Chevron Left
Volver a Robotics: Aerial Robotics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Robotics: Aerial Robotics por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.5
estrellas
2,497 calificaciones
637 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

How can we create agile micro aerial vehicles that are able to operate autonomously in cluttered indoor and outdoor environments? You will gain an introduction to the mechanics of flight and the design of quadrotor flying robots and will be able to develop dynamic models, derive controllers, and synthesize planners for operating in three dimensional environments. You will be exposed to the challenges of using noisy sensors for localization and maneuvering in complex, three-dimensional environments. Finally, you will gain insights through seeing real world examples of the possible applications and challenges for the rapidly-growing drone industry. Mathematical prerequisites: Students taking this course are expected to have some familiarity with linear algebra, single variable calculus, and differential equations. Programming prerequisites: Some experience programming with MATLAB or Octave is recommended (we will use MATLAB in this course.) MATLAB will require the use of a 64-bit computer....

Principales revisiones

IT

Oct 23, 2017

The course is very good.\n\nThe classes are well taught and show general concepts. It is necessary to do research on the internet, to solve the assignments. This is not a bad thing in my point of view

ST

Jun 09, 2018

I think this is very good course of aerial robotics research. Being a student of robotics, I feel that some of stuffs in this course needs a good background in control and mechanical engineering.

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 616 revisiones para Robotics: Aerial Robotics

por Avish M

Aug 05, 2018

The content of the course was good. The lectures were thorough and covered the material well. However, the programming assignments were not (in my opinion) done very well. The instructions were quite vague and didn't give a very good idea of what we were supposed to do. Secondly, the second and third programming assignments had us "tune" certain parameters so that the robot followed the specified path. However, the problem with this was that they gave us no indication of what numbers the parameters should be and given that there were 6 (for the second assignment) and 12 (for the third assignment) parameters to tune to precision, it was an enormous pain and extremely difficult. If they had given us even a range of maybe like 30 values that each parameter should be in, that would have made it so much easier, but there was no indication of any sorts. The only way I got through the assignments was due to guide put together by students and posted on the discussion boards that helped walk through the assignments and told us where to start in terms of the parameters. The content of the course was good, but there is a lot of improvement that could be done with the programming assignments.

por Alexey M

Dec 07, 2016

The course is definitely has some value. At least it helps to feel the taste of quadrotor control. But there are some cons. 4 weeks is too short, and this entails fragmentation of course materials. A lot of reasonable questions are not answered and even not mentioned: we use Euler's angles, which lead to singularities and ambiguities, there are quaternions, but we'll not use it. Why? - no answer. PD gains tuning is manual. Is there any robust methods to build controls automatically? - no answer. And so on and so forth. And the last... lections are really boring, lector monotonically reads text, nevermind what - matrices, formulas, etc. He reads all of it in completely, with the same manner, without any interactivities with the slides. Actually it is realy demotivates. I guess one of students that made supplementary materials with marker will do much much better.

Anyway, thanks for the course. I believe that highly motivated learner can get something new from it.

por Akshit J

Dec 05, 2019

Goods:

This course is more of an introduction/overview of the parts of theory for navigation and mapping of drones. Controller part is touched more in depth with a great video on differential flatness. You will easily understand Vijay kumar's paper on "Minimum Snap Trajectory Generation and Control for Quadrotors" after watching this. Topics such as SLAM for mapping and localization, State estimation(Kalman filter) actuators are touched upon very lightly. Nowhere near with intent for implementation.

Bads:

The programming exercises in this course are terrible. In a nutshell in the first 2 weeks you are told to tune some PD gains by just varying values in an input field in a GUI. In next 2 weeks everything is again about manually tuning PD control gains as dynamics equations are straight forward in writeup. All the complexity/dynamics of equations is replaced by PD gains and linear assumptions.

por Deleted A

Feb 06, 2016

I truly love the course program and what it covers. And aiding student who can't afford the price by grants is relly nice. Then were students alloweed to download MATLAB freely! But teachers should be clear from the begining, what topics one must grasp before getting one's head into it. I don't think calculus and Linear algebra is enough, given some topics that are spoken about in the course. The teacher can explain mean things and in a second, speaks about totally incomprehensibe subject. Last but not least, I personally think the course lacks on additional materials. It would be really nice if there was something like handouts, pdf readings for deeper understanding of the concepts on offline times.

por Jon H

Feb 13, 2016

This course was very good and very interesting. The teacher explained things well. The BIG problem with the course is that the level of the lectures no way matched the level of the assignments, especially the last one. It was way too hard compared to the material presented. It was supposed to take 3 hours but it took me more like 50 hours. And from the forum it seems like a lot of people spend 40 or more hours on this one last problem. Was too hard and too much. A lot of prayer and sweat I finally got it with a lot if discussion on the forums. But 40 hours for one problem is crazy. There needed to be a lot more thorough instruction in order to do this problem in a reasonable time.

por Shrivathsa M S

Mar 25, 2020

The course itself was fine. I was disappointed with the assignments. The first two were really easy and required only a couple of equations to be coded in. The last assignment was extremely difficult. Most of the things required to solve the last assignment were not covered in the course and only after reading many posts on the forum could I finish it. The quizzes were annoying too because the options were very close and if you got it wrong, it wouldn't tell you the correct answers.

So, to summarize, my main gripe was with the assignments. They should be more related to the course material and they definitely shouldn't be as hard as the last one.

por Andrei G

Feb 20, 2016

All in all the material, videos and assignments were very interesting and they made up an exciting course.

However, some of the slides lacked sufficient information on notions or did not make references to supplementary sources. The assignment material (mainly pdfs) sometimes had typos which made solving them a bit confusing and more time consuming without actually being very difficult. Also for both slides and assignments the notations were not always consistent and/or variables disappeared from equations without clear explanations.

I hope in the next offering of this course there will be improvements on these aspects.

por Richard D

Oct 20, 2016

Not a beginner course. You need an engineering background to know how to interpret the equations enough to finish the coding assignments in Matlab. Some of the equations presented don't have enough explanation behind them for them to seem in context or to give any idea about how they can be applied.

I have a background in electrical engineering, and I studied control systems in undergrad, so I was able to get by. If you can't manage through this course, don't feel like you aren't smart enough to complete it; rather, you just don't have the proper pre-requisites.

por MILIND.V.BHAT

Aug 01, 2016

The course provides a good insight into the world of Aerial Robotics and the dynamics involved in controlling the quad-rotors. Were the course fails is it does not explain the basics , there is more focus on trial and error and the questions are not formulated correctly such that they are simple to understand. It could have been better if the Introductory course to the specialization had little mathematical involved or could have been explained in simpler terms or with examples instead of showing the equation in the video.

por Afnan A

Feb 09, 2019

I think there needs to be more association elaborated between the video lectures and the questions being asked during the lectures. It seems these questions are asked before the lecture itself tends to touch the point of it.

Secondly, it was a bit difficult to associate the assignment write-ups to the lectures. Obviously they were relevant but this should be more clear in text and video.

por kot

Mar 02, 2016

The course is interesting and entertaining at times, though seems relatively undercooked. Typos in video lectures and assignment writeups are still frequent. The course content is a bit rushed, with some rather difficult aspects left almost unexplained. Definitely not for begginers, as some knowledge of physics, differential equations, calculus, matlab programming is highly recommended!

por Bogishetty D

May 21, 2019

The course material provided is very good, but there are lack of resources and support for further study or for revision. It says that it is an introductory course but you need to a know lot of things beforehand starting this course and the prerequisites are not stated clearly. If these issues are sorted then its an 5/5 course

por Jason D

Feb 29, 2016

Some good material and I good introduction to aerial robotics. But, it doesn't cover all the theory needed to actually write flight control software for a quad copter. If you are really new to robotics you will need to spend at least 40-50 hours a week "discovering" enough of the details to pass the course.

por Masoud H

Apr 21, 2017

Well I liked the course untile the last assignment. It says you need 3 hours for this assignment but I could finish it after two days (and I am good in programming). The last assignment is not really well designed specially the trajectory part. The rest of the course was good.

por Ruy I

Jan 19, 2017

Very informative, but the coding elements can be somewhat difficult mainly because there's not many specific examples provided. It is still a very enlightening course. PS You definitely need to at the very least be very familiar with Differential Equations to take this.

por Abhijeet P

Nov 16, 2019

The supplementary videos really helped me a lot to understand concepts better. I wish I could see more of these in week 1 and week 2. As a newbie to Robotics and Mechanical concepts, It was difficult for me to follow through the material in week 1 and week 2.

por Anoop R

Aug 01, 2017

Course needs to be longer, with more quizes and sub projects. The final project is a little harder and some lectures should have been devoted to explaining some more of the mathematics behind it. Also a larger mathematics refresher would have been useful.

por Saleem U B

Feb 11, 2016

Its a really great project but one needs to have studied mechanical and really advanced level physics to do this project. But I really got help of the discussion forums to complete the assignments but am not yet clear about the theory of aerial robotics.

por Liu Y

Feb 16, 2016

the course is ok, but the assignment require a lot of prior knowledge on automation control theory, which can be really difficult to be done.

I suggest that they should provide extra material for those students who have only computer science background.

por Jose M H

Jul 30, 2017

I learned a lot from this course. I wish there was more supplemental materials (week 4 was lacking and in need of additional material specially on the trajectory generation) and exercises to help gain a better understanding on the concepts.

por mohammad o

Jun 23, 2017

The course is good and has a lot of information and knowledge, but I hoped to be more practical because I think it is better to get more practicality and less theory so there will be more applying than only studying.

por Lucas M G

Feb 20, 2017

This is a good course, and you get an overview of a lot of interesting topics. However, as you advance further in the course, some of the math begins to lose consistency, while some of it just gets skipped.

por Hasan T

Apr 02, 2016

Some topics were explained in a shallow manner. I suggest providing detailed lecture notes besides the videos for students trying to understand math and physics behind the concepts introduced in videos

por Syed Z M

Feb 06, 2016

The course is awesome in terms of topics covered. But the pace is too fast. moreover the lectures are not comprehensive. It is needed to put more material or refer some notes or books that might help

por Mohsen Z

Jun 01, 2017

Provides a good over view but would it be more helpful if the instructor could make better connection between his speech and equations presented in slides. These two seem not to be well connected.