Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Research Methods

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Research Methods por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.6
estrellas
4,771 calificaciones
1,586 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Principales reseñas

AG
26 de jul. de 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

AB
9 de sep. de 2019

very good course. The last e-activity was proposal preparation. It will be good if they add something about sampling in reading materials. Very good experience for me.....I will recommend this course

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 1,563 revisiones para Understanding Research Methods

por Khristyl M G

21 de ene. de 2017

Thank you for the knowledge I have gathered here, coursera.org. Understanding Research Methods brings me a lot of idea for my incoming capstone type, CE Project Design as a partial requirement of mine to finish the program I am taking which is Civil Engineering program.

por LALIT B

5 de jun. de 2020

This course is really helpful to understand the significance of research process and how one can involve in a good quality research work. The content of the course was very informative and all the assignment tasks were interesting to learn the actual research process.

por Najam u S F

16 de jun. de 2020

A good and research oriented course.I like the way different people were interviewed and their point of view was recorded.This gave me a different understanding for each of the topic.At the end I earned a certificate which have really good impression on my resume.

por Shella M G

17 de oct. de 2020

I enjoyed the learning especially the pre-recorded videos wherein different scientist and researchers have shared their own experiences while having their own research and integrate it with different topics so we can have better understanding of research methods.

por Caio M

7 de ene. de 2018

I discovered this course at the exact same time that I was starting to compose a research question to pursue the acceptance of a master degree. It has a very easy to follow peace, activities that make sense and the right amount of content. Highly recommended.

por Manuchehr B

14 de jul. de 2020

A good combination of pracitical advice from real researchers and theoretical background of research methods and approaches. Time estimates for readings could be improved, as it took me substantially longer to finish a "30 minutes long reading". Thank you!

por yash s

2 de may. de 2020

it can include more areas like research methods explanation but course was good only thing i found repeated is that focus is only on researcher's experience and their thoughts but not much on research learnings like how one can start or end the project .

por Ankita S

19 de jul. de 2020

This course has helped me clear many doubts related to the research. I was confused a bit before enrolling into the course but now I think i know what exactly means to be a good research. I liked the way the assignments were done. Thank you, it was fun.

por JAYA P R K

12 de ago. de 2020

Understanding Research methods have thrown a light on how to choose a Research and what makes a good research question,benefits of conducting literature review and methods to follow.planning and

management were known with the experienced Researchers.

por Neesha M

26 de oct. de 2016

Its a concise and meaningful course, will provide better shape to thoughts of a potential reseracher to understand framework of designing one's own reserach. It will definitely gives broader insights on step by step planning and management skills too.

por Twebaze B B

18 de jun. de 2019

This course indeed offers confidence in research and also a broader understanding of research methods for beginners in the field. I would recommend more e-tivities be introduced that go deep into a literature review and quantitative research methods.

por Lashvini G

2 de sep. de 2020

i would really like to thank my lecturer for introducing this page to me where i gain a lot experience through getting feedback from my peers . Nevertheless, i learn to accept comment even its bad or dissatisfying i still do accept now to be better.

por Liezel C

13 de jun. de 2020

I learned a lot from taking this course. I enjoyed being able to see and evaluate the works of others and get feedback from the other learners on how I am progressing. It would also be helpful if we also get feedback from our instructors as well.

por Clare H

14 de feb. de 2021

Interesting and informative. Great being able to do it at own pace and as time allowed! I also like reviewing each other's work as it increases your understanding further and gives you an idea of how you are performing in comparison with others.

por Sonal N

24 de dic. de 2020

A great introductory course especially for beginners. It's short and brief. Can remember the concepts easily. Structured very well with creative thinking exercises at the end of each module. The peer review makes it engaging and interesting too.

por Amar A U

11 de jun. de 2020

It was a great journey to the knowledge acquired. More interesting part was a flexible intellectual interactions during the course of study. I highly recommend future scholars to join such platform for a greater journey to academic excellence.

por Kerem O

14 de mar. de 2019

As an introductory course, it is helpful and educative. Although it provides little straight-to-use kind of information. I was expecting to see some guidance on how to find literature related to your topic or which databases should you check.

por Cristian R

5 de ago. de 2019

As a student and researcher wannabe, this course is really helpful in introducing key aspects and an overhead view of the structure of research. The materials are very good and the activities really help you in getting a grip on the subject.

por Aljon S M

14 de may. de 2017

I find the course very easy to understand despite the compleity of the topics. The related readings were very helpful and the videos of actual researchers sharing their personal experience in doing research were all very inspiring. Thank you

por SREERAJ. K S

26 de jul. de 2020

It is a unique way of understanding the philosophy and methods of research in a dialectic method. it has imparted various skills needed for scientific research. it was a wonderful experience and will be a milestone in my future endeavours.

por Renjith M R

18 de may. de 2020

The course was absolutely helpful even for a beginner like me. This gave me good confidence and determination to step into research in the future. The course teachers did really a wonderful job.

Really happy that I have joined this course.

por Olusegun A

31 de mar. de 2016

Taking this course has indeed improved and deepened my intellectual rigor and it has motivated me to take additional courses on Research Methods from University of Amsterdam. The Course is an eye opener into the world of Research Methods.

por Shivani P

14 de jul. de 2020

This course was simply excellent. It was well-structured, and had a great flow. The instructors were wonderful, and the assignments were enjoyable and fun. The reading materials were extremely helpful.

Would highly recommend this course.

por Thanuja G

19 de dic. de 2016

Dear Coursera team, Thanks for providing the course. It gives best over view about Research Methodology. It tells us how to ask/design a research questions, how to plan, literature review and what are different types of research methods.

por Daniela A

26 de feb. de 2020

The course is very useful for students writing their course works, people who conduct researches and project managers who plan and manage implemantation of a project. The course gives valuable information and it worths to be completed.