Chevron Left
Volver a Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Russian History: from Lenin to Putin por parte de Universidad de California en Santa Cruz

4.7
estrellas
636 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Principales reseñas

RS

14 de sep. de 2020

I found that course had a central theme, the incompatibility of the Communist structures with an increase in the standard of living, that was well documented from the time of Lenin to that of Putin.

SM

18 de jul. de 2022

Very informative and well presented. Professor Kenez gives a thorough explanation of why Russia is what it is. It's the history from the Czarist regime to the common era. Thank you, Professor!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 240 revisiones para Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

por Karolina Y

1 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Professor Kenez, the lector, presents all information in an engaging way, staying impartial.

The final essay was an exciting challenge, through which I discovered that academic writing in English is exciting.

I also loved questions to discuss at the end of each bloc, where one can exchange opinions about major historical events with their peers.

por Solomon O

11 de abr. de 2020

This course is incredibly detailed and clear while still remaining short. It highlights all the large Russian events including the February revolution, October revolution, the NEP, collectivization, the Eastern Bloc, as well as many more. I would highly suggest you take just a few hours out of your week to become informed on Russian history and on modern Russian politics.

por James G P J

13 de abr. de 2020

As an "adult learner" well beyond my college years, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. Kenez's knowledge and understanding of Soviet Union and Russia and his perspectives on historical and current events in Russia and Eastern Europe were insightful and informative. I heartily recommend this course to anyone looking for a good understanding of modern Russian history.

por Howard G M

14 de mar. de 2018

Well done. I will be taking a Russian History at Emory this Spring and this course: Russian History: from Lenin to Putin will have prepared me well. For me, taking this course was a bit of a rush since I do not need a certificate and had to reschedule it in order to complete it. That is the only thing I do not care for at Coursera; I am not allowed

por Elena M

13 de jun. de 2019

I'm native Russian and obviously I studied russian history at school and had a short course at the university. This course gave me a deep understanding of the reasons, the connections and the order of historical events, which I couldn't get anywhere else before. This is my first week, but I can't stop watching it and I already got to Week 3.

por Jay v R

29 de ene. de 2019

Excellent course that showed me a really broad picture of Russian history in the 20th century. Professor did an excellent job in opening various aspects of such a complex topic. My only concern was that his English was a tiny bit broken and he spoke quite slowly (so I watched everything on 1.25x speed). All in all it was a great experience!

por Svetlana K

22 de jul. de 2019

Professor Kenez, has such a noble way of speaking, that it is a true pleasure to listen to him. He gives an extremely well structured and a very clear account of the life in Russia, a grand and complicated country, in its most significant eras. Million thanks to Prof. Kenez for his outstanding job. Низкий поклон.

por Robert K

27 de abr. de 2018

Major featers: exellent narration, informative and perceptive, unbiased and thought-provoking.

I liked the structure and the way the topics were identified and discussed. My knowledge of Russian history greatly expanded and I learned interesting ways of approaching and explaining historical events.

Thank you.

por Bonni J

20 de nov. de 2019

Having just come away from Russia, I couldn't but take this course. It has in no way disappointed me.. In fact it has upheld a certain mystique and majesty that I've always visualised Russian history as having.

Thank you so much! I shall re visit the course over and over again till I maintain a100% Score!

por Gabriel H B

27 de nov. de 2017

Pretty good for a short Coursera course, though it's much easier to follow if the subject matter is already familiar to you. To get the most out of it I recommend reading a short book about the history of Russia in advance, such as "Russian History: A Very Short Introduction" by Geoffrey Hosking.

por Farhan S F

7 de jun. de 2020

This course is my favorite. Professor Peter Konez is highly knowledgeable and he gave me a detailed analysis of Russian history. The best thing about his course was not taking any bias. Every subject matter was explained in a set of stories. One of the best courses Coursera has offered so far!

por Khadija M

4 de may. de 2020

very informative, if you're looking for some course which is light and at the same time provides you with immense knowledge without burdening you; this is definitely the one. Sir Kenez teaches with such a calm soothing tone that you fall in love with history all over again. definitely a 10/10.

por Kejie Y

17 de ene. de 2020

A fascinating course on a fascinating topic. Prof. Peter Kenez's teaching style is intriguing - he gives a well-paced lecture and highly meticulous account of the various topics throughout modern and contemporary Russia. I love listening to the lectures and have a "heady" feeling learning.

por Alex S

18 de may. de 2020

This course has been very worthwhile. Highly recommended to anyone with more than a passing interest in the subject. It's actually somewhat incorrectly named, as the history taught predates Lenin and includes a bit about the Romanovs/pre-revolutionary Russia.

por David B

20 de abr. de 2020

Thank you for a great course and re-igniting my interest in Russia history and culture. The presentations were detailed and thought-provoking. I enjoyed the final essay work, and learned much just from the exercising of grading other student's work.

por Dionisio A M

7 de abr. de 2020

It would be unimaginative to talk about how informative the course is (very), or how accurate (very, also). It’s the kindness and humanity with which professor Kenez delivers his lessons the thing that sets this course apart. I 100% recommend it.

por Sumved R

19 de abr. de 2020

Peter Kenez's amount of knowledge and understanding is the backbone of this course. The events are explained as a first hand account. Its easy to understand. The views are unbiased and neutral which gives you the freedom of critical thinking .

por justin b

2 de jul. de 2020

Exemplary Course! Wonderfully done. Easy to follow, English spoken clearly and slowly. Tests were not too easy just right for a course of this magnitude. If you offer specialization in russian history I would be willing to take it.

por Beatriz m d

30 de may. de 2018

Ha sido una experiencia maravillosa,le doy las gracias al profesor Kenez por acercarnos un poco más a un país tan bello y a la vez tan hermético como es Rusia.

No hago el ensayo al no optar al certificado.Gracias profesor,saludos,Bea.

por michelle

10 de may. de 2020

I knew practically nothing about russian history before this course, I learned so much and it held my interest. The lectures are full of insight and sensitive to the ramifications of decisions made by those in power, thank you!

por Wendi F

26 de may. de 2020

Very good course. Lots of material/event happened during this time. I especially enjoyed researching my assignment at the end and bringing in my knowledge on the subject as I previously lived in a former Soviet Republic.

por Miko T

18 de ago. de 2020

Very good course. The discussions cover a huge range of topics and personalities. Dr. Kenez's lectures were unbiased and full of cool information. He talks about the different eras as parts of a well-connected narrative.

por Sarah A

4 de mar. de 2020

This is an excellent overview of Russian history from Lenin to present, and is perfect for the beginner. Well taught and explained, and quite comprehensive for such a short (3 week) course. Thank you, Professor Kenez!

por Julian A N G

24 de abr. de 2018

The lectures provide very interesting information. Moreover, Prof. Kenez offers his opinion/analysis throughout the lectures which makes the course valuable since it is the perspective of an expert. Excellent course.

por WonJun K

21 de nov. de 2018

A thorough review of modern Russian history. The professor is very intelligent, but you might need some background knowledge to fully appreciate the lecture. Nevertheless, still a great course for sheer beginners!