Chevron Left
Volver a Robotics: Aerial Robotics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Robotics: Aerial Robotics por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.5
2,121 calificaciones
544 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

How can we create agile micro aerial vehicles that are able to operate autonomously in cluttered indoor and outdoor environments? You will gain an introduction to the mechanics of flight and the design of quadrotor flying robots and will be able to develop dynamic models, derive controllers, and synthesize planners for operating in three dimensional environments. You will be exposed to the challenges of using noisy sensors for localization and maneuvering in complex, three-dimensional environments. Finally, you will gain insights through seeing real world examples of the possible applications and challenges for the rapidly-growing drone industry. Mathematical prerequisites: Students taking this course are expected to have some familiarity with linear algebra, single variable calculus, and differential equations. Programming prerequisites: Some experience programming with MATLAB or Octave is recommended (we will use MATLAB in this course.) MATLAB will require the use of a 64-bit computer....

Principales revisiones

IT

Oct 23, 2017

The course is very good.\n\nThe classes are well taught and show general concepts. It is necessary to do research on the internet, to solve the assignments. This is not a bad thing in my point of view

ST

Jun 09, 2018

I think this is very good course of aerial robotics research. Being a student of robotics, I feel that some of stuffs in this course needs a good background in control and mechanical engineering.

Filtrar por:

476 - 500 de 524 revisiones para Robotics: Aerial Robotics

por Emeka E

Mar 11, 2016

I think there is need to provide clearer instructions on how to get the programming assignments done. The course content is good, but doing the programming assignments needs to be more clarified.

por Mihimo

May 29, 2016

At the end I do not feel that I have learned something.

por Lucas M G

Feb 20, 2017

This is a good course, and you get an overview of a lot of interesting topics. However, as you advance further in the course, some of the math begins to lose consistency, while some of it just gets skipped.

por Andrei G

Feb 20, 2016

All in all the material, videos and assignments were very interesting and they made up an exciting course.

However, some of the slides lacked sufficient information on notions or did not make references to supplementary sources. The assignment material (mainly pdfs) sometimes had typos which made solving them a bit confusing and more time consuming without actually being very difficult. Also for both slides and assignments the notations were not always consistent and/or variables disappeared from equations without clear explanations.

I hope in the next offering of this course there will be improvements on these aspects.

por Masoud H

Apr 21, 2017

Well I liked the course untile the last assignment. It says you need 3 hours for this assignment but I could finish it after two days (and I am good in programming). The last assignment is not really well designed specially the trajectory part. The rest of the course was good.

por Bogishetty D

May 21, 2019

The course material provided is very good, but there are lack of resources and support for further study or for revision. It says that it is an introductory course but you need to a know lot of things beforehand starting this course and the prerequisites are not stated clearly. If these issues are sorted then its an 5/5 course

por Joseph A

May 27, 2019

This course requires some prerequisite courses, so it's a little bit hard for people like me who don't actually have these requirements.

por Akshit J

Dec 05, 2019

Goods:

This course is more of an introduction/overview of the parts of theory for navigation and mapping of drones. Controller part is touched more in depth with a great video on differential flatness. You will easily understand Vijay kumar's paper on "Minimum Snap Trajectory Generation and Control for Quadrotors" after watching this. Topics such as SLAM for mapping and localization, State estimation(Kalman filter) actuators are touched upon very lightly. Nowhere near with intent for implementation.

Bads:

The programming exercises in this course are terrible. In a nutshell in the first 2 weeks you are told to tune some PD gains by just varying values in an input field in a GUI. In next 2 weeks everything is again about manually tuning PD control gains as dynamics equations are straight forward in writeup. All the complexity/dynamics of equations is replaced by PD gains and linear assumptions.

por Abhijeet P

Nov 16, 2019

The supplementary videos really helped me a lot to understand concepts better. I wish I could see more of these in week 1 and week 2. As a newbie to Robotics and Mechanical concepts, It was difficult for me to follow through the material in week 1 and week 2.

por J. D

Feb 16, 2016

Quizzes and Assignments are poorly designed. You will spend most of your time tuning parameters

and deriving matrices that were never discussed in the course. Unfortunate.

por Bishwajit P

Sep 14, 2016

Much better Courses are available for free on udacity and edx. this is only a money making course. concepts used are very old. nothing new in this course. One can dwell in PID controllers for life, its a huge are and the way its used here is totally ancient. its just some ancient methods in new quadcopters.

por Hugo d l C

Mar 03, 2016

Not well prepared and not well explained. They throw formulas at you and read it aloud instead of explaining the nature behind those.

They change notations every lecture, sometimes in the same lecture. It's easy but these things made it artificially dificult.

At least it's better than the next one in the specialization

por Antoine L

Feb 12, 2016

This course feels like a bad news anchorman reading the teleprompter. It gives a lot of formulae without proper explanations. A lot of quiz answers do not come from the video lectures. The course is really just spitting formulae from the dissertation "Trajectory Generation and Control for Quadrotors" by Daniel Warren Mellinger (easily found using search engines). Reading the dissertation before doing the course would probably help understand the formulae they say out of context without the proper explanations. Sorry for the bad review, it's the first time I leave one like that, although I've completed many MOOCs. I hope it will help to improve the course.

por José J H R

May 16, 2016

Just PID in MATLAB and not very well explained.

por Georg W

Mar 09, 2016

I think this course does not a good job of explaining the mathematics very well. The supplementary material is very good in that regard, compared to the lectures. However, there are too few to make up for it. I would need a few example calculations of similar problems to what we are expected to solve in the exercises.

As a result, my learning success is not very satisfactory.

por Anand R

Jan 18, 2017

Assignments should be much more clear in terms of what is expected from the students and how to approach the problem.

por Jaroslava S

May 20, 2017

It's an interesting topic. However, the course materials are not very helpful for the quizzes, unfortunately :(

por Sibtain M H

Feb 13, 2016

This course is not a beginner level course rather it is an intermediate one. I had to put in more than 10 hours a week to ​ complete this course. A basic knowledge of control theory is a must.

por thiago c

Mar 16, 2018

Quizzes and assignments are not tied well to the lectures. The flow and sequence is not good. The subject is very interesting, but needs to be better organized. the last assignment requires an unreasonable amount of knowledge of Matlab. I code in other languages and I am not a big fan of Matlab which make it even harder.

por Antón R V

Mar 15, 2016

This course successfully covers the mechanics and control topics of quadrotors. The course also points to some resources in order to extend your study on UAVs. However, there are some issues concerning the assignments which I didn't like at all:

1. Big gap in difficulty between assignments of first three weeks compared with the assignment of the fourth week.

2. The difficulty of the assignments of the first three weeks just relied on sweeping (somewhat 'smartly') a 1,2,3, or 6 dimensional parametric space. I guess that real UAVs engineers are not paid for this. In some assignment, I had to edited a file which I was not supposed to edit in order to pass it.

3. The last assignment was quite frustrating for the following reasons

3a. Really long running times to test if the parameters work fine. I would sacrifice the fancy real-time visualization to save some time. Apart from long running times, I guess that UAVs are not solving ODEs in real time on board, so I think is more interesting a more practical/real-time approach.

3b. Search in a 12-dimensional parametric space (some parameters are equal, but still you end up tunning 5,6 independent parameters, which influence each other). Come on, is this useful? I am sure that UAVs engineers don't spend their hours in this kind of crappy search. You could explain at least some existing heuristics when having so many control parameters to tune.

3c. Even though the drone trajectory seems to fit perfectly the planned trajectory, you might not pass the exercise, and you would get some clueless messages telling you the final position/velocity is not correct.

3d. The assignment guide is very unclear in some parts.

3e. A lot of typos in the formulas of the last part of the guide. I decided to completely ignore it and develop my own strategy, which turned out to be far simpler and easier to implement.

3f. The submission program tests the whole exercise regardless you passed some sections or not, which make the waiting times even longer.

por Jiaming S

Feb 09, 2016

The material this course provided is sufficient for a beginner in robotics. But I have to say that the material the coursed presented is not well prepared. The lectures are not well organized. Some necessary prerequisite should be at least provided as reading materials. Quizs ask some questions that is not clearly mentioned in the lecture and some are with a little ambiguity.

por Ataliba M

Jan 02, 2017

Very poor and a complete lack of interaction from Mentors/Tutors. Learners are left behind shooting bullets at the sky hoping to hit a star that might fall over with some hints. The course materials is consistent and very well informed but, as mentioned mentors/tutors since course began never showed up to clarify some frequent issues with Matlab codes and input data.

Felt disappointed!!!

por Juan A G

Mar 01, 2016

iba bien hasta que empezó a pedir videos y grabaciones....

por Ziming W

Aug 08, 2016

Interesting course. But definitely not for beginners. With a designer background, I could never accomplish this course. I really hope Penn could offer course in such topic for beginners!

por Masahiro S

Nov 08, 2016

I'm sorry, but I felt the week 4 assignment materials is not consistent to lesson videos or the lesson video does not explained enough.

I think that making students think does not mean making explanation indistinct.