Chevron Left
Volver a The R Programming Environment

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The R Programming Environment por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.3
estrellas
1,121 calificaciones
311 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides a rigorous introduction to the R programming language, with a particular focus on using R for software development in a data science setting. Whether you are part of a data science team or working individually within a community of developers, this course will give you the knowledge of R needed to make useful contributions in those settings. As the first course in the Specialization, the course provides the essential foundation of R needed for the following courses. We cover basic R concepts and language fundamentals, key concepts like tidy data and related "tidyverse" tools, processing and manipulation of complex and large datasets, handling textual data, and basic data science tasks. Upon completing this course, learners will have fluency at the R console and will be able to create tidy datasets from a wide range of possible data sources....

Principales reseñas

MV
25 de dic. de 2018

Very Very Rigorous Course for a beginner on R language and because of its nature, after completing just one course, I feel like I have gained a lot of knowledge and also familiarity with R language.

KV
17 de jun. de 2019

A very good course to read and get the valuable content of R language. This is for the students who want to learn and practice the basic and some intermediate concepts of data manipulation.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 306 revisiones para The R Programming Environment

por Jing L

20 de jun. de 2017

Useful, but it is all text so the course is not very fun

por weiting L

6 de nov. de 2016

this course is a introductory level on the R usage!

por Alkia M

11 de mar. de 2017

Really enjoyed the way the course was presented.

por Kevin K

9 de may. de 2018

Learn basics and some good data science tools.

por David R M H

19 de jun. de 2020

Great course to start learning tidyverse

por Johans A A

1 de feb. de 2018

Exccellent Course! I really enjoyed it!

por Moriya K

12 de jul. de 2020

just swirl causes tables sometimes

por Jorge L R Z

7 de abr. de 2018

A really good introduction to R.

por urvi k

20 de ago. de 2020

enjoyed the last assignment

por Harsha S

16 de ago. de 2017

Covers the basics well.

por Mayer A

31 de mar. de 2018

very good start

por Laura O

27 de feb. de 2019

The contents of the Course are great and you can learn a lot of stuff regarding the R Programming Environment. Unfortunately, there has been errors in the evaluations that have been pointed out in the forum for more than two years now and the Instructors haven´t attended them. They claim that that´s the system of Johns Hopkins University, to make evaluations hard, however, when you refer in a test to the name of a variable that doesn’t exist is not making a test hard, is losing the time of your students and therefore adding unnecessary obstacles to their learning process. Also when comparing the material printed in Coursera and the book that the instructors suggested for the Course, there are basic errors like printing the wrong Graph. If you are really interested in advanced programming in R, take the course, however, BE AWARE THAT THERE ARE FLAWS AND READ THE FORUMS BEFORE ANSWERING THE EVALUATION, IF NOT YOU ARE GOING TO WASTE A LOT OF TIME IN USELESS ISSUES!!!!!!

por Ying T C

26 de abr. de 2021

The learning curve of this course is steep! I am a total novice to R and it took me many hours to finish the quiz. Learning individual packages and functions is one thing, comprehending them and being able to integrate them into a script is another thing. It will be better to have some practice quizzes similar to the actual quiz we took at the end of week 4 so we can get more hands-on practice to master what we've learned. Also, the quiz questions are not very straightforward as some of the terms/wordings are confusing, i.e. Samples.Values, monitoring sites, dates. These terms are not very explicit as to what variable they are referring to in the dataset.

por Henrique R

23 de ene. de 2018

The swirl assignments follow a progressive structure and that's great, I was able to complete most of it even though I am totally new to programming. But the readings are not as easily comprehensible. There could be also more videos with examples. For instance, taking a look at the syllabus I don't think I'm completely able to import data from the web without a considerable amount of effort. And there was no swirl assignment on this specific subject. I've considered the course ok for a first approach to the R environment, but could improve a lot in the issues I've mentioned. Best regards, Henrique

por Julian C

29 de dic. de 2020

I'm brand new to R and if you are too, please read this. This course started off very well as an introduction into R with the swirl modules (weeks 1-3). It's a great way to learn how to use the console and specifics for R that would be similar in Python or Java (or any other language really). However, the final quiz in week 4 took everything to a whole new level of difficulty. Even the readings for weeks 1-3 will assist you up to about Q6, but thereafter it's near impossible to know what to do without doing an immense amount of internet searching.

por Shahab E

16 de oct. de 2017

There is no relation between the readings and assignments. At the first video they mentioned that this course is designed for students with few programming experience(not in R!!). I have 10 years of programming experience with R, and I am sure that this course needs at least many years of programming experience with R.

The funny part of this course is that, they have just copied some part of an advanced R book, but they ask some simple introductory questions.

I am completely confused with this course :(

por Marco M

22 de sep. de 2020

This a good course. The Swirl labs are especially engaging and didactic. Nevertheless, there are no video lectures, only readings. This makes the experience not much different from learning in a book, something one does not expect in a mooc. Furthermore, this course has the same problem as others from the same series: the final assignment is much more complex than the exercises from the labs. So you walk at a particular pace during the whole course, but suddenly face a giant leap in the end.

por Patricia H J

26 de may. de 2017

The course readings and exercises did not line up well with each other, and neither lined up well with the final exam. I really wanted to know more about tidying data and merging datasets but I feel like I kind of only got through the final with trial and error, rather than true understanding. I explored the forums and saw other people being frustrated. One post says this is just how JHU courses are....so I think I will try some R courses next from a different source.

por Ulysses B

12 de may. de 2017

Good intro and base for learning R programming. SWIRL tutorial nearly perfect for beginners like me. Quiz questions are fair but some questions are a bit vague and can have multiple interpretations as to what it is actually asking. Perhaps if the questions removed any ambiguity it would make it easier for newbies to work though the quiz questions without getting too frustrated to the point that they want to give up.

por Luciano

26 de nov. de 2017

This course provides an amazing learning path for people who don't know R. Week by week examinations and work in the Studio environment are great to keep learning in a proactive way. The book has a huge amount of info and it is perfect for approaching R. Just I think the level required for final examination is way higher than what it was very well taught during the course.

por Marcinina A

18 de mar. de 2019

The course content itself is good and easy to follow, but one assignment has a recurring bug since at least 2 years back that prevents other students from successfully submitting a required assignment. Despite a long and active thread regarding this bug, the problem has yet to be addressed, preventing some students from completing the course.

por Tim L

4 de sep. de 2019

There are a lot of typos, spelling errors, and oftentimes you need to do your fair share of StackExchange, forum, or book research to get an answer. I learned a lot, I just wish it was better organized. You'll learn more experimenting yourself than you will from the class.

por Craig N

11 de oct. de 2019

While I learned much from this course, I would say that the readings contained enough type-o's and broken links that it became slightly annoying. Also, the final Quiz was much more difficult than the readings/practice that came before it.

por Elliott S

3 de mar. de 2017

I feel that the training could be more extensive prior to assignments. The assignments often cause me to randomly search packages for correct functions to use and how to apply proper syntax, etc.

por Valentina C C

28 de abr. de 2020

Aunque el curso está bien explicado y maneja buenos contenidos, hay varios problemas al subir las tareas por el programa que se maneja, los cuales son muy molestos y hacen perder mucho tiempo