Chevron Left
Volver a Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom por parte de Universidad Rutgers del Estado de Nueva Jersey

4.5
estrellas
102 calificaciones
35 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is the purpose of government? Why should we have a State? What kind of State should we have? Even within a political community, there may be sharp disagreements about the role and purpose of government. Some want an active, involved government, seeing legal and political institutions as the means to solve our most pressing problems, and to help bring about peace, equality, justice, happiness, and to protect individual liberty. Others want a more minimal government, motivated, perhaps, by some of the disastrous political experiments of the 20th Century, and the thought that political power is often just a step away from tyranny. In many cases, these disagreements arise out of deep philosophical disagreements. All political and legal institutions are built on foundational ideas. In this course, we will explore those ideas, taking the political institutions and political systems around us not as fixed and unquestionable, but as things to evaluate and, if necessary, to change. We will consider the ideas and arguments of some of the world’s most celebrated philosophers, including historical thinkers such as Plato, Aristotle, Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, Mary Wollstonecraft, and John Stuart Mill; and more contemporary theorists such as Elizabeth Anderson, Isaiah Berlin, Thomas Christiano, Frantz Fanon, Amy Gutmann, Friedrich Hayek, Robert Nozick, Martha Nussbaum, Julius Nyerere, Ayn Rand, John Rawls, Peter Singer, and Kok-Chor Tan. The aim of the course is not to convince you of the correctness of any particular view or political position, but to provide you with a deeper and more philosophically-informed basis for your own views, and, perhaps, to help you better understand the views of those with whom you disagree....

Principales reseñas

MA
28 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course and well taught. Builds up the foundation for the basic question why should we have a state?

DE
22 de jul. de 2020

Great course! The lectures are very clear and the reading material is adequate for the learning goals.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 36 revisiones para Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom

por F A M

1 de abr. de 2019

that was really helpful and thanks from coursers for outstanding opportunities

por Juan C

5 de nov. de 2018

Great reflexions on democracy

por Deleted A

28 de abr. de 2020

For someone who has little knowledge about the the different theories on utility, justice, equality, and freedom, I really gained a lot from this course! The lessons and activities really challenged my thinking and reasoning. Thank you so much!

por Miguel A T O

7 de jun. de 2020

Me sorprendió el curso, es necesario organizar el tiempo ya que se realizan muchas lecturas y en este caso es necesario distribuir las lecturas correspondientes de la semana para realizarse con calma, el contenido es excelente PERO tiene un gran problema, la plataforma ofrece el curso gratuitamente, no dan opción en comprar el certificado, si ustedes quieren obtener un certificado por haber tomado este curso es mejor que busquen otro, si lo que ustedes buscan es conocimiento, bienvenido.

por Abdulaziz S B

7 de dic. de 2019

Very good

por Mohamad A T

8 de dic. de 2019

Very helpful to have better idea how important topics are defined from different schools and point of views.

por Giselle J P

5 de jul. de 2020

It was an excellent course. Many concepts and theories were new to me, thus broadening the horizon of my understanding on Utility, Justice, Equality and freedom to a new level. The assignments especially has made me think on these subjects and expeess a personal view. The peer review has helped me understand the others perspective on the subject

por Mr. A T - L P S

7 de may. de 2020

Wonderful course to understand these great ideas.

por Abdirashiid m w

16 de jun. de 2020

THANKS FOR GIVING CHANCE SUCH LIKE THIS

por justin b

25 de jun. de 2020

Content was great. Readings, videos and discussion forums where above many other courses I have taken. Some room for improvement would be to look at new solutions to age old problems. Also, maybe a socio-economic focus shift from political rights to economic rights. From my personal experience all over the world freedom is directly related to money. So, if we all had more of it we would all be more free. Things like guaranteed income or basic higher minimum wage. Also, duty vs responsibility could have been more addressed. Or more importantly what are they and why are they important, for example should we rely on donations of the super rich to keep cultural arts or should we rely on government or communities. Maybe that would be an extension to this course but important nonetheless. All in all, great course to take.

por John S

30 de sep. de 2020

Robotic. Mind-numbing presentation. Useless quizzes. Comes across like a GPT-3 generated course.

por Mudit A

29 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course and well taught. Builds up the foundation for the basic question why should we have a state?

por Shruti R

22 de jul. de 2020

nice explanation sir. thank you

por Corderro B

11 de jul. de 2020

Very satisfying course. Lectures were empathetic, encouraging, and intellectually and academically sound. In short, everything you want in a mentor! Great course if you want to know about the ideas of civility, justice, equality, freedom, and the state(s) of the world.

por Daniela E

23 de jul. de 2020

Great course! The lectures are very clear and the reading material is adequate for the learning goals.

por Suliman A

8 de jul. de 2020

Hello everyone

I would like to thank coursear for this course and in particular the instructor

por Najib a A

28 de sep. de 2020

The course is very important to me and all students for start learning in political science

por JEENA G J

1 de nov. de 2020

The course is understandable and awesome. Got a lot of knowledge by this online platform.

por Abdullah K

18 de nov. de 2020

Good Course for those who need to know the purpose of government or state and its role.

por Alyssa M

9 de jul. de 2020

Loved this class so much that I just signed up for part 2!

por Anusha S

24 de jun. de 2020

The lectures were concise and useful!

por Worrinphi R s

19 de sep. de 2020

This is a good platform to learn

por Ni N

13 de ago. de 2020

inspring and comprehensive.

por IJEOMA C

2 de ago. de 2020

it was very educational

por Md R H

13 de jul. de 2020

Very good course