Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming in Scala Capstone

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming in Scala Capstone por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.4
estrellas
533 calificaciones
92 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In the final capstone project you will apply the skills you learned by building a large data-intensive application using real-world data. You will implement a complete application processing several gigabytes of data. This application will show interactive visualizations of the evolution of temperatures over time all over the world. The development of such an application will involve: — transforming data provided by weather stations into meaningful information like, for instance, the average temperature of each point of the globe over the last ten years ; — then, making images from this information by using spatial and linear interpolation techniques ; — finally, implementing how the user interface will react to users’ actions....

Principales reseñas

MP
7 de sep. de 2019

The capstone project has done a fantastic job of drilling in some of the important fundamentals taught in the rest of the courses. It is definitely worth taking if you've done the rest of the courses.

KB
13 de jun. de 2017

Good course, some of the assignments could have been more explicit with expectations in cases where specific implementation details matter but the forums were helpful in that regard anyways.

Filtrar por:

76 - 90 de 90 revisiones para Functional Programming in Scala Capstone

por Роман В

24 de jun. de 2018

Milestones 1-3 was OK but milestone 4 require a much more efficient solution. And the only info grader gives you is the message about timeout. It would be better if requirements for milestones 1-3 were harder to fullfill or milestone 4 would not depend on previous code. But it depends and if your solution is inefficient it's very painful to search the problem all around the code. It's offered to use spark and other tools in this project but using spark is also painful. I get inconsistent result from grader with occasional OutOfMemory exceptions, but this project cries to be implemented with spark. I've learned something during this course but it was too stressfull and painful.

por Patrik I

6 de jun. de 2020

I'm sad to say that the last course in the specialization was the worst. The grader functions made it quite cumbersome to use Spark, which the test of the specialization was about.

You cannot use Spark throughout the course, because of the grader functions. You have to jump in and out of the Spark domain, which hurts performance and will not allow you to write a complete Spark program.

por Iurii S

19 de nov. de 2017

Would have liked more tests provided with the capstone to supplement often vague specifications. Feedback from autograder is often obscure as well as it refers to some input parameters of the randomized test - hard to take guidance in code improvement from it.

por David P

16 de jun. de 2017

Tough to design a capstone for a course, but I was never really able to get excited about the capstone project. It felt tedious. Not sure if this is the course organizers fault thought...

por Jędrzej B

22 de may. de 2020

More about number crunching than fp. The dataset is within the jar, which caused a lot of problems and excluded efficient solutions (and the course is about efficiency as well).

por Erickzon M T C

27 de oct. de 2021

Creo que los ejercicios y trabajos deberian ser mas de aplicacion que de algoritmia ya que no permite analizar más los métodos que usaras en vez del algoritmo.

por Kyle L

21 de jul. de 2017

I have finished previous 4 courses, they are excellent. But this one not easy to understand, doesn't have some simple test cases.

por Partha

20 de mar. de 2018

Lots of ambiguity in the course assignment, especially the 5th week one. Also response from teaching staff is very poor.

por joshua

17 de jul. de 2017

Overall I liked the course but some of the grading output was hard to understand what exactly I was getting wrong.

por Anton

25 de may. de 2017

It was too algorithmically and math heavy. Also, it would have been good to have more videos.

por Canh S L

21 de abr. de 2017

Good project but instruction is a bit draft. Probably because I joined their first ever one.

por Ciprian L

19 de ene. de 2018

too much UI

por Will D

16 de jul. de 2019

I appreciate how hard it can be to write coding assignments. Especially in this case it seems as though the limitations stipulated by Coursera may have been quite restrictive for a big data spark project. However, I was really disappointed with this course. Rather than getting to test out my scala/spark skills I found myself trying to shoehorn functions into the methods provided by the grader only to have them fail unexpectedly with little feedback. Some more pointers on how to setup appropriate unit tests would also have been quite helpful. It seemed not so straight forward for spark.

por Nils-Helge G H

13 de jul. de 2017

There were too much ambiguity in the assignments. The structure and definition of the assignments made it unclear and difficult to solve with some of the included frameworks. It would be a lot better having a stricter definition and limit it to one or two frameworks that were suitable for the specific definition of the assignments.

por Adriaan T

12 de abr. de 2017

For a course that requires you to work on your own project, it still forces you to follow a code skeleton outline. This limits the freedom with which to tackle the project's issue. There is not much guidance or support from course organizers, which makes this course not very educative.