Chevron Left
Volver a Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom por parte de Universidad Rutgers del Estado de Nueva Jersey

4.6
estrellas
135 calificaciones
48 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is the purpose of government? Why should we have a State? What kind of State should we have? Even within a political community, there may be sharp disagreements about the role and purpose of government. Some want an active, involved government, seeing legal and political institutions as the means to solve our most pressing problems, and to help bring about peace, equality, justice, happiness, and to protect individual liberty. Others want a more minimal government, motivated, perhaps, by some of the disastrous political experiments of the 20th Century, and the thought that political power is often just a step away from tyranny. In many cases, these disagreements arise out of deep philosophical disagreements. All political and legal institutions are built on foundational ideas. In this course, we will explore those ideas, taking the political institutions and political systems around us not as fixed and unquestionable, but as things to evaluate and, if necessary, to change. We will consider the ideas and arguments of some of the world’s most celebrated philosophers, including historical thinkers such as Plato, Aristotle, Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, Mary Wollstonecraft, and John Stuart Mill; and more contemporary theorists such as Elizabeth Anderson, Isaiah Berlin, Thomas Christiano, Frantz Fanon, Amy Gutmann, Friedrich Hayek, Robert Nozick, Martha Nussbaum, Julius Nyerere, Ayn Rand, John Rawls, Peter Singer, and Kok-Chor Tan. The aim of the course is not to convince you of the correctness of any particular view or political position, but to provide you with a deeper and more philosophically-informed basis for your own views, and, perhaps, to help you better understand the views of those with whom you disagree....

Principales reseñas

AE
22 de dic. de 2020

I like how convenient it is for us especially that I am still a student in a university and I didn't really have to struggle managing this course.

MA
28 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course and well taught. Builds up the foundation for the basic question why should we have a state?

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 50 revisiones para Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom

por Anisur R

27 de dic. de 2020

I have completed the course. How do I get a certificate?

por Cristine J D

8 de dic. de 2020

Very understandable lessons, interesting, and fun course

por Valeria P

23 de mar. de 2021

I loved it! The professor was great and I learned a lot

por Steve R

6 de dic. de 2020

Very well done. I'll be doing Part 2 for sure.

por Anusha S

24 de jun. de 2020

The lectures were concise and useful!

por Парвиз У

17 de dic. de 2020

Thank you very much for attention!

por Worrinphi R s

19 de sep. de 2020

This is a good platform to learn

por Ni N

13 de ago. de 2020

inspring and comprehensive.

por IJEOMA C

2 de ago. de 2020

it was very educational

por Md R H

13 de jul. de 2020

Very good course

por Aarthi .

26 de jul. de 2021

excellent course

por Daniela b

30 de nov. de 2020

Exelente curso

por Sara R

10 de mar. de 2021

Thank you

por Abhishek P

15 de jul. de 2020

FANTASTIC

por KANISHKA

4 de sep. de 2020

nice

por Zakir H

28 de sep. de 2020

Wow

por Masoud H A

29 de oct. de 2020

This was a good and quick review of some of the philosophical views on how the state and the relation between an individual and his/her society and ultimately the state are established or structured. The course provided in-depth analysis for learners who are interested in knowing how some of the modern concepts were originally viewed and argued amongst past and modern thinkers and philosophers.

por محمد ب

24 de jun. de 2021

An excellent course, I did not find it difficult, but I was late in completing it because I was busy with some other courses, and my average was 100/100 without the need to repeat. Thank you for these scholarships

por James O

4 de dic. de 2020

Very well organized and presented.

Lectures could be livelier and use examples tied to everyday life.

Assignments should be more demanding and require some creativity.

por MAWULI M S

31 de ago. de 2020

This course has broaden my knowledge in the role of the state to promote the welfare of its citizen. This is a course everyone must take.

por Shaikh A R

26 de ago. de 2020

This is very helpful that give thinking philosophers's view and also make us to think with open mind . Thanks a lot

por Bishal P

12 de may. de 2021

Skillful & Acknowledgement

por 121833201013 g

19 de oct. de 2020

Good Course to leran

por Eric A P D

4 de oct. de 2020

Excelente curso, especialmente para quienes somo politólogos. Me hubiese gustado eso si que hubiesen puesto más profesores y que entregaran un certificado.

por Sanjar Y

20 de oct. de 2020

No certificate???