Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,060 calificaciones
1,632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

RS

8 de oct. de 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtrar por:

276 - 300 de 1,575 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Carlos D

24 de nov. de 2016

Excellent Course !!! The contents of the course are very well presented and allow you to get familiar with the different way of thinking that functional programming provides. I totally recommend it !!!

por Sergey S

13 de jun. de 2016

This course is the best You can find on functional programming with Scala. It's a rare opportunity to take a course from the creator of the language and learn all the important parts of the language.

por Shreyansh G

22 de sep. de 2020

Nice Course, worth taking if you want to learn Scala from a pure functional programming perspective.

Score:

Lectures/Videos: 10/10

Content: 10/10

Assignments: 10/10

Forum Support: 7/10

Overall Score: 9/10

por Ronaldo L R C

21 de sep. de 2020

Great course! Covers all the basic principles of functional programming, with examples and exercises that helps you to think more in a "functional" way instead of the traditional "for-while-if-else"

por Ishan

10 de jun. de 2019

The course develops the concepts of functional programming from scratch. With fun and challenging programming assignments, it gives ample opportunity to wrap your head around the alternate paradigm.

por Graham B

13 de ago. de 2017

An excellent introduction to the concepts of functional programming that had the "side-effect" of getting me hooked on the language! (Even though the hipster in me really wanted to prefer Clojure.)

por Tom H

2 de jul. de 2016

I found it to be a good introduction to functional programming and/or scala, and the assignments are challenging enough to be interesting to those who are not complete beginners in those subjects.

por Amey J

13 de jun. de 2019

This is a remarkable course in which the creator of the Scala programming language not only teaches the language but also offers deep insights into the theory of programming and computer science.

por Edouard C

5 de jun. de 2019

It was a good introduction to Scala for me. The video are precise and concise. The assignment are made for you to apply the concepts seen in the videos, but they remain challenging and fun to do!

por Mert D

15 de ene. de 2017

Content and the lecturing is super. All the assignments makes you think about the subjects. If you want to learn about functional programming and something about scala this is the course for you.

por Andrew W

10 de ene. de 2021

I thought the course was fantastic. The exercises were just the right difficulty, and the lectures were very clear. Martin explains the concepts in a very understandable and approachable manner.

por Levi K

13 de jul. de 2016

The course is very good and labs are sometimes difficult but useful. However some material was not covered, and it is always like that, but still it can include iterators and some other chapters

por Franco B

8 de may. de 2021

Thanks for the great concepts. Taking this course I've revisited some already learned stuff with greater detail and learned a lot of new things. Love how OOP and FP work together. Great course!

por Ricardo A M R

12 de abr. de 2020

Amazin course. Many mathematics concepts have to be in mind to be easy to understand. I think the week 5 would be really useful to solve section 4. I enjoyed the couse and the challenges in it.

por Rajesh P

21 de abr. de 2017

Great course on Functional programming with Scala! The course and concepts may be a bit challenging depending on the prior programming experience but good course to understand the core concepts

por Nicolas B

5 de oct. de 2021

Took it as a seasoned C++ programmer to give me another perspective and really enjoyed learning to think differently. The material was carefully prepared and the pace and exercises were great.

por Michael M

21 de jul. de 2020

What an amazing course. The intensity required for the contents and exercises increases every week. I must say, I am more comfortable using and talking about Scala than I was a few weeks back.

por Didrik F

27 de sep. de 2018

Excellent place to start learning Scala, presuming you have some familiarity with programming. The material is probably a bit too challenging for people who have never worked with code before.

por Guanghua S

27 de feb. de 2018

Great course on introducing functional programming. I am new to FP, but I feel I can think in a "functional" after about half of the course. It is a very instructive introduction course on FP.

por Jeff R

2 de jul. de 2017

Very good course with some challenging exercises. It served more as a refresher and practice tool for me as I was already deep into Scala before taking this. Nevertheless, very happy I did it.

por nobody

9 de ene. de 2017

A really great introduction to Scala, grounded in a solid and time-tested functional curriculum. As someone with a fair amount of experience, this helped me come up to speed in Scala quickly.

por Russell W

12 de abr. de 2019

Amazing. Very useful how it started off throwing you into the deep end with recursion, to help jar your mind, opening it to functional.... for those of us who coded imperative for many years

por Laurent S

19 de nov. de 2016

Great work, great pedagogy. I really enjoyed learning Scala principles. The proposed exercices are really challenging, and very well constructed. Thanks a lot for this MOOC. Thank you Martin.

por Agraj M

20 de oct. de 2016

The best part is the assignments, which make you think in a more pragmatic and functional manner, something that is not really straightforward for people coming from an object-oriented world.

por Emre T

9 de ago. de 2016

Pace of progression of concepts was just right. You may need to spend more time with the course than what is suggested. I found myself spending more than 3hrs on the assignments consistently.