Chevron Left
Volver a Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History por parte de Universidad de Illinois en Urbana-Champaign

4.6
estrellas
204 calificaciones
99 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Learners will deepen their understanding and appreciation of ways in which race, ethnicity and cultural diversity have shaped American institutions, ideology, law, and social relationships from the colonial era to the present. Race and ethnicity are ideological and cultural categories that include all groups and individuals. Hence, this course is designed in significant part to take a broad look at the ideology of race and cultural diversity in America’s past and present. The primary focus is on the historical and social relationships among European Americans, Native Americans, African Americans, Latino/as, and Asian/Pacific Americans. Issues of race and ethnicity are examined across different ethno-cultural traditions in order to interweave diverse experiences into a larger synthesis of the meaning of race and ethnicity in American life. In this course, we conceive of “race” and “diversity” as references to the entire American population, even as we recognize that different groups have unique historical experiences resulting in distinctive and even fundamental cultural differences. We treat race and ethnicity as dynamic, complex ideological and cultural processes that shape all social institutions, belief systems, inter-group relationships, and individual experiences....

Principales revisiones

J

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent source of education! I learned so much, and feel so proud of myself for completing it, and getting grades that I never thought I could! Thank you, Coursera! :)

BW

Jul 13, 2020

The topics were good, and the professor clearly knows his subject. The final paper took more time than expected, but overall I felt like I came away with more knowledge on the subject.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 99 revisiones para Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

por James R

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent source of education! I learned so much, and feel so proud of myself for completing it, and getting grades that I never thought I could! Thank you, Coursera! :)

por Krista H

Aug 13, 2019

Great content! the peer graded assignments were a little too vague. loved the lecture/videos and additional reading/resources

por James R B

Aug 24, 2019

Peer review for this course is dysfunctional. Grades appeared to be given randomly. The lectures were informative, but the platform has issues.

por Adriene J

Jul 21, 2020

Good course. Dr. Anderson is clearly a prominent scholar and expert on the issues. Glad Coursera added the recent video of him produced these last few weeks [July 2020]. It made the course more current than its 2017 production date.

To enhance the course, I’d invite Coursera to consider 1. Updating the Resource Lists including articles, videos and research data. Some of our readings are dated. In light of all the information relevant to this topic coming out since George Floyd’s death, it is vetted and available. 2. Give us TWO weeks to complete our final project. One week didn't seem like enough time to properly explore and write about the suggested topics. I am recommending the course to several people. I think it’s that good. It simply needs a tweak of attention to updates. Other than that, the bulk of the resources were enlightening.

por Blaise L

Feb 03, 2019

Outstanding course that will be as rewarding as how much effort you put into it. There is plenty to learn and it is challenging to complete everything in 4 weeks, particularly if it's a busy time of year. Keep this in mind as you pace yourself through assignments.

por Amy P

Jul 13, 2020

This course was very informative and provided a variety of resources and facts, both historical and current that I am looking forward to teaching my own children.

por Kayla J

Jul 06, 2020

Very much enjoyed the lectures, I wish the coursework wasn't as intensive. Would have preferred quizzes/reflection papers on the topics introduced during the video lectures.

por Anna C R

Jan 24, 2020

This class isn't hard but just feels like busy work.

por Wayne S

Jul 07, 2020

This was a great course! Thank you for the opportunity to take this course. I am also an two time alumnus from the University of Illinois' College of Education. I don't know how I managed to graduate and not take this course. I am very glad I did. I learned a lot from this course. My only complaint would be that I wasn't expecting to do a research paper. Luckily, I am a professional researcher and a teacher (Thanks Illinois), but many of the general population may have struggled with this assignment. And the paper may have scared some people away. I would suggest keeping the paper, but giving more time to write, and also prepare a module to help newcomers learn how to write academically- especially in the social sciences. I will say though, I did get to read some pretty good papers, even the ones that were not the "best academically" it was still great to read other's work and their styles of reporting.

por Mahesh L

May 26, 2020

History is often painted from the conquror's perspective, and the racial or any form of discrimination is taught in biased way.

The course was very informative and helped me improve my understanding of the subject.

por Victoria M

Jul 10, 2020

Excellent beginning with loads of sources to recognize diversity on America. Many cogent topics to consider, too many to be in-depth but a great place to start.

por Christina T

Sep 25, 2019

An eye opening and well thought out course. I learned a lot and it gave me a lot to think about...

por Mark E

Apr 16, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. I thought I had a decent understanding of Race and it's effect on people in America and found that what I knew wasn't true (the worst kind of knowledge). There was plenty of good material in the presentations and the supplemental material and videos were very good. My eyes have been opened and I will seek out more information about these issues.

por Joy S

Apr 08, 2019

excellent course on the subject

por Vivian C

Jan 17, 2020

Great subject matter and content; but poorly managed by Admin behind the scenes. poor follow-up to inqu

por Margaret H G

Aug 24, 2020

One of the gifts of Covid19 is that with few opportunities to socialize and travel I have more time to educate myself in topics I care deeply about. I enrolled in this course on the suggestion of a friend to learn more about systemic racism. As an asynchronous, online course I must admit I did not have really high expectations. I knew I would learn something, however, I did not anticipate the depth, quality and amount of work the course would entail. The video lectures by Dr. James Anderson were captivating and organized into bite-sized chunks making the weekly coursework very accessible for the busy professional. What I didn't expect was the time it would take to write the Final Paper, but I must admit the time I invested in the assignment brought both depth and breadth to my learning. I highly recommend this course!

por Donna D

Aug 25, 2020

I had to extend my deadlines a couple of times because I struggled a bit, probably mostly because I had not thought a lot about some of the concepts of identity and how my identity is perceived by others. I learned so much in this class, not just US History that isn't taught in grade school, but how it relates to the current situations across the nation with questioning the methods of law enforcement and criminal justice. This is an eye-opener and I am so grateful to have had this opportunity to take the time to study this and highly recommend it for anyone that struggles with these issues. I fully expect that I will return to these resources and know now that I will continue to learn about these issues for the rest of my life.

por Mercedes V

Jul 01, 2020

This course has been a very positive experience for me. The lectures were informative, precise, and helpful in navigating race in my very own life and in the world, as it is today, especially. It has also been very uplifting to read and grade my classmates' work, learning from them and reflecting on their findings and resources. Thankful to have taken this course as it has been an enriching addition in my educational background and know I will continue to use the knowledge as I learn to make sense of the world around me, especially as an educator in the 21st century. Thank you for enabling us all to continue learning and educating ourselves, even while working from home during a pandemic!

por Lisa J

Jul 19, 2020

The course content was great! The information was well-organized and presented well. The additional readings and videos were excellent. The assignments, however, were difficult to interpret. The assignment descriptors did not always match the grading rubric. The assignments were difficult to complete and to grade because you couldn't see the rubric until you had submitted your own assignment and were reviewing someone else's. It would be helpful if the rubrics were provided with the assignment information so that the participants have a clear understanding of what is expected and how their submissions will be scored.

por Gina G

Sep 03, 2020

WOW. This blew my mind. It was unexpectedly rigorous. I took the certificate course. I wasn't expecting to write research papers but that was required. I loved it. I am a lifelong learner. And were it not for my desire to earn the certificate, I would have only watched the videos and read the articles. I would not have conducted my own research. But it was good for me. A healthy challenge, a learned so much, and it's got my brain morphing in all kinds of fresh ways. Outstanding. I will definitely be looking at Coursera coursers taught by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, because it was such high quality.

por Christina C M

Jul 09, 2020

I truly enjoyed taking this course. I wanted to take this course to enable me to design a class for my high school curriculum on Race and Diversity for the 21-22 school year. The lectures and the videos were particularly engaging and enlightening. This course gave me a place to start for my own students, but more importantly, through the research that I did for my final paper, I learned more about me and how my own teaching needs to transform to be both more inclusive and equitable.

por Ben B

Jun 29, 2020

Great course. FYI, you can complete most of the work in the first two weeks in ~2 hours (except for any of the supplemental materials) but the last two weeks are way more than that. Much more of a self-driven course than something that was facilitated. If that's what you're looking for, then this is the right place. It pushed me to think more, do more and new research, and really address some of the things I've I needed to... but didn't know where to start.

por Dawn S

Jul 15, 2020

Essential course for all teachers! The nuances of how race is social construct that is fluid according to different time periods is revealing of the bias in society. The omission of the sins of our nation opened my eyes and I gained a new perspective on culture and diversity. Teachers need to research and learn about American history from a source other than a textbook. This course offers an in-depth view of the real history of the American story.

por Janice M

Jul 25, 2020

This is an excellent course that will cause you to do a bit of self-reflection and learn a great deal about race and culture in America. I found that I learned so many things that as a white person I had no idea about. The course will challenge you a bit as well...if it has been a while since you've written a research paper you might want to make sure to have access to an APA manual--or just ask your high schooler---they can help!

por S. J C

Aug 02, 2020

Excellent! Dr Anderson brings together a diverse set of resources to help expand our understanding of race and cultural diversity in the USA both historically and academically. I've benefited much from this series and very glad I took the accredited track. It has helped strengthen the conversations I have with others who may think differently to me and the patience to listen more carefully. Thank You!