also gets you into git and travis (for continuous integration), with an entire side of open source philosophy and legal. If you can pass this, you *will* be able to create and maintain an R package.

By JEEWESH K J

Nov 01, 2017

Great course

By Maurizio C

Oct 12, 2017

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult. Not recommended.

By Cardy M I

Oct 07, 2017

Overall, this was a good course to learn the intricacies of building R packages.

By Conner M

Sep 21, 2017

Good course, but very specialized programming knowledge in this particular course, which was not the case with other courses in the specialization. Would only recommend this course for those with the necessity to build R packages.

By savvas s

Aug 28, 2017

just links to a webpage... no support from the mentors no support form coursera... you can use your money more wisely..