Chevron Left
Volver a Programación R

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Programación R por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrellas
21,923 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Principales reseñas

EJ

11 de jul. de 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

MR

11 de may. de 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

Filtrar por:

4251 - 4275 de 4,644 revisiones para Programación R

por Carl C

9 de mar. de 2021

Huge gap between the course materiel and programming assignments. Swirl is nice but doesn't cover what is needed in order to complete the programming assignments given.

Countless errors in the book we should read throughout the course.

The instructor should focus more on his presentation skills: too many blank seconds and "uuhhh" moments in the videos and the videos aren't in the same order as the book.

JHU and Coursera should review, change and upgrade this course if they do not want to lose credibility.

por Antonio M

12 de dic. de 2017

The way of talking in the videos is erratic. It looks like he is always in doubt of what to say. His speech is full of "eeer" and non-completed words. I don't mean to be a fusspot, but when English is not your mother tongue, this is key to stay engaged. A script to read would probably solve most of these issues. He seems to have a great understanding of the topics he is explaining, however, not being able to communicate it properly results in a bit of a failure for me. I'll maybe try again in the future.

por Nina L A

19 de abr. de 2020

Although the content that is covered is presented in a clear, logical manner, the expectations for completing and passing coursework/assignments/tests that require knowledge that is:

1) Not included in the training materials/presentations

2) Extremely more advanced than a "beginner" level (which is how the course is described)

Trying to pass the Week 2 assignment and quiz has consumed an exorbitant and unnecessary amount of time; I am going to seek training in R Programming offered by another instructor.

por Amy B

6 de may. de 2016

This course is *NOT* for beginners. I would not have asked my work to pay for the specialization if I knew it would take me 3 months to complete R Programming. I have a degree in economics, magna cum laude, so clearly I'm not dumb. Also, I have non-trivial experience with Stata. When I read that this would be a suitable introduction for anyone, I had no idea that what it would really take was a professional programmer (which I am lucky to have as a partner) to fill in the gaps.

Extremely misleading.

por Drew O

21 de ene. de 2021

The lectures and swirl assignments are great for the programming level, however there is a HUGE disconnect between the level at which the course is taught and the programming assignments that are given for the course. I am all for a challenge, but I believe that the tools necessary to think through and apply to the programming assignments are not provided in a good manner. I think there needs to be more practice that bridge that gap between the swirl assignments and the programming assignments.

por Constantin S

15 de feb. de 2016

The content and the speed that they teach you R are actually good. But considering that we now have to pay 45€/49$ for the course you will expect more polished videos and quizzes. Some of the videos are just stutters, repetitions and filling words. It's seems like they have been in a rush without decent preparation. Also one of the quiz questions was simply wrong. This should be fixed. Furthermore some of the commands they present are deprecated and cannot be used anymore.

por Douglas P

27 de jun. de 2016

This course is a little too deep into programming and a little light on learning the basics of R. I would recommend splitting out the more advanced programming concepts in this course and offering them in a course near the end of the specialization.

This course should be higher level and give the user a wider view of R. Currently this course seems to assume significant knowledge of R or programming in general, making it not a good early course in the specialization.

por Joy A

16 de ene. de 2017

Good intention but the programming assignments were much much harder than what was covered in the mostly theoretical lectures and the more practical but not as advanced swirl exercises. After reading other reviews of this course, and struggling to complete the FIRST programming assignment, I canceled. Please do not advertise this as for beginners - I think people who have had some programming experience before would find this great, but not for the newbie.

por Shannon P

17 de abr. de 2020

The videos aren't narrated by a robotic voice-over, which is good! Unfortunately, they are very simplistic and not actually that helpful at teaching R functions. The swirl package they have you use is actually a much better way to cover the source material, and I advise doing all the exercises. Unfortunately the programming assignments are very random and don't really apply what you have just been taught, so all in all I do not recommend this course.

por Vasilis S

18 de feb. de 2016

This is NOT a step-wise introduction to R for the novice. Useful in many respects, but the uninitiated to the field need more time, slow increments in project difficulty and more thorough, step by step explanations. I think the designers of the course wrongly assume that ALL R programming should be taught in THIS course which is erroneous; it should be about laying the foundations, on which the student can then expand his/her R programming abilities.

por Sima S K

10 de feb. de 2020

I found this course to be very poorly structured. Although the lecture material was interesting and engaging, very simple examples, functions and codes were presented in lectures and the assignments were completely at a different level. I spent hours researching online to be able to complete assignments. This should not be the case for an introductory course and I do have programming experience, although not in R. Very disappointing and frustrating.

por Michael P

24 de abr. de 2020

I found that material presented in the course initially seemed useful. However, the programming assignments go far beyond what was presented in the learning modules and optional practices. I recognize that additional research is common in coding projects, but I found this major feature of the course to be unnecessarily painful and ultimately unhelpful. Only do this course if you absolutely have to. I believe there are better ways to learn R.

por David R C

28 de ago. de 2019

The course is interesting, but is very focused on informatics and programming codes, it is not recommended for beginners. If you are looking for a course on statistical programming in R it is not this course. It is a good idea to give the manual for free, although some lessons are tedious and long. It also requires some previous handling of GitHub to complete it, for those of us who are not familiar with the environment is really complicated.

por Roland S

11 de jun. de 2021

Do not attempt this course unless you have a strong foundation of programming.

Although the lectures and initial quiz sections are straightforward and step by step, once you get to the assignments, there is a massive leap where concepts and commands that have not been introduced in the lectures are required.

There is also no support or way of getting guidance apart from a blanket google search.

This is hugely dispiriting and demotivating.

por Lasse L F

4 de mar. de 2021

I learned a lot from the course. The reason I only give it two stars is that the programming assignments are close to impossible for someone with no prior experience. I expected to be able to complete them since the data specialization indicated that beginners should be able to complete the courses. Overall, I learned a lot, but the programming assignments were a very frustrating experience that did not add to the value of the course.

por Gehad B

25 de feb. de 2017

I passed this course with score 95% finished all quizzes, Programming assignments and swirl exercises. but it wasn't useful that much. the videos wasn't interactive, to much theoretical parts...less practical you can't solve the assignments depending on the tutorials you have to google for the answers and know how people can solve the problems.......I recommend if there will be a new version to put these points in consideration

por Paymon H

14 de abr. de 2016

This is a tougher class than advertised. I essentially had to clear my entire week's plans to complete the first week's assignment, which was by far the toughest. There needs to be more testing on a variety of incoming skill sets. The lectures can also benefit from a recalibration, because the lecturer speaks way too fast for newbies and speaks fastest when explaining the most complex concepts. This makes it tough to learn.

por Rachel R

11 de jul. de 2017

This is not an "R for beginners" course. Be prepared to spend a lot of time learning things on your own. The lectures don't prepare you very well for the quizzes and assignments. However, there is some useful information about R here. Any previous experience in another programming language will be an asset to you in this course, as you need to understand some programming concepts already to complete the assignments.

por KushkingLA

25 de ago. de 2020

OMG, talk about throwing you in the deep end with weights on your feet. Holy Sh!t. Course 2 week 2, there would be no way a beginner programmer would get any of this pollution project. i must have spent 12 hours trying to figure it out. There were functions i have never seen, script no beginner would ever know. I do not know how long i can keep this up. Even swirl was over my head... skip(), skip()... BRUTAL!

por Karina N

9 de jul. de 2019

I came in with not much experience in R and while I found the lectures and the swirl practice problems to be pretty helpful, the assignments were way too difficult for me to understand on my own. This was my first experience with an online course and while I knew I would be teaching myself, I felt stuck while doing some of the assignments and had to use google to help me with practically the whole assignment.

por Andres L

9 de may. de 2022

Course starts with a slow pace; then it escalates way too fast towards the end. The level of difficulty for someone without any background in programming is extremely difficult. Exercises given and lectures were not enough to complete assignments and quizzes. I can't replicate some of the problems or assignments on my own without looking for help or answers in other videos, lectures, or academic materials.

por Daniele D F

14 de may. de 2020

The course suffer the time passed form his first edition; it seems it is abbandon by his editors without improve it in the years. I think the course is not well focused on very important aspects of R programming; moreover the support material and the programming assignment are not well designed and documented, you need to train yourself on other site or in the forum to learn how to face up with assignment.

por Dylan B

7 de dic. de 2017

Not a great course for beginners tbh.... it jumped a bit from topic to topic and all of a sudden certain jargon was used making it difficult to follow some parts of the lecture. Course work does not match with lectures and SWIRL. It's frustrating that you can't apply the things you've learned in the lectures and apply it to the course work... this should be greatly improved. Only really good thing is SWIRL

por Agustin G

22 de may. de 2016

This is not an introduction to R programming... this is more in-depth than just introduction... in week 2 we're asked to compute and program to read multiple files at once with very specific functionalities!... this is not an introduction to R programming whatsoever... also it requires a lot of user reading from other sources i.e. google, stack overflow... etc... I don't recommend this to newbies

por Patrick W

17 de ago. de 2020

The course content and swirl online assignments are at the beginner level, but I feel the assignments are above the beginner's level. The assignments do not align to the course content and the forum has little value added due to the congestion with people asking for assignment reviews. Recommend stating in the course content the appropriate section in the book (for those who buy the book).